We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DD - deep disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Ranked #74 of 283 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed November 26, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Ivan B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,373)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

528 - 534 of 2,373 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

Our first visit to Rio and our 3 night stay started out perfectly with an immediate early check in even though our ocean front room was not ready. (They still put us in an ocean view and it was great, just moved us to a better view a few hours later, Room 302, but the honeymooners werent leaving. :) We were treated like royalty through out our stay with flowers in the room, appetizers and champagne delivered one night and a going away gift of a book on Rio.We visited the Horses Neck nightly and sat at the bar enjoying the hospitality of Rosiano and special drink creations as well as nice snacks. Recommend highly this relaxing end to your day as they are open late and you can then just walk into the elevator home. There is also a nice patio with beach view. I LOVE the L'Occitane toiletries and the smell as you walk in to the lobby is delightful verbena. We took pictures of the lobby flower arrangements to try and recreate at home, simple and elegant. M. Ribault, the hotel manager, runs a friendly and well trained staff. We did visit the club level and Nicole showed us around. It is worth the extra as not just food. wine and snacks but complimentary internet (more than the 24 hours gratis in regular rooms) is worth it.
The beach and surrounding sidewalk cafes/restaurants were another plus and we were able to walk to the Hippie Craft Market on Sunday...a DONT miss if you are there on a Sunday as that is where the best gifts are in our opinion.
The Pigalle Restaurant outside the front entrance on the corner had an amazing Fish Stew that is big enough for 3 to share and the small paltes deal at 13 Real PP was amazing spread...you have to try it. Down the street Rota 66 had great Mexican Fare that we really enjoyed as well.

Room Tip: The room has a double sliding door so no noise, even on the front traffic side of the hotel. Best Vi...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpikerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Bonjour. Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro. I am very glad to read about your Magnifique stay with us. It is our goal to satisfy all of our guests needs and always a pleasure to read that it has been reached. Please rest assured that I will forward your compliments to my team. We were truly pleased to welcome you and look forward to your next stay at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. Best regards, Frédéric Ribault, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Our room was a corner suite and was beautiful, room was clean and modern. However, let down by air con not working well in bedroom, and shower blind not working. One day towels not replaced and had to call to get them replaced. Hallways smelt very strongly of chemical air freshner which was highly unpleasant.

Club millesme made a big difference, good lounge and well worth the extra. However, some of their staff spoke poor English so has to repeat room number several times, or ask for a drink several times if they did not initially understand.

There were 2 pools, but neither big enough to swim properly in. gym ok, but on my first visit they took me into the sauna when I asked where the towels were! again poor English spoken here too. As I also speak French I tried that too, but got on no better with French!

On check out several items were on our bill which were not ours, including a massage! Had to have a fight to get these items removed. Taxi booked to go back to airport not as booked (and recon firmed 3 times) so had to send it away and get a replacement sent which took over 30 minutes.

Sofitel, please take note, this hotel has too many faults to be a genuinely top class hotel and not up to the global Sofitel standard. If you pay for a top suite etc it is all perfectly reasonable, but then becomes very poor value for money.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank cc1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Bonjour. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Copacabana Rio de Janeiro. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, regarding the Front desk and Maintenance situation you encountered, so please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that our Front Desk Manager Mr. Netto Moreira and Maintenance Manager Mr. Alexandre Costa is taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Best Regards, Frederic Ribault, Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I have stayed here regularly over the last 10 years, and am sad to see this hotel slowly fading.
The location is great, and the facilities good, especially the executive club floor (now called Club Millesime) with it's dedicated club lounge with free drinks and snacks, and a quiet breakfast location (albeit with a limited selection - for a full buffet you need to go down to the main restaurant).
Rooms with an ocean view are limited, but worth searching out as the views per are nice. The rooms are average size, and well equipped.
The problem is that things start to be unreliable. In the last stay there was a problem with the AC on the executive floor, giving a smell of bad drains, to the extent that the club lounge was unusable. Generally there was a tired and damp smell through the common areas, covered up with liberal use of air freshener spray.
Nevertheless, I like the hotel and will return. I just hope they take the time for a bit of refurbishment soon.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Azure55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Bonjour. Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro. We are sorry about the issues encountered. Please believe that it is our priority to satisfy all of our guests and deliver a Magnifique service and experience throughout your stay with us. We were truly pleased to welcome you and hope we will have the opportunity to satisfy you more on a next stay at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. Best regards, Frédéric Ribault, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel for 2 nights from 19 to 21 November. We were in Club Milleseme which was worth every extra cent. Julia was fantastic - nothing was too much trouble. The Club lounge was fantastic. Divine breakfast with a fresh basket of French pastries and then a full buffet. Sunset drinks were heavenly. We travelled with a baby and he was warmly welcomed. The crib all set up. So good we didn't want to leave for Iguacu. We are returning for another 5 nights in a 'normal' room so stay tuned for another update.

Room Tip: Third floor has hard wood floors so good for asthma sufferers. We had a suite so it was spacious and...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Bonjour. Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro. I am very glad to read about your Magnifique stay with us. It is our goal to satisfy all of our guests needs and always a pleasure to read that it has been reached. Please rest assured that I will forward your compliments to my team and specially to Club Millesimme’s team. We were truly pleased to welcome you and look forward to your next stay at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. Best regards, Frederic Ribault, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Although the hotel is in a great location it is becoming quite run down.
Very small dingy room.
There must be better than this.
Very expensive for what we received.
There were 4 of us in 2 rooms and this was a concensus of us all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeben2644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Bonjour. Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro. Indeed we are perfectly located in famous Copacabana and a few minutes from the most trendy neighborhood in Rio, Ipanema. I am very sorry that we have not reached your spectations – neither do ours. Please rest assured that We will take the appropriate measures to avoid this kind of situation in the future. We were truly pleased to welcome you and we hope to see you again in your next stay at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. Best regards, Frederic Ribault, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank MikeandChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#41 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,726 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,425 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#19 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Emiliano Hotel
Emiliano Hotel
#94 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
41 reviews
Copacabana
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador ...
#119 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
781 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#4 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Address: Av. Atlantica, 4240 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-002, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#18 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#22 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#38 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is a splendid one. It leaves the guest practically leaning over Copacabana beach – one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. It is beside Ipanema, a charming neighborhood full of attractions, immortalized in a song by Tom Jobim and Vinicius de Moraes, “Garota de Ipanema”.Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is considered one of the most prestigious Brazilian luxury hotels, combining French savoir-faire with Carioca charm.Enjoy our comfortable apartments with balconies and the MyBed bed, the executive floor with Club Millésime services – a new concept in personalized service, beach service, two pools and many other facilities, in addition to the award winning cuisine here at Sofitel.Situated near the main business centers in the city, the hotel offers an ample and versatile Convention Center, and also a modern Board Meeting Room, a fully equipped room with a view of Copacabana beach, uniting comfort and personalized services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Accor Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Sofitel
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing