We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,278)
Filter reviews
1,278 results
Traveler rating
407
620
166
51
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
407
620
166
51
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar ocean view beach chairs perfect location restaurants and shopping breakfast buffet two brothers top floor small pool yogurt felt very safe christ the redeemer umbrellas ipanema posto brazil carnaval
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,278 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2018

I can’t say enough wonderful things about this hotel! I stayed here and at the Sofitel down the street and while the Sofitel has a nicer rooftop the rooms here are much much cleaner, nicer, and fresher and a lot less pricey. The location cannot be beat. The staff is excellent and they speak English. They also provide beach chairs and umbrellas/towels for the beach. The view is fantastic! The rooftop bar and pool is a bit small and can get crowded on nice nights, but it is totally worth that for the view. You have to check it out! Will definitely stay here again next time I come back which I hope is soon!

Room tip: Choose an ocean view room
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank Laurie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSolipanema, Gerente de relações com clientes at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2018

Dear Laurie,

Thank you for sharing a review of your experience in TripAdvisor!

We appreciate your kind words and it is such an honor to receive your feedback. We are very happy to know that we’ve exceeded your expectations!

Thank you for choosing Sol Ipanema Hotel, we know that options are not lacking in the city of Rio de Janeiro and we are honored by the choice that you stayed with us! We were very happy to know that you left feeling like returning and that motivates us to continue on this path, to care for and value our guests.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly then we can best verify a special condition for returnee guests. It shall be a great pleasure to welcome you back in an early future!

Best regards,
Sol Ipanema Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2018

You will pay for location on the front line of Ipanema beach. Rooms are good but not excellent however service is very friendly. They don't have parking, but they can take care for your car and they move it on public place.

Date of stay: June 2018
2  Thank Robert I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSolipanema, Gerente de relações com clientes at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2018

Dear Robert,

Thank you for sharing a review of your experience in TripAdvisor!

We believe that only with genuine feedback can help us to develop and improve our services.

I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations with our room, our goal is to make our guests feel valued since the care with the guests is a great differential of the Sol Ipanema.

On the parking issue, I confirm that we do not have parking in the building, but we have a 24/7 valet service to meet any need of our guests. Here in the area, no hotel has this service and therefore we are looking for alternatives. I hope it has been to your liking.

It shall be a great pleasure to welcome you back in an early future!

Best regards,
Sol Ipanema Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2018 via mobile

This hotel is situated in a great location beach front. However, there are so many beach bums around the hotel. My friend was attacked by one of the homeless man right at the corner of the hotel. Another local man came and helped us. When we reported the incident to the hotel, they just say “yeah it happens a lot here”. The homeless guy took the shopping bag straight from her hands. Luckily, the nice local guy helped us.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
3  Thank PoySak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSolipanema, Gerente de relações com clientes at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Dear PoySak,

Thank you for sharing a review of your experience in TripAdvisor.

We regret what happened. We are located in a noble area of ​​the city, but like all big city, we need to be always attentive with our security. Unfortunately this action is beyond our control and we feel sorry for having gone through this experience and for not meet your expectations with the Rio security point.
In Brazil or any other countries, especially in large cities, it is necessary to always be attentive and avoid using cell phones without care or walking with items of value to the sample. We understand that many guests are afraid of the media showing situations of violence in the city, but like any other city, that happens and is out of reach, isn´t it?

We will be at your disposal for any need and we look forward to seeing you back soon.

Best regards,
Sol Ipanema Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018 via mobile

Drove from São Paulo over the week end to Rio during a business trip. It was wet and raining and mist all over the mountains and no one at the Ipanema Beach on a Saturday .

Sol is right on the Ipanema Beach . Friendly staff and average rooms. But during a off season they charged us almost 200 USD as we did not negotiate the price and booked through our office and we saw Hilton at half the price after we reached here . Make sure you check the rates and otherwise everything was fine here .

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank samrajj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSolipanema, Gerente de relações com clientes at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Dear samrajj,

Thank you for sharing a review of your experience in TripAdvisor!

We understand why our rates are higher than compared to other hotelsin the area, specially Copacabana, where Hilton is located, but we believe that we are following the best practices and we have a cost benefit in Ipanema that is one of the highest compliments we have of most of our guests, such as we can notice in the evaluations that we received.

We are located in Ipanema, which is the most noble neighborhood of the city and in the best location, in front of Ipanema beach. We offer our best 4 star hotel services for our guests' convenience, including 24 hour room service, beach service, beauty salon, gym, free wifi internet and breakfast included in the daily rate, served as a buffet in our restaurant daily. Among other services offered. We apologize if your impressions do not match and apologize for any inconvenience.

It shall be a great pleasure to welcome you back in an early future!

Best regards,
Sol Ipanema Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2018

We picked this hotel mainly for the location (right on the beach). Check in was smooth- I booked directly through their website and requested early check-in and a higher floor and both were able to be accomodated. We arrived super early before our reservation and the lady at the front desk (Deborah I believe) was extremely accomodating and even let us use the shower at the rooftop pool to rinse the plane ride off and store our bags with them until our room could be cleaned and ready.

The facilities were nice, rooftop pool and bar area is small but nice and affords some excellent views of Ipanema Beach. The free breakfast was nicer than I expected. A large selection of hot and cold breakfast foods and fresh fruit. Our american plugs fit into one of their outlets by the desk, the others needed an adapter that we happened to have anyways. Beds were very comfortable!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSolipanema, Gerente de relações com clientes at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2018

Dear Tim,

Thank you for sharing a review of your experience in TripAdvisor!

It is such an honor to read your positive comment about your recent visit to us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the experience with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly then we can best verify a special condition for returnée guests :)

Best regards,
Sol Ipanema Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews