We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good standards for Brazil, but very expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Ranked #69 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
176 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Very good standards for Brazil, but very expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Pros : well maintained rooms, attentive staff (a cake was sent to my room on my birthday date); efficient and flexible laundry service

The Cons : messy table management in Atlantis restaurant for breakfast (first seated by staff at a table already occupied by one guest, then once waiting ar the buffet for cooked eggs, own table cleared and allocated to other guests. Late room cleaning (not done by 12:00)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Rio, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Bonjour and thank you for your feedback.

Am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt that the staff was very attentive. I will certainly pass your compliment on to my team.

However, I am sorry to hear that service at Atlantis restaurant did not meet your expectations. Please rest assured that I will forward your feedback to our food and beverages manager.

I hope to welcome you back very soon in order to create more magnifique memories in Rio de Janeiro.

Best regards,

Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,085
    715
    318
    143
    96
See reviews for
305
852
135
683
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Nice hotel, good service. But dark, dated, and in need of a facelift. Was a little disappointed that a name like Sofitel did not have a fresher look. Room faced ocean but was dark and a bit tattered. Probably would have stayed elsewhere for the price. Location is great.

Room Tip: Best part is room that overlooks ocean. Club level is nice, and we found worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gfp76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Rio, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Bonjour and thank you for your feedback.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed our staff and location.

However, I am sorry that the hotel did meet your expectations. I would very much welcome the opportunity to discuss this further with you, please feel free to contact me directly with your feedback at sofitelrio@sofitel.com.

Kind regards,

Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Sofitel is in perfect location on Copacabana beach with fantastic views. Staff are excellent and well-trained by the French. Welcome drink coupon a bonus. We had room on 5th floor with great views of beach and Sugar Loaf. Nice breakfast, not included in rate. Two pools and a good gym and Elena gives a great massage. Would stay again. Great hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view and small balcony overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zack2o012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Rio, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Bonjour and thank you for your nice feedback.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt that the staff was very attentive. I will certainly pass your comment on to my team.

We hope to welcome you back very soon in order to create more magnifique memories in Rio de Janeiro.

Best regards,

Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

The hotel is in a great location on Copacabana. Checkin was quick and the staff were very pleasant. We were given a voucher for a welcome drink at the bar and we got a room with the most amazing view on the 7th floor. The room was dated and well worn. The extractor fan in the bathroom didn't work so every time you had a shower the whole room steamed up like you were in a sauna. There were 3 damp spots on the ceiling in the bathroom that got larger as our 4 night stay progressed. I did point this out to the staff who apologised and said they would deal with it but other than wipe the damp spots clean not much else was done. Once clothes had been put in the big chest of drawers under the tv the weight kept opening the draws, so every time you passed the draws you had to close them. We had breakfast once. there was plenty to choose from but the room where the food was served smelt damp. I used the gym once and there was no air con working so once again it was like being in a sauna. All in all this isn't a cheap hotel but it really does need some serious money spent on it to bring it up to standards. Im sure it was a beautiful hotel 10yrs ago. The one thing i will say that was best of my entire holiday in south america was the concierge desk. They were spot on with every detail and recommended some of the most amazing places to eat and drink.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wenannou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Rio, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Bonjour and thank you for recommending Sofitel Rio.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, despite your comments about your room.

We hope to welcome you back soon to create more magnifique memories in Rio de Janeiro.

Best regards,

Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

It was a faboulos stay in Sofitel Copacabana. Rio was our last stop in our three weeks South American journey which was our honeymoon. Sofitel had upgraded our room immidiately, recieved a room with a wonderful view of Copacabana and Pao de Acucar and given us free wifi during our stay.

Thank you Sofitel it was a great surprise and unforgettable memory

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 389Traveller389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Rio, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Bonjour and thank you for your nice feedback.

I am very pleased to hear that your stay with us was a memorable one. Please rest assured that I will forward your compliments to my team.

We hope to welcome you back very soon in order to create more magnifique memories in Rio de Janeiro.

Best regards,

Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Kisco, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel is lcated at the apex of Copacobana and Ipanema beaches-cross the street and you are on the beach. Ask for the room with a full sea view--it is eyepopping. The room was a good size and excellent air conditioning. The room could have been cleaner--spots on furniture and end table-unlike the Sofitel in Buenos Aires which was spotless. The service was good. Excellent breakfast in the hotel's Atlantis Restaurant--excellent buffet plus a chef for special orders. You can sit inside or outside wioth a fantastic view of the beach. Therwe are two great pool areas a with a bar and chair service. Terrific location to get acquainted with both the Copacabana and Ipanema areas. Security was everywhere in the streets-we felt safe during the day-we didn't venture out at night except to take cabs to dinner and shows.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Rio, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Bonjour and thank you for your nice feedback.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the fantastic location and that your stay in our hotel was perfect.

We hope to welcome you back very soon in order to create more magnifique memories in Rio de Janeiro.

Best regards,

Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Managed by Sofitel
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipane...
#38 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#17 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Orla Copacabana Hotel
#80 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Copacabana
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel
#59 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,215 reviews
Copacabana
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hote...
#13 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Property: Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Address: Av. Atlantica, 4240 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-002, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#17 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#22 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#35 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is a splendid one. It leaves the guest practically leaning over Copacabana beach – one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. It is beside Ipanema, a charming neighborhood full of attractions, immortalized in a song by Tom Jobim and Vinicius de Moraes, “Garota de Ipanema”.Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is considered one of the most prestigious Brazilian luxury hotels, combining French savoir-faire with Carioca charm.Enjoy our comfortable apartments with balconies and the MyBed bed, the executive floor with Club Millésime services – a new concept in personalized service, beach service, two pools and many other facilities, in addition to the award winning cuisine here at Sofitel.Situated near the main business centers in the city, the hotel offers an ample and versatile Convention Center, and also a modern Board Meeting Room, a fully equipped room with a view of Copacabana beach, uniting comfort and personalized services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Accor Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Sofitel
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing