We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Ranked #15 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Very nice, clean.”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Staff was all very helpful. Most staff could communicate well with us in english. Great location, right on the beach. If you go out in the evening, know that the area is well travelled by the local ladies looking for business

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,663
    744
    177
    43
    35
See reviews for
552
787
135
691
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Booked at this hotel after reading the Tripadvisor reviews. A few small things I found missing:- a kettle in the room, shower cap in the bathroom, free bottle of water on arrival, larger bottles of water in the fridge, a decent hairdryer (the old fashioned blower in the bathroom is really unsuitable to dry shower length hair) but I was happy with the rest of the amenities at the hotel. The breakfast offering is great.
Noisy kids in the room next door bothered me late at night as they were unruly and the walls are not really sound proof.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are better - less noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeraJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Made this hotel my home for a week (7 days) and really enjoyed my stay. It's in a great location and handy to Rio Sol shopping mall. Surprizing how one needs something when one is away from home. The hotel room was a good size, clean and comfortable. The standard mini bar fridge in the room. Bathroom supplied amenities were good. Taps stopped working a couple of times but fixed quickly after a call to reception.Nice big shower. I had 16th floor room with view down Copacabana Beach towards Ipanema. Ask for that view when booking. A big plus point the hotel does vegan food which is very rear in Rio.

Made use of the lovely swimming pools. One on the forth floor is big enough to get the heart up so that's a good thing. Never too busy when I was there and a great place to mellow out. The roof top pool is small but enough to splash about and take in the view of Sugar Loaf Mountain between strokes. Great view from the roof top bar next to the pool. However the pool service was poor. Order for food never arrived so gave up waiting. Got attitude when I queried my order. Hope service improves for future customers.

Breakfast is buffet style with and array of dishes to suit even the fussiest eater. Busy hour is 8 to 9 in the morning which is to be expected as it's a big hotel. Dinner again is buffet style great dishes to suit every taste. Vegan eaters are well catered for. Had dinner a couple of times in the ground floor restaurant with table service. Again nice food European style cuisine.

Nice comfortable hotel to make your base while exploring Rio. Staff are very helpful. Reception was very patient and helpful with my Internet access problems. Free Internet worked well for me.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pollypuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I was always curious if this is the best hotels in Rio?
Prince Harry stayed here, so there should be a good reason...?
I booked this one simply to test.

I recently stayed at top 4 hotels in Rio.
The Miramar by Windsor ( which I love and will go back to stay), Copacabana Palace
(I will go back for meals), and JWMarriot (it would be my 4th choice).

Walking into Windsor Atlantica's large lobby, I stood in the checkin - line for 15 mins, to be told I was in the wrong line. I would normally be upset.

Surprisingly, the secluded VIP check in reserved area transformed the check-in experience into that of the First Class Cabin of an airline.

I was seated in a velvet arm chair, unusual for Rio, and while checking in, the butler offered very cold crisps champaign, water, coffee, and chocolates with very polite staff
helping me.

The butler followed me up the elevator to the room with the bell boy to show me the room ( again, not usual in Brazil).

The 'Tourists' lines weren't paying that little, no less than US$350/nt.
Still I highly recommend High Floors over 30+

My great CORNER room was large with the view of the whole stretch of the Copacabana beach.

The Bathroom also has the same breathtaking view!
I was greeted with fruits, water, and Easter Egg -early yes but received with thanks!

Surprisingly, the decorations were very simple and modest ( not posh and modern)
It did not give me the feeling of luxury in a Junior Suite.
Some people who are not as sensitive or as spoiled would be very happy with this room.

The bath towels were not very new..nothing torn but flat and thin for a hotel that cost this high.

The common 4th floor breakfast room which again I went by mistake was a huge room with large breakfast buffet and same great view of my room all of Copacabana.
It was very full and terribly busy.

Being as fussy as I am, I went to the Club breakfast area which I was expecting to be like most hotels in the world- Business Club with reduced options.

I was very surprised to be welcomed on the first floor for breakfast which is most convenient.

This is certainly a very beautiful, calm and quite room like in a First Class Cabin or restaurant, pleasant start of the day.
( see photos).

On the last day, I had to grab lunch before a flight and had an opportunity to go to their buffet on the 4th floor ( breakfast room).

The food were plenty but the desserts " banquet" was out standing!!
Congratulations to the pastry and dessert team. (maybe they were the French chefs from the old Meridien chain...? ) Wonderful and sophisticated. That was worth breaking my diet for it.

Points on low notes at this hotel which could be improved

1- At the Luxurious VIP breakfast room - the staff gathered together by the kitchen door and chat loudly the 3 days I was there and another host at the wine cellar.
The low ceiling made it much louder than normal.
Of course they are happy, fun Rio people, just not professional to do so in the hotel common area.

(You will never see this casual chats among staff at say, the Copacabana Palace Hotel. Their staff were always invisible until you thought of needing them and they miraculously appeared) .

Other people may not mind this, as I said, I am fussy. find that most distracting even we had difficulty hearing ourselves talk.

The consequence was that it took away their attention to see that we were waving frantically but as politely as we can to get their attention and ask for help.

2- The Roof top has a nice view but not 'stunning' due to not very well design space...what a pity.
Also, no staff came to ask if we want a "Umbrella" for the sun or drinks. They were not attentive.

3- The kingsize bed is really 2 singles. Maybe they do have real king size bed. Do ask for it.

If you do not like boutique hotels with small entrance ( Miramar) , this hotel has a good size room and decent location.

If you do not care for the feeling of classic luxury, posh, or fashionable decorations in the room but space and view, This is your hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TWWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Every time I come to Rio the front desk staff makes me feel like home!!! Attentive, friendly, professional are just some of the great qualities that Alex Maciel, Vicente and Anderson at the front desk have, to make it a great team!!! Excellent location with postcard views of Rio de Janeiro make this hotel a must. It goes without saying, that the same great service I receive at the front desk, is also provided by the housekeeping team!!! I absolutely love it!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

lovely spot on Copacabana beach, good for touring Rio. Hotel arranged a car and driver for us who was excellent, spoke English and knew where and when to go. A fabulous buffet breakfast overlooking the beach topped with attentive service all round. Good value

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the lift as it can get a little noisy at times but well worth paying for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenHarpenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Excellent customer service. Friendly and cordial specially Alex Maciel at the front desk. Always available and helpful.
Every time I come back to Rio I will stay at Windsor for sure. The customer service is unbeatable and the location is perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biazinhafonseca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
3,275 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,396 reviews
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#18 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#19 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,177 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#22 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,879 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#26 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Property: Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Address: Avenida Atlantica, 1020, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22010-000, Brazil (Formerly Windsor Atlantica Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#7 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana 5*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the ultimate vacation on the world-famous Copacabana Beach. Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is the biggest hotel in town and offers 545 guest rooms - 85% of them with ocean view, 36 flexible meeting rooms, two sparkling swimming pools, a full-service wellness spa, restaurants and bars, and beachside service at Copacabana’s waterfront. In addition, the hotel provides an enviable location near, local attractions, multiple dining options within walking distance, downtown and international and local airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Atlantica Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Iberostar Rio De Janeiro
Iberostar Hotel Copacabana
Hilton Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing