We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
Nearby Hotels
$501
$451
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
$353
$344
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
$144
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ipanema Inn(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$112
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$207
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$274
$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$230
$184
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rio Othon Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Arena Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$114
$84
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (2,416)
Filter reviews
2,416 results
Traveler rating
1,307
722
240
87
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,307
722
240
87
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungecopacabana beachgriffin clubrooftop poolocean viewconcierge desklobby barplatinum memberbeach serviceavenida atlanticafitness centerrooms are smalllate checkhotel is in a great locationsugarloaf mountainbeach frontchrist the redeemer
Filter
Updating list...
1,005 - 1,010 of 2,416 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2014

A very nice hotel with a very friendly staff.
The location was fantastic, and the restaurants and breakfast were great.
The executive lounge service was also very good.
The only downside I remember was the view from the room, not as good as I would wish!....

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank José A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_RJ, Guest Relations Supervisor at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Dear Mr. Jose O,
First of all we would like to thank you, for taking some time to share with us your valued opinion. It`s a pleasure for us to be situated in the hearth of Copacabana Beach, to offer a variety of Brazilian flavors on our menus, starting with our special breakfast. We hope next time you have time to enjoy our Brazilian barbecue that’s available every weekend at our roof top area where you can appreciate our marvelous ocean view. We invite you to take advantage of our special rates throughout the year so that can host your next visit in one of our ocean view rooms.
Sincerely,
Jhesenia Guaman-Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

First of all, the location of this hotel is great. The other nice thing is the unique architecture of the building outside--makes it easy to always spot your hotel from a long walk along the beach.

The staff was wonderful, particularly concierge Tami who was always smiling and helpful regardless of how simple the request. She also slipped a recipe for caipirinha under my door (damn lime shortage!!) after I inquired about purchasing cachaca.

The room was very comfortable, though not large, it was well appointed and the bed and pillows were very nice. I will agree with others, the bathtub is a strange size wider at the faucet then much more narrow at the back.

I also ordered room service, the food arrived very quickly and was ok.

Overall I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I was on 4th floor ocean view. It is just a window, no balcony, but it really is a lovely view and I saw beautiful sunrises. Picture from my room below.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_RJ, Guest Relations Supervisor at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Dear Mrs. Laura S,
It`s a huge pleasure for us to share with our guests our great location in the middle of Copacabana Beach, we hope you have the opportunity to enjoy our beach service on your next visit, where we kindly offer chairs, umbrellas and complementary towels daily from 9am to 5pm right in front of the Hotel.
Our Concierge team are very glad to receive your complements, specially Thami, this kind of complements make us feel more special and happy, as it shows that our service makes the difference on our guest`s stays.
Sincerely,
Jhesenia Guaman-Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Great location, beautiful rooms and really great staff. The ocean views are fantastic, the service staff are really helpful and friendly. Great rooftop for sun, or evening drinks. Very comfortable beds and nice linens. I stayed in both the executive level in a suite and in a regular room on this trip. Exec level had a very nice lounge with nice beach views; my ocean view room was beautiful and well appointed. My single room was also lovely and comfy, very similar to the suite, just smaller.

Room Tip: get an ocean view!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_RJ, Guest Relations Supervisor at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Dear Mrs. Julia H,
Regarding your message for which we thank you, it is huge pleasures for us to share our special location in the middle of Copacabana Beach. We are always looking for new trends to develop our menu and drinks with Brazilian spices to provide you a “carioca” experience
Our team will be pleased to welcome you once again!
Sincerely,
Jhesenia Guaman-Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

I can only review based on the fact that we re platinum elite members so it may be skewed. However most of what i hae to say is about service and ameneties available to all.
The location is amazing. Right in the middle of copacabana beach and behind the hotel a few blocks down is one of the best areas to have lunch in an authentic Brasilian bar.
The service from every staff member is fantastic. Their concierge is extremely knowledgeable and have loads of tips. They book restaurants for you, share local knowledge, and are passionate about the city.
The beach section in front of the hotel offers free loungers (with parasol) and towels all day! It's. great spot too with volleyball nets behind you. Thers also a bar right next to the spot too.

Yes, the rooms are a bit dated in decor for a JW marriott brand, but they all have plenty of storage, amazing showers and up to date tvs etc plus why would anyone spend much time in their rooms with the beach right there!

The rooftop is fantastic! It has a 24 hour gym ( small but tidy) and a heated pool. In the evening the bar is open and many people drink poolside creating a fun atmosphere.
There is also single sex saunas in the changing areas!

Now for the extras... If you're a platinum elite member you get to use the 9th floor executive room. This is the 5-floor height atrium that you see from the front riht in the middle of the face of the hotel. At breakfast you are faced with unrivalled views of the beach, and at night from 6-9 you get FREE cocktails, wine, champagne, beer and a selection of tasty salads and snacks, again with fantastic staff. Elite members also get personal check in and out on the 9th floor too and free wifi.
We've stayed in many Marriotts mainly in large citys like rio, but this hotel by far has offered us the best seevice and facilities.

2  Thank sparkly_eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JW_Marriott_RJ, Guest Relations Supervisor at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Dear London reviewer,
Thank you for being a Platinum Member and for your loyalty to our hotel, we are always reinforcing our service and social areas to better serve you and make your stay memorable! Our staff and Concierge team are very happy with your feedback about their service and dedication.
It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again in our trendy neighborhood in the hearth of Copacabana Beach.
Regards,
Jhesenia Guaman-Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Our room was nice and clean, but a little on the small side. Our king sized bed was very comfortable, with feather pillows and blankets. The bathtub is full size in length, however the width is half the size of a regular tub, felt cramped. There is also an in room safe, coffee machine and mini bar.

Wifi is free in the lobby but if you want it in your room, you have to pay BRL $35 plus 10% service charge for a day. Or there's a 3 day package for BRL $88 plus 10% service fee.

Breakfast is also not included which is a shame since we paid $329 a night.

Beach chairs, umbrellas and towels are provided free of charge on the beach directly ahead of the Marriott.

There is also a small pool, bar and fitness center on the rooftop which overlooks Copacabana Beach.

If you need transportation to the airport, the Marriott contracts personal drivers a private car for BRL $125 one way.

Hotel is nice but we wished we got more for our money. Definitely not up to the high standards of a JW Marriott.

Stayed: April 2014
3  Thank Shelle702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_RJ, JW Marriott Rio de Janeiro at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Mrs Shelle702

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed our room, bed and the amenities.

Our team is always prepared and trained to better assist and make local indications for our guests to enjoy, from bars to restaurantes in order for you to feel part of the local culture.

As a JW Marriott Hotel we are always making changes to be able to keep up with the current trends. As you may have noticed we recently renovated our lobby area to provide a more interactive work and social are allowing our guests to work and relax while enjoying a more lively atmosphere. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to analyze possible future changes.

We would love to invite you to visit us once again and enjoy our great service and location.

Sincerely,

Lucas Leite
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews