We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad rude staff, avoid this hotel at all costs”
Review of Sol Ipanema Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Ranked #69 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Bad rude staff, avoid this hotel at all costs”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The only good part about this hotel is the location. Other than that, avoid this hotel at all costs. Here is our experience:

1. We had booked a standard room and at check in even though there were several sea facing rooms available, the loud Debrah did not agree to upgrade us. Fair enough, as we had booked a standard, we even agreed to pay the difference to which she just smirked.

2. We had to call 3 times just to get a towel in the room. The staff is most unapologetic and rude and don't really care about what you need.

3. The electricity went off at 3 am one night and after calling the reception 6 times, someone came to our room to put off the emergency lights. They claim that they have 1 person working at night for 100 rooms! Is that even safe? To be fair, when we complained to the main manager at check out, he gave us a late check out to somehow compensate for the bad behaviour of his staff. BTW before this, Debrah had told us, if you check out even 1 minute late, we will charge you a penalty, her words were, "12 means 12". Who talks like that to customers?

4. When I needed a cab to the airport, I asked the front desk to call a cab for me and of course, he claimed that he did not know which number to dial. I had to find the number online and give it to him. The number was busy and the hotel guy looked at me and said that this was the last time he will dial the number and insisted that I should take the hotel car which was more than double the cost of a regular cab. He said this in front of Debrah who agreed with him.

The staff at this hotel are sly, rude and aggressive. I would NOT recommend you stay here and spoil your holiday.

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mrijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Director of Sales at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
I was extremely concerned to read of your disappointing stay with us and I apologize most sincerely for the inconvenience you may have had.

The hotel was completed fully booked and unfortunatly we didn´t have any deluxe rooms available to upgrade you. If we had we would had a pleasure to do it.

We have faced a suddenly and unexpected blackout in the city at 3am, this was a problem that affect the whole Ipanema area and even thou we have less employers working at this time of night we did our best efforts to minimize the inconvenience for all our guests.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the issues you had and prevent any future occurrences.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us
the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    558
    151
    45
    30
See reviews for
218
447
80
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Clean hotel, friendly service, silent rooms, beautiful view, cozy swimming pool at the hotel roof.
Good value for money, but not cheap. But is not a place for backpackers: I spent four days in the hotel (business meetings in the city). Then I put my dress into my backpack, I took my T-shirt, shorts and hat. I took my, ready for the monthly trip through South America. I wanted to check out and pay the bill, and at the reception desk they did not recognise in me their own guest :) But the bills are paid :)

Room Tip: Take room with ocean view, the upper floors rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,


On behalf of the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, we would like to thank you for the compliments regarding our services during your stay.


Best regards,
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

I have been staying at this Hotel on and off for the last 4 years. This is my 1st visit in about 18 months and I note the rooms and Restautant have been renovated. I stay here as the location is great. It's smack bang in centre of Ipanema beach (best beach in Rio) and best beach to watch the Sun Set! Leblone is just up the road with great shopping and food, all with in walking distance. Always felt safe on foot in the area. Staff are very friendly in Hotel. Never had any problem with security of property. Both breakfast and dinner menu excellent.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Italianjob744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

Your opinion is very important for us.


Best regards,
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel was very good, the location is very close to the beach (just cross the street) and the view during breakfast was awesome. Our flight was early in the morning and check-in was not until 2 pm, so we waited a few hours until we could finally check in. We were not given breakfast and that was really unfortunate because we were guests in this hotel and we should have been offered that at least while we were waiting. We were not offered anything, not even water. Customer service was not really good in this hotel, the employees are just very unwilling to go far & above their duty. I sent an email this hotel to confirm our reservation and I never received a confirmation back by email. Taxi to the airport was quoted by hotel one price and when we got to the airport the taxi driver added 10.00 to the price quoted by hotel and there was no traffic. Consider my review before booking this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor. Demand for better service if you feel you're not getting one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CottonCandy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you to give us your feedback!

Your comments will help us to evaluate our efforts and improve the services extended to our guests. Your observations were considered and for sure your opinions will contribute with our quality standard.
We are sorry for the inconvenient and we hope making better next time. Will be a plesure to have you here again betimes!

Best Regards,
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Good hotel right on the ocean on Ipanema beach. Helpful friendly staff.. Nice room with ocean view.. Good buffet breakfast . Do not miss the sunset from the rooftop pool area . Plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance . There didn't appear to be any security issues in this area . The only annoying thing were the lifts.. Too slow!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GD2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,


On behalf of the BW PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, we would like to thank you for the compliments regarding our services during your stay.


Best regards,
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Excellent breakfast.
The Italian restaurant in the hotel was also very good.It was also nice to take a drink at the roof top bar with excellent view. (The pool is very,very small)
Just after our arrival an intense tropical storm with extreme winds and rain erupted and water came in around the windows. We called housekeeping and they came immediately and put towels to stop the water, so this was not really a problem and the following days the weather was perfect.

Room Tip: Sea view is excellent but you need to pay extra for these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARP_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. Your comments were much appreciated by the management of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The hotel itself was very good. The staff at the hotel, especially the breakfast staff can do with some training and all over the staff is very unfriendly.
With the exception of the Bar man on the rooftop pool area. He was amazing and friendly!
Good breakfast also!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Geust,


On behalf of the BW PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, we would like to thank you for the compliments regarding our services during your stay.


Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#12 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,397 reviews
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#31 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
241 reviews
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#85 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#38 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,709 reviews
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#83 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,185 reviews
Ipanema
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
#110 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Ipanema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Ipanema Hotel

Property: Sol Ipanema Hotel
Address: Avenida Vieira Souto 320, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-004, Brazil (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#28 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Ipanema Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located facing the ocean, at the most trendy point of Ipanema Beach, the "Station 9", and only one block from the bar Girl from Ipanema, birthplace of Bossa Nova. Perfect for leisure or business trip for its proximity to downtown and the best tourist sights of Rio de Janeiro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Ipanema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Best Western
Sol Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing