We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the Sofitel brand” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Ranked #67 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not worth the Sofitel brand”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Dissapointing....
As Rio hotels generally are highly overpriced, the Sofitel will obviously join this tradition.

Staff was really friendly and helpfull, the Atlantis restaurant above avarage and the hotelbar at one higher level was pretty as well.
Despite the good points, the rooms are outdated, carpet and closet worn, pretty small (far below Sofitel average), a smell in the bathroom and corridors and a terrible view at the backside of the hotel for extremely high prices.
Would not recommend this hotel, for significant less you could get better at Copa or Ipa area.

Room Tip: Avoid the backside rooms (basically, insist).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pjot12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Rio, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest,

First and foremost, I am deeply saddened by the fact that your stay in our hotel apparently did not happen in the best conditions. I assure you our complete compassion and wish your perception would have been otherwise.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us; and I take it very seriously.

I remain at your entire disposition to further discuss the matter through the email sofitelrio@sofitel.com.

Once again please accept my sincere apologies.

Sincerely,

Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,080
    713
    314
    140
    94
See reviews for
301
846
135
681
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We were there on a conference for 5 days of hell. Many in our group had a similar experience as we stayed out of our rooms as much as possible. The air conditioning did not take the moisture out of the air leaving the smell of mildew and mold. They came in twice daily to spray, but it did not change the fact that the sheets were wet, the carpet on the floor felt wet and disgusting and it did not re-mediate the unhealthy impact of mold. This hotel was not up to Sofitel's standards. I understand that the concierge and higher floors were fine. That said, the ocean view from our room was beautiful, too bad we didn't spend anytime there to enjoy it.

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor, do not accept the room until you check it for the smell of mold and mildew.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MKawaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Rio, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest,

First and foremost, I am deeply saddened by the fact that your stay in our hotel apparently did not happen in the best conditions. I assure you our complete compassion and wish your perception would have been otherwise.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us; and I take it very seriously.

I remain at your entire disposition to further discuss the matter through the email sofitelrio@sofitel.com.

Once again please accept my sincere apologies.

Sincerely,

Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Lovely to eat breakfast on the terrace - take your sunglasses to avoid glare. My stay was comfortable and had no issues. Room with view was spectacular. The hotel was renovating so lacked the main restaurant. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Back rooms have view into a wall or another building. Front rooms have the beach and the Sugarloaf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David190479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Rio, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Bonjour and thank you for your nice feedback.

Am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt that the staff was very attentive.

We hope to welcome you back very soon in order to create more magnifique memories in Rio de Janeiro.

Best regards,

Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at the Sofitel Rio de Janeiro prior to the start of carnavale. The start of our stay started out horribly, but eventually it improved to a mediocre experience. Upon arrival, we had to wait for 2 hours before our room was ready and there was no recognition of our platinum status in their loyalty program. When we finally got to our room (room 713), we were completely disgusted. The air conditioning was broken and clearly had been so for quite some time. The room was muggy, smelled like mildew, the carpeting was damp, there was mold growing along the perimeter of the ceiling and mold was growing on the curtain sheers. I called the front desk to demand a new room, citing these problems and the obvious health risks to my partner who has asthma. At first, they were hesitant to do anything other than try to get the air conditioning working (which they couldn't fix). Only after more calls to the front desk did a manager, Mohammed Bouchelta, come up to see us personally. He understood our concerns with the room and apologized, explaining that he didn't know room 713 had problems. Eventually they moved us to another (smaller) room with working air conditioning.

A few things to note from this experience: (1) as platinum members in the Sofitel's loyalty program we were shocked that we would have been given such a poor room; and (2) either there are some serious communication issues between housekeeping and the front desk when it comes to room issues or they don't care unless you really complain like we did. I feel bad for the people who had just checked out of 713 before we arrived as they would have had to deal with the mold infested room and for anyone that might have been given this room after we changed to a new one.

The rest of the property was a bit worn down and the pizza and burgers in the restaurant were of poor quality. Overall, the property was not worth the price. One of the most disappointing Sofitel hotels.

Aside from the front desk issues we had on check in, the service was just OK and there were no notable exceptions.

The next time we visit Rio, we'll definitely consider all of our options for hotels.

Room Tip: Avoid room 713, unless you like mold and mildew!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmleon72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Rio, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear guest,

First and foremost, I am deeply saddened by the fact that your stay in our hotel apparently did not happen in the best conditions. I assure you our complete compassion and wish your perception would have been otherwise.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us; and I take it very seriously.

I remain at your entire disposition to further discuss the matter through the email sofitelrio@sofitel.com.

Once again please accept my sincere apologies.

Sincerely,

Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Hotel excellent, the most beautiful place in Copacabana.
Atlantis Restaurant has some of the most beautiful views of Rio, the front desk attendants and porters friendly and helpful. In the Conciergerie service depends on the people present. Sometimes friendly and helpful, and sometimes fail to inform the client resolve. The amenities in bathrooms great room. The internet service is poor and expensive. Not allowed in a hotel of this level, attended by executives from around the world, which covers the use of wireless internet in the room! Never seen anything like it!. This service should be embedded in the daily which, incidentally, is not cheap. Room service is not always efficient and the bathrooms are in the Lobby always deplorable state.
In short, if these small snags were corrected would certainly be a first choice of hotel in Rio de Janeiro

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janaira_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Rio, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Bonjour and thank you for your nice feedback.

Am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt that the staff was very attentive.

However, I am sorry to hear that some services did not meet your expectations. Please rest assured that I will forward your comments on to my team.

I hope to welcome you back very soon in order to create more magnifique memories in Rio de Janeiro.

Best regards,

Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
173 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Pros : well maintained rooms, attentive staff (a cake was sent to my room on my birthday date); efficient and flexible laundry service

The Cons : messy table management in Atlantis restaurant for breakfast (first seated by staff at a table already occupied by one guest, then once waiting ar the buffet for cooked eggs, own table cleared and allocated to other guests. Late room cleaning (not done by 12:00)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Rio, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Bonjour and thank you for your feedback.

Am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt that the staff was very attentive. I will certainly pass your compliment on to my team.

However, I am sorry to hear that service at Atlantis restaurant did not meet your expectations. Please rest assured that I will forward your feedback to our food and beverages manager.

I hope to welcome you back very soon in order to create more magnifique memories in Rio de Janeiro.

Best regards,

Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Nice hotel, good service. But dark, dated, and in need of a facelift. Was a little disappointed that a name like Sofitel did not have a fresher look. Room faced ocean but was dark and a bit tattered. Probably would have stayed elsewhere for the price. Location is great.

Room Tip: Best part is room that overlooks ocean. Club level is nice, and we found worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gfp76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Rio, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Bonjour and thank you for your feedback.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed our staff and location.

However, I am sorry that the hotel did meet your expectations. I would very much welcome the opportunity to discuss this further with you, please feel free to contact me directly with your feedback at sofitelrio@sofitel.com.

Kind regards,

Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Managed by Sofitel
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipane...
#34 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#15 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Orla Copacabana Hotel
#78 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Copacabana
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hote...
#11 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
Copacabana
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel
#54 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Property: Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Address: Av. Atlantica, 4240 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-002, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#15 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#22 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#34 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is a splendid one. It leaves the guest practically leaning over Copacabana beach – one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. It is beside Ipanema, a charming neighborhood full of attractions, immortalized in a song by Tom Jobim and Vinicius de Moraes, “Garota de Ipanema”.Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is considered one of the most prestigious Brazilian luxury hotels, combining French savoir-faire with Carioca charm.Enjoy our comfortable apartments with balconies and the MyBed bed, the executive floor with Club Millésime services – a new concept in personalized service, beach service, two pools and many other facilities, in addition to the award winning cuisine here at Sofitel.Situated near the main business centers in the city, the hotel offers an ample and versatile Convention Center, and also a modern Board Meeting Room, a fully equipped room with a view of Copacabana beach, uniting comfort and personalized services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Accor Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Sofitel
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing