We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
$569
$546
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rio Othon Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$113
$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$40
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Windsor Barra(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pestana Rio Atlantica(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$119
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$212
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Brisa Barra Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$92
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)
$226
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,225)
Filter reviews
1,225 results
Traveler rating
385
600
159
49
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
385
600
159
49
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barbeach chairsocean viewperfect locationrestaurants and shoppingbreakfast buffettwo brothersfront desk stafftop floorsmall pooldecent sizefelt very safeyogurtvisit riochrist the redeemerumbrellasipanema
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
397 - 402 of 1,225 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2011

I stayed at this hotel from Sep 8 till Sep 12/11 . The hotel is very clean and the beds very confortable . The problems start when you go to the pool area : it is VERY small , the pool is 10x10 feet and if you planing to bring any friend for a cocktail after dinner or anytime , forget it .The security people there is really rude and not helpfull at all . I had a very humiliating scene at the hotel lobby with my family ( my sisters are over 50 , so we are not party people) when I invited them to come to the pool , and the manager didn't do a thing about it . In top of all things I had my Ipad and Ipod stolen from my room . Brazil is a third world country , and Rio still not a friendly place to go . I am braziliam living in the USA and I will NOT going back to Rio EVER again. My advise : be really careful , and if you can not afford a 1,000 dollars hotel nite , stay home or go to Miami , you will have much more fun.

Room Tip: Get a room in other hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Fernando D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, General Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2011

As feeling very outrageous by this statement, we requested Trip Advisor an immediate action to remove the information that personal belongings were stolen from the guest’s room, as published by Mr. Fernando on Oct. 10th.
It is a false and slanderous statement on the part of the guest, with the clear intention of denigrating the image of the hotel, since, at any time he reported such a fact to the hotel management, or to a police authority.
Some of your attention, we remain.
Carlos Bollentini
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed on the top floor of the Best Western Plus Sol Ipanema Hotel from Sept 1 to Sept 5 2011. We had a full oceanfront view of the beach and it was spectacular! The location of this hotel is perfect for the beach, shopping and walking. The staff was friendly and helpful and the included breakfast every morning was wonderful. We loved this place and would pay the bucks to stay again, no question! Only complaint...soundproofing between rooms is not great but such a little thing when everything else is perfect. We loved Rio and we could not have stayed anywhere better. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Go for the full ocean front view! When once you see it you will not regret it.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honeymoonjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

Your opinion is very important for us!

Best regards,
Sandra Thimoteo
Account Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

The only good thing of this hotel is the location. Rooms need an update and acoustic is really bad. We stayed at room 1502, which has a very nice view, but you can hear all the noises of your neighbor as if he or she were in your room! Breakfast is just ok, it could be of better quality. It was served in a small meeting room, since they decide to begin the restaurant renovation one week before Rock in Rio....The pool area is small, the gym is a joke, the elevators are very slow .... very expensive hotel for what you get in return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

this december will be 3rd time at the sol ipanema and we will back in feburary again...why..the beach is right across the road from the hotel...and its short walk to the garoto de ipanema and shopping.
now of course the price is not cheap but this is ipanema and if you want the beach at your frount door you have to pay for it.
the rooms could use a little updating, breakfeast is buffet with a large variety of choices.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jerryg68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed there in January 2010 and the location is amazing. The views from the hotel are superb looking both ways on Ipanema Beach. The staff are very polite and helpful and most can speak at least a little English. The breakfasts are self service, so no excuses there for not having enough!! Also, a great variety of shops, cafes, restaurants and bars are one street behind the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laxeylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews