We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
Ranked #16 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

I gone to Rio for a business trip and we have get booked to JW Marriott at Rio by my compnay.

I seen that Rio is a amazing holiday destination and very long beach line.

JW Marriot is good for business visit as well as for vacation. We found the rate high on 1st sight, US $ 200 per day. But when we reach there the place is amazing. We have put up at 10th floor, on beach side, I have no words to describe the view.

If you do excersie, You can have jogging at the morning at beach or there is a fitness center at Hotel

The hotel service is very good and brakfast is nice. The breakfast at hotel is lots of variety, breads, juice, milk, coffee, fruits, etc.

The rooms are very clean, there is mini bar in the room.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prag-Het
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,052
    635
    209
    72
    46
See reviews for
260
618
146
613
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2010

Good hotel situated right on Copacabana Beach . Staff was very professional , friendly , and courteous from check in to checking out. Was great that the hotel provided towels and beach chairs free of charge when going on the beach ( which is right across the street from the hotel ). Good Japanese restaurant inside the hotel ( but a bit on the pricey side ). My only gripe would be the prices to use the internet in the hotel are ridiculously expensive , and unlike other Marriott's I have stayed in you still have to pay internet time for just printing your boarding passes for your flights. To me , to use the internet just for boarding passes should be free of charge. The rooms are a bit on the small side also ( especially for American travelers who are used to US standard sized hotel rooms ).Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doxiegirllover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

Excellent Hotel at copacabana beach. .

Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Giancarlo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

I am a Marriott platinum member which typcially ensures the best service, rooms and attention- apparently at all marriott's except for the JW Marriott in Rio. The room I was in was terrible, extremely small with a view of the interior of the hotel, not even a window to the outside and was dark and old fashioned. The staff was rude to me upon check in and I didn't have my platinum membership card with me and they did not beleive me at first when I told them I was platinum member and they forgot to give me the bonus points. Had two friends who lived in Rio who I was coming to visit - they came and met me at the hotel as soon as i arrived from the airport and the staff chased them down since I was only allowed to bring one guest up apparently, and had to have a colleague sign my guests in (as if it was a dorm room).

That being said, the location is great, right on Copacabana beach, the roof top pool is pretty with a great view, and Rio is an amazing city. Overall the hotel just seems a bit old fashioned and not very modern. Only stayed for the weekend so wasnt in the hotel too much, I was doing business in Sao Paulo for 3 weeks (staying at the Renaissance in SP) and was expecting way more from the JW. Was happy to get back to the Renaissance and very disappointed in the JW. Don't get me wrong, It was a nice hotel, but it did not meet my expectations for a JW Marriott.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lea5834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

I stayed here on Marriott points so the cost was not a factor, the place was full so rooms were going for >$400, yes that's too much. Was happy to be upgraded to an ocean view so was able to see the dramatic thunder/lightening storms that happened each evening. Loved the beach setup where we got an umbrella, chair & towels. The pool and bar on the rooftop are really nice, nice view and pretty good drinks. Was able to use the concierge lounge for 3 nights. Two of the nights the service was wonderful, especially Bruno who made nice caipirinhas. The middle night was pretty bad, the cranky guy set up the food, beer & wine, and then left for about an hour. They ran out of food and drinks and the place was a mess. He then came back and tried to clean up and restock but it was very chaotic. Never ate at any of the hotel restaurants, they were crowded and overpriced. I would definitely return if I had more pints but would not pay $400/nt.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy8766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2010

I would have been happier at the Copacabana Palace.

Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sonjasalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2010

Great hotel, very kind and friendly staff, beautiful views

Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kathystewd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#4 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,128 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
#8 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#15 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#23 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
Ipanema
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Managed by Sofitel
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipane...
#34 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
Address: Avenida Atlantica, 2600 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22041-001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#10 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The extraordinary JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro hotel offers seamless commuting to the city's best attractions, including Sugarloaf Mountain, Christ the Redeemer and a variety of nightlife, restaurants and golf courses. The world-famous Copacabana beach is just steps away from our doors, and Rio de Janeiro-Galeão International Airport is less than 10 miles away. Outdoor enthusiasts will appreciate our proximity to exciting activities like rock climbing, surfing and sailing. Guest rooms at our JW Marriott feature elegant decor, plush bedding, marble bathrooms and LCD TVs with international cable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Rio De Janeiro
Marriott Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Marriott
JW Marriott Hotel Rio De Janeiro Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing