We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect localization and nice rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Ipanema Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Ranked #64 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Salvador
Level Contributor
146 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Perfect localization and nice rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

Rio is known for its old expensive hotels, most of them needing a big reform. Sol Ipanema already made a complete reform of all its rooms a few years ago and now this hotel managed to offer a perfect localization on Ipanema beach, close to all bars and restaurants, with very well equipped rooms, with simple but nice furniture and very large beds. Deluxe rooms offer a breathtaking view over the beach. Breakfast buffet is good quality. Definitively one of the best option in Rio for relation quality/cost.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franceses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you comments.

Your opinion is very important for us.

Best regards,
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    533
    143
    41
    27
See reviews for
200
424
77
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

The room in this hotel is nice- clean and modern, but there are a few things that would prevent me from returning.
1) there is only 1 staff member at reception that has to deal with people checking in and out, and with general enquiries. you end up waiting forever if you have a query
2) only 1 lift was working for the 5 days we were there. there are 15 floors and we spent 5-10 minutes waiting for the lift everytime we wanted to go anywhere
3) internet in the lobby is charged for
4) the staff aren't really interested in giving you good tips
5) do not use the credit card service for the phone in the room- it costs a fortune
6) the pool upstairs is tiny- hardly big enough for a huge hotel

on the positive side (and the reason i booked the hotel)- the location is fabulous. you are right in the centre of ipanema beach and you are walking distance from all the trendy restaurants and bars, as well as the nice area of leblon.

tea and coffee facilities are not in the room but room service delivers this for free.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hasmita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

Your opinion is very important for us!

Best regards,
BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL IPANEMA HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

The place is a little old and under redecoration. Only one elevator was working, giving a lot of troubles to the guests. Good that I was on the 4th floor and not the 15th.
The breakfast (which was good) was served in a meeting room because the restaurant is being renovated.
The best thing about this hotel is the location, in the center of Ipanema beach, but you pay a big extra if you want a room with a view. The service was very good, and I was given a room earlier than the check-in time when I arrived in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gianluca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

Your opinion is very important for us!

Best regards,
BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL IPANEMA HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

My partner and I chose this hotel for its' location, and we would stay there again. It is expensive in my opinion, but I wanted to stay at Ipanema. Right on "Posto 8 and 9" on Ipanema beach, and walking distance to dozens of cafes and shops. 5 minute walk to the subway also. The rooms were simple, very clean and comfortable. The beds and bedding were good, firm, decent pillows etc. As many other comments have stated, the breakfast buffet is quite good, the only exception is the scrambled eggs (I think they might be boiled liquid eggs), so I recommend the hard-boiled eggs which they make only on request. The restaurant is being renovated and should be done by Nov 1, 2011, so we ate breakfast in the meeting room (no big deal). The rooftop pool and terrace is tiny but very pretty, and we spent a few evenings up there watching the view and sunset. The staff overall was decent, Luis (sp?) at the rooftop bar is outstanding. The AC was loud but works great. My only complaint for the entire stay, is that our stay ended on a bad note; BEWARE of a scam they have regarding visitors. Our friend came up to the room for a drink; within seconds (literally) the room phone rang, it was the front desk informing us security was coming to the room! Wow. I guess they watch every movement on all the cameras (which is good for safety). The security came and sort of questioned our friend, forced him to show his ID to register. Weird, right? The next AM when we checked out they had added a $50 extra "Visitor fee"! The front desk would not budge. Our friend had been in the hotel no more than 45-60 minutes, so this really felt cheap on the Hotel Management part, like they are really trying to scam you! I have written a complaint to Best Western, and hopefully they resolve this. I am Platinum with IHG and Marriott and have NEVER encountered this poor policy.
OVERALL: I see a lot of complaints on here that I don't agree with. If you are expecting Hyatt level property, don't stay here. Inside the US I would call this a solid 3.5 star, for Brazil it is a 4. If you can adjust your expectations to a very clean, safe, comfortable, simply-furnished room, and you want the perfect location, this is it. The "better" hotels nearby want waaaay too much $$, so the Sol is a good pick, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We chose the mountain view room, to save a lot of money. It was fine! We went up to the rooftop ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCJimmy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment.

Your opinion is very important for us!!

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

I stayed at this hotel from Sep 8 till Sep 12/11 . The hotel is very clean and the beds very confortable . The problems start when you go to the pool area : it is VERY small , the pool is 10x10 feet and if you planing to bring any friend for a cocktail after dinner or anytime , forget it .The security people there is really rude and not helpfull at all . I had a very humiliating scene at the hotel lobby with my family ( my sisters are over 50 , so we are not party people) when I invited them to come to the pool , and the manager didn't do a thing about it . In top of all things I had my Ipad and Ipod stolen from my room . Brazil is a third world country , and Rio still not a friendly place to go . I am braziliam living in the USA and I will NOT going back to Rio EVER again. My advise : be really careful , and if you can not afford a 1,000 dollars hotel nite , stay home or go to Miami , you will have much more fun.

Room Tip: Get a room in other hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Fernando D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, General Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
As feeling very outrageous by this statement, we requested Trip Advisor an immediate action to remove the information that personal belongings were stolen from the guest’s room, as published by Mr. Fernando on Oct. 10th.
It is a false and slanderous statement on the part of the guest, with the clear intention of denigrating the image of the hotel, since, at any time he reported such a fact to the hotel management, or to a police authority.
Some of your attention, we remain.
Carlos Bollentini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed on the top floor of the Best Western Plus Sol Ipanema Hotel from Sept 1 to Sept 5 2011. We had a full oceanfront view of the beach and it was spectacular! The location of this hotel is perfect for the beach, shopping and walking. The staff was friendly and helpful and the included breakfast every morning was wonderful. We loved this place and would pay the bucks to stay again, no question! Only complaint...soundproofing between rooms is not great but such a little thing when everything else is perfect. We loved Rio and we could not have stayed anywhere better. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Go for the full ocean front view! When once you see it you will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeymoonjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

Your opinion is very important for us!

Best regards,
Sandra Thimoteo
Account Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

The only good thing of this hotel is the location. Rooms need an update and acoustic is really bad. We stayed at room 1502, which has a very nice view, but you can hear all the noises of your neighbor as if he or she were in your room! Breakfast is just ok, it could be of better quality. It was served in a small meeting room, since they decide to begin the restaurant renovation one week before Rock in Rio....The pool area is small, the gym is a joke, the elevators are very slow .... very expensive hotel for what you get in return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Managed by Sofitel
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipane...
#35 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#10 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Arpoador
Hotel Arpoador
#18 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
#112 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#75 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#71 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Ipanema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Ipanema Hotel

Property: Sol Ipanema Hotel
Address: Avenida Vieira Souto 320, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-004, Brazil (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#28 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Ipanema Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located facing the ocean, at the most trendy point of Ipanema Beach, the "Station 9", and only one block from the bar Girl from Ipanema, birthplace of Bossa Nova. Perfect for leisure or business trip for its proximity to downtown and the best tourist sights of Rio de Janeiro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Ipanema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Best Western
Sol Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing