We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome views, wonderful service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Ranked #72 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome views, wonderful service”
Reviewed November 10, 2010

We ended up moving here from Caesar Park Ipanema (don't stay here!!). The service at the Sofitel was perfect-the people were friendly and very accommodating. Unlike the previous hotel, The Sofitel welcomed us from the very start as they offered cool soft drinks at check-in. The views on the ocean side rooms were amazing because you could see the length of the Copacabana all the way down to Sugar Loaf Mountain. Although the rooms were cozy, they were very comfortable, contemporary and clean with a comfortable king size bed and good water pressure rain shower. There was also a welcome letter with chocolates waiting in the room-the attention to detail was very nice. Since the hotel is located on the far end of Copacabana, it made access to Ipanema very easy. Don't let the appearance on the outside deter you from staying here. The exterior and pool areas need some updating, but the interior is elegant and most importantly the rooms look fresh!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 011235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,091
    717
    322
    145
    96
See reviews for
308
858
136
685
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

I stayed here on business for a few nights in September, on the club floor. This is one of the nicest places I've stayed in Rio, much closer to a typical western hotel. The club floor is worth the extra money as they have a private club area with food and drinks available pretty much around the clock, as part of your rate. They also provide you with a personal butler and the amenities in the room are remarkable - very nice toiletries, clean carpet on the floor (very rare to have carpet in hotel rooms in Rio, in my experience), a great working desk with wireless in the room, a well stocked fridge in the room, etc. Also, they are one of the few hotels in Rio that has a gym (approximately 20 machines, cardiovascular equipment, etc.) The high end restaurant is quite nice; the restaurant by the pool is OK but noting special (although they do have a nice buffet lunch). I would highly recommend this place to anyone; plus, location at intersection of Ipanema and Copacabana Beaches is great.

Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TravlChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Fortunately I managed to get a corporate rate from the firm I was visiting otherwise this could have been a very expensive stay. I was hoping for an ocean view room as the view is fantastic but there was no chance of any free upgrade, the ocean view room I was offered was at an extra 100$R+/ night. The "partial view" room I got was mainly overlooking an apartment building and a peek of the sea between buildings.
The room was a decent size with a good bathroom (and L'Occitane toilettries) but did smell damp.
The lobby and corridors are very luxurious although the hotel is looking very tired in places - the cushions at the pool are very dated 80s florals and the pool area was shocking with tiles missing, cracks in the side which filled with dirt etc. Seriously needs some work doing. The view from this area at breakfast is fantastic though and does make it all worthwhile.
Breakfast was pretty good, although the waiting staff were very dozy - took a while to get coffee, then no milk, each day at some point when I got up to go to the buffet my table was cleared away even though I'd left a book on the table... I also got annoyed with the Air France staff taking up permanent residence at any table with a good view- I suspect they weren't paying £250/ night!
Otherwise the location is good (on the corner between Copacabana and Ipanema), the area seems safe and the service good. There is little choice of high end hotels in Rio (JW Marriot half way along Copacabana might be ok) so would recommend this hotel but urge the manangement to sort out the little gripes.

p.s - if you are looking for a great cheap manicure - come out the hotel, turn right and 2 mins walk opp. Mercure. Discounts Mon- Thur. Best manicure I've ever had!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeyjo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

No matter if you want Copacabana or Ipanema, this is the spot. I love the location near both beaches yet away from the chaos of Copacabana's main areas.

The other big plus here was breakfast. Loved it! Great food.

Hotel staff was very nice and helpful. There are ATM's, restaurants and such just behind the hotel. Across the street is a sort of fish market where the local fishermen come to clean and sell their fish. Its pretty neat really.

Drinks all along Copacabana are cheap and plentiful.

Seemed to notice lots of airline staff staying here. Air France I think.

This is a good spot.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PGA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

great location and view . nice comfortable bed and room with private balcony.free beach services,great view from restaurant.best thing about this location is that you have a view all the way down copacababa beach instead of just the view in front of you.you are right across from fort copacabana.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brownfootedboobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Stayed at the Sofitel on the Copacabana for a week in room 418. We had a beautiful view of the beach and sugarloaf mountain. Had read the reviews on here and expected the hotel to be in a decrepid condition, but it was beautiful. Our room was lovely, big, and clean, with fabulous shower and huge comfortable bed. We had no complaints at all with our room, as mentioned before the breakfast terrace was wonderful, and the breakfasts nice. The only thing we had a problem was with the buying phone cards from the concierage and the language barrier. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Rio, I don't think you could get a better spot.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallyann38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

I was sitting on my bed watching TV. Then something bite my neck. It was a small insects. I jump out of the bed and learned it was many bugs were there. The housekeeping people came over and sprayed the insects. When I check-out from the hotel, I addressed this problem at the Reception. She offered me a discount for the unpleasant incident. So, it was a good gesture.... but I think the hotel seriously need renovation. Old and does not give a hygienic smells anymore.

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Itha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#35 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,691 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#20 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,147 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#27 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,522 reviews
Copacabana
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel
#56 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,283 reviews
Copacabana
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador ...
#111 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Property: Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Address: Av. Atlantica, 4240 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-002, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#17 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#22 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#38 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is a splendid one. It leaves the guest practically leaning over Copacabana beach – one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. It is beside Ipanema, a charming neighborhood full of attractions, immortalized in a song by Tom Jobim and Vinicius de Moraes, “Garota de Ipanema”.Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is considered one of the most prestigious Brazilian luxury hotels, combining French savoir-faire with Carioca charm.Enjoy our comfortable apartments with balconies and the MyBed bed, the executive floor with Club Millésime services – a new concept in personalized service, beach service, two pools and many other facilities, in addition to the award winning cuisine here at Sofitel.Situated near the main business centers in the city, the hotel offers an ample and versatile Convention Center, and also a modern Board Meeting Room, a fully equipped room with a view of Copacabana beach, uniting comfort and personalized services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Accor Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Sofitel
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing