We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Sol Ipanema Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Ranked #84 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This Best Western receives top marks for their breakfast buffet. I have stayed in many best western properties, but the variety of food for breakfast was outstanding. We received outstanding customer service as the festival was beginning and we were given a great ocean view room. As others have said, its centrally located and the beach is right across the street. We were able to walk everywhere. Nearby is the restaurant, where the song was created about a beautiful Brazilian girl - "the girl from Ipanema..."

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovetoTravel9308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you for your comments!

Your opinion is very important for us.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL IPANEMA HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

282 - 288 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

A cracking little hotel with a good kitchen and excellent bar. Rooms not large but quite satisfactory for business trips. Very central location for bars, beach and a supermarket, and some superb restaurants nearby

Room Tip: Go for the front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you for your comments!

Your opinion is very important for us.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL IPANEMA HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel, right across the road from the beach, very good breakfast, friendly staff, . Excellent air con, and very quiet. Shipping close by and seems to be very safe. Teeny tiny rooftop pool...! free wifi, staff will organise transfers for you, same as going rate. Beds very comfortable, we were at the front so had a great view form 7th floor but the traffic noise was a bit loud alongside the beautiful crashing waves. no bath in the room, shower ok, a bit slow, plenty of products

Room Tip: Higher up quieter, definitely would sacrifice the noise of traffic for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzielee24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you for your comments!

Your opinion is very important for us.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL IPANEMA HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Unable to fault th ehotel and very well trained staff. It was apleasure to be looked after my only criticism was the frequent one of them only serving stewed coffee (but no others in Brazil did any better!)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you for your comments!

Your opinion is very important for us.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL IPANEMA HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I booked this hotel at the recommendation of a Brazilian friend who knew I was traveling alone and nervous about the dangers of Rio. Ipanema and Lablon (adjacent part of city) are fun, chic and perfectly safe at night if you use common sense. The hotel is located in front of Station 9 - the well known gay area of the beach. If you're not gay and want to check out members of the opposite sex, it takes only a short walk to Station 8 to be in straight paradise. If I were a gay man this is the place I'd stay!

The first day I arrived I stayed in a "City View " room which felt like a cell block as you had to keep the curtains closed to avoid looking into adjacent buildings' windows. It was totally depressing and not worth the money. The front desk staff jerked me around when I was looking to move to an ocean view and stay an additional two nights. They were telling me the hotel was full. I went onto Hotels.com and found multiple rooms available and chose one with an ocean view that was $40 more a night. TOTALLY worth it. Somehow the staff was then able to move me immediately.

The pool is jacuzzi-sized (no joke) but cold. The workout room has a couple machines in a small area. The guys working in the small lobby stare at the football game on the tv and have yet to say "hello". I have no idea what they do. Breakfast has a lovely view with okay food. It's included which makes it fine.

Room Tip: I think an ocean view on a lower floor would be best to watch the action on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FamilyVacationersMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you for your comments!

Your opinion is very important for us.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL IPANEMA HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Just returned from 10 days in Rio (arrived back in UK yesterday 21.5.13) and really pleased we chose to stay at in Ipanema and especially at the Sol Ipanema! Having read several guides before our trip, we decided to up our usual budget and stay in the safer and smarter Ipanema area and wanted our hotel to be on the beachfront. There are not as many hotels to choose from here, as on Copacobana, but the view from our room, when we opened our curtains on the first morning, confirmed we had made a really good choice. Also, as we discovered it is on a excellent part of the beach and it is also easy to get around to everything from here. Firstly the rooms are of a decent size and we had a queen sized bed (we stayed on the 15th Floor) and it had a nice marble bathroom. Don't expect a super glitzy room - you need to double or triple your bill if you want that, but is was very pleasant, clean and comfortable. Only tips are, if you are a Brit or like tea, take a travel kettle & adaptor, as like many international hotels, they don't supply them. Also, if you are sensitive to noise, be sure to take ear plugs as the you will have some road and a lot of wave noise (a small price to pay for that view!). The hotel is really narrow so there are just six rooms on each floor, but we never had to wait too long for a lift. The pool on the floor above us was more of a plunge pool, but we did use it and the view from the roof terrace is stunning! It's a great place to see the sun go down and in the day you can still watch the skills of the footvolley played down on the beach. We found most of the staff to be very helpful and if they didn't speak much English it was never a big problem - a big smile and a little sign language seems to go a really long way in Brazil! The lovely Paolo and Leandro on Reception speak great English, (as do all the receptionists) and are especially helpful if you need any info. We found breakfast had a good choice for different tastes and the scrambled eggs were a must have every day - delicious. We also ate here one evening as the view is great - our food was excellent - I had the lamb with risotto -for the quality of the food and location in Rio, it was a fair bill. If you are happy to skip the view, we would highly recommend 'Felice' on Rua Gomes Carneiro. Great food in a really cool bar/restaurant & amazing ice cream too... Here a local diner also suggested we try Fazendola round the corner on Praca General Osorio (where they hold the great hippy market). We came here three times, sitting outside twice and having their excellent meat and then seafood platters served on a hot plate. We also used their inside 'pay per kilo' buffet, which was very good too and a slightly cheaper option (pretty sure they don't add the usual 10% tip to the bill at this restaurant, so if you get excellent service, as we did, its nice to pay up and it is really appreciated). Other places worth a visit, are the Garota de Ipanema, where the famous song was penned and it is five minutes walk and two blocks back (& helpfully you pass an HSBC with a lobby so it is easy & safe to get cash) - good Capirina's & decent food. The little pastie starters are amazing as they just melt in your mouth - Yummy. Another place for excellent Caparina's is the Academia da Cachaca in Leblon - a simple place, but if you like Cachaca you will love it! About Rio in general, much to our surpise we felt safe, (but dressed down & with no jewelery on display!) and used public transport all the time - efficient & cheap - just a bit too quick sometimes so hold on! The metro is also great, but you need to get to Sequeira Campos station on Copacabana as they are extending the line nearer the hotel. From here you can quickly get to Centro. Get off at Cinelandia to see the amazing Theatro Municipal (you can do a tour & we were so impressed, we book to see a concert the next day). You can also walk easily to the famous & beautiful Colombo coffee house. The two must sees in the city though, are the statue of Christ and Sugar Loaf. Pick a clear day and the views are breathtaking. Lastly to be like a local, get up early and walk or jog along the beach. I don't usually choose to be up and out by 7am on holiday, but we did this twice and it was bliss! All in all, we had a wonderful time in Rio. Great scenery, friendly people and delicious food. We would love to come back and would definitely choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view if you can- expensive but so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank McCheynesontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you for your comments!

Your opinion is very important for us.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL IPANEMA HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

First off (as other reviewers already mentioned): Hotels in Rio are expensive, especially those at beachfront, and the Ipanema Sol is certainly no exception.

We stayed on the 7th floor facing the beach, so the view was really nice. The rooms seem to be renovated, and hence were nice, bright, and roomy, with a good sized desk, enough space for our clothes, and a well-stocked mini-bar. Since breakfast is included in the room-rate, we didn't miss a coffee-maker at all. Instead the hotel provides (for only BRL 6,00) 'capa de chuvas' (simple rain coats), in the room, which we (unfortunately) badly needed, and we were so happy that we didn't have to look for them in Rio.

The bathrooms are a bit small, but who want's to spend a lot of time there? The shower was really great though, big & better than in most other hotels.

Yes, the roof-top area is quite small (there are only four comfortable loungers) - but as is the building. While we were up there (three times within two days) there was always somebody behind the bar.

Breakfast was excellent, and offered more than we had expected (therefore I added a few pictures). The atmosphere is very bright & almost fancy, with huge windows facing the beach. My only complaint: the used tables & dishes could have been cleaned or removed much faster at times.

The front-desk spoke quite well English, but while one receptionist was very friendly, his colleague wasn't able to smile even once, and was rather unfriendly. The hotel provides beach chairs, sun umbrellas, and beach towels, which one can pick up right beside the main entrance.

We didn't know Rio de Janeiro at all, so I can't really say much about the location, other than that it's right in front of "Posto 9" at the beach, and there was a lovely, small & romantic restaurant with wonderful food right around the corner: Zazá Bistrô Tropical.

The Ipanema was a great choice, and we would certainly return to the hotel. Prices are very steep in Rio, and at least everything (rooms, etc.) was in a very good shape!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KerryEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you for your comments!

Your opinion is very important for us.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL IPANEMA HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#44 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,780 reviews
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#90 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,591 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#11 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#76 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,210 reviews
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#22 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
320 reviews
Ipanema
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fashion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fa...
#10 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Ipanema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Ipanema Hotel

Address: Avenida Vieira Souto 320, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-004, Brazil (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#21 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $159 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Ipanema Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located facing the ocean, at the most trendy point of Ipanema Beach, the "Station 9", and only one block from the bar Girl from Ipanema, birthplace of Bossa Nova. Perfect for leisure or business trip for its proximity to downtown and the best tourist sights of Rio de Janeiro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sol Ipanema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Best Western
Sol Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing