We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but poor overpriced hotel”
Review of Sol Ipanema Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Ranked #77 of 283 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is the best location in town, right on Ipanema beach and close enoguh to walk to Copacabana. Views are stunning.
However, the hotel is very disappointing:
Service is inexistant, concierge cannot be bother to say hello. Most of the time nobody to attend at the roof pool bar.
Rooms are quite basic, no bath in the shower room that urgently needs refreshing.
Be very careful if you get a lower floor room as Ipanema is a very busy road and don't expect to get double glazing for $500 a night in Rio...
Breakfast is quite basic in the most boring dining room ever...
I understand this is in line with Rio's standards these days. What I used to find acceptable when Rio was cheaper than Europe or US, is less so when when you pay more! Even if Rio remains one of the most beautiful city in the world, the value for money is now quite disappointing..

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DudeLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

Your opinion is very important for us.


Best regards,
BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL IPANEMA HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,162)
There are newer reviews for Sol Ipanema Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

314 - 320 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our first visit to Rio de Janeiro. (And not the last, I hope.) We disembarked from our cruise ship in Rio and spent three nights in this hotel. So we were used to luxury, good food and service on the ship, But that continued in this hotel. Perfect location, across from the beach. The hotel provides chairs, towels and umbrella's to use at the beach. A few blocks away there are many nice restaurants to eat and a lot of beautiful stores to shop. We had a clean room, without any view, but we saw enough of the ocean. That was OK. Nice view from the 16th floor, on the roof. Small pool and a bar. We enjoyed it very much and regretted that we did not stay longer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dona179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you for your comments.

Your opinion is very important for us.


Best regards,
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

It's not cheap by any means, but you can't beat the location! The world's best beach as rated by CNN is just across the road from the hotel! The building is pretty nice... it seems like all of the hotels on this strip are 50+ years old, much like you would find in Miami Beach. They have all the bases covered; beach chairs and umbrella (which cost a ton on the beach), good free breakfast, pool (very small) and great view on the roof, nice staff that speaks English (as good as expected). Nice clean rooms and a safe, which is key. It's a safe area for Rio and you could even peak out the window and see the Christ statue! No major complains here!

Room Tip: Get a beach view if possible, but it can be a little louder...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCarson699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for comments.

Your opinion is very important for us.

Best regards,
BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL IPANEMA HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I think staying on the beach at Ipanema is great, and this hotel is very well located. But it's quite expensive and the service leaves much to be desired. The front desk had especially poor service, i.e. they were very unhelpful and even slightly rude. The quality of the room was okay, nothing very nice about it, but it wasn't terrible.

Highlight : very from the rooftop pool/bar.
Lowlight: front-desk service was terrible.

Room Tip: No point staying this close to the beach unless you have a view of the beach!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for comments.

Your opinion is very important for us.

Best regards,
BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL IPANEMA HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

It seemed difficult to find a reasonable hotel in Rio, but we were pleased with our choice of Sol Ipanema.

Its location is ideal: it is just across the road from the beautiful Ipanema Beach; it is in a safe part of the city; it is minutes away from excellent restaurants (We loved Zaza.); and it is relatively near to an underground station.

The hotel receptionists were always helpful and friendly. Breakfasts, which were taken in the dining room overlooking the beach, were good; and breakfast buffet dishes were replenished in an attentive way.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank x2_travel_bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you for comments.

Your opinion is very important for us.

Best regards,
BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL IPANEMA HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

So we decided to pay a bit extra and stay at this nice enough hotel in the perfect location. The reception staff cannot be faulted. Always very helpful and resourceful. The rooms were clean and shower good. View from the small bar/swimming pool area on the roof amazing. Breakfast was good..... Lovely modern dinning area.

Just one thing that was disappointing - we really wanted to see the rehearsals for the upcoming carnival so we booked via the hotel as there didn't seem to be any other way to do it (couldn't find it on the net anywhere) It cost R$ 150 each. Around £50. When we got there we realised it only cost R$ 40 to get in, so we were being charged the rest - R$110 - for transport and the hotels cut. This seemed very unfair as the other people from a nearby hotel that came with us (in the same van) paid just R$90. We complained and sent an email but have still not heard what the hotel has to say. Also the driving on the way back was terrible. The driver seemed to be annoyed and I was holding on for dear life! If possible I would try and book through a different hotel if Sol do not change their pricing on this. On a plus point the rehearsals were so much fun and definitely worth seeing especially if you can't make the carnival itself!

1  Thank sonal p
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your e-mail.

Your opinion is very important for us.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL IPANEMA HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is an excellent property situated a hop and a step from the beach at Ipanema.
The room we had overlooked the beach. It was bright, spacious, great size bed and excellent shower. The full breakfast included in the price was also very good.
Disappointing was the pool which was small and the seating area, should anyone want to use this facility. However, the view makes up or it.
Front desk staff were extremely helpful however their command of English was limited.
When going on the beach the hotel also provide, chairs, towels and parasols for free.
The shops at Ipanema are also just around the corner. If going further you need a cab which are inexpensive.

Room Tip: You must choose a room with a view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandlebaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you for comments.

Your opinion is very important for us.

Best regards,
BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL IPANEMA HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#13 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,418 reviews
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#24 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
272 reviews
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#41 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#87 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,532 reviews
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#82 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,190 reviews
Ipanema
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
#111 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Ipanema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Ipanema Hotel

Address: Avenida Vieira Souto 320, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-004, Brazil (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#28 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $155 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Ipanema Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located facing the ocean, at the most trendy point of Ipanema Beach, the "Station 9", and only one block from the bar Girl from Ipanema, birthplace of Bossa Nova. Perfect for leisure or business trip for its proximity to downtown and the best tourist sights of Rio de Janeiro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Ipanema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Best Western
Sol Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing