We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great ammenities, terrible bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
Ranked #19 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great ammenities, terrible bed”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Everything about this hotel is above average---except for the horrible mattress in room 905. I've had better mattresses in Super 8 hotels. it was clearly old and has lost all of its firmness. The sheets and towels were amazing, as was the executive lounge. Great food, staff, and drinks.

Beware that room 905 is right next to the door most guests use for the executive lounge and as such it slams closed starting at 6am when breakfast opens, and slams throughout the day, making this room particularly noisy.

The roof pool and gym are awesome, as is the beach service .All of the staff are very attentive.

This is one of three hotels to stay at in Rio--the Sheraton and Sofitel being my two other choices.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMW757677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_RJ, Guest Relations Supervisor at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Mr. JMW757677,
First of all I would like thank you for allowing us to be part of your top picks while visiting the wonderful city of Rio de Janeiro. I am pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast selections and complimentary beach service. We have many options for rooms on your next visit and please rest assured that your feedback has been shared with the corresponding departement so that we can ensure our guest’s comfort.
We are kindly waiting to host you again in our property!
Sincerely-Jhesenia Guaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,119
    662
    214
    77
    47
See reviews for
270
633
153
666
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorado, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
233 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Staff was very pleasant and Concierge was super helpful but for what we paid for the room rate you'd think they would include at least internet. I'd never been to Rio so I didn't have anything to compare against but at 900 a night I expected at least some perks like free internet.

Hotel is clean, rooftop pool is great, but not worth more than 350.00 a night.

Room Tip: Try and go up as high as possible to avoid noise from the road and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hausenpepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_RJ, Guest Relations Supervisor at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Hausenpepper,
I am glad to know that you were able to visit us and enjoyed our team member’s pleasant service. Our concierge team is always prepared to provide with helpful information ensuring you make the best of your time in the wonderful city. Our hotel offers a range of prices for different seasons allowing our guests to enjoy our accommodations at different times of year. We invite you to visit us in the future and take advantage of our many rates that are also offered as packages to better attend our guest’s needs.
Sincerely-Jhesenia Guaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
248 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

4th time in the same hotel. Friendly staff especially behinde congiere desk (Rosane, Afonso and Carmen). It feels so good when they remember us. Location is perfect for the beach and hanging in the city. Junior suite has enough room and 206 is the best of those suites in which we ave stayed.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Asko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_RJ, Guest Relations Supervisor at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Mr. Asko M,
Firstly we would like to thank you for your loyalty to our JW Marriott Hotel, it is always a pleasure for us share our special and lovely location with our guests. I also would like personally thank you for providing our concierge team with your kind compliments as we all work to make our guest’s experience with us a memorable one.
Hope to see your soon here with us again!
Sincerely-Jhesenia Guaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
275 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed there since it was in Copacabana beach. The hotel has amazing views, with their pool on the roof, and a small bar that opens at night. The room were clean, and it was quiet. However, the day we were checking out we asked for extended stay, which this hotel denied us. We even offer to moved to a different room with our friends, who had a room for themselves. So, one room for 4 people for late check out is not much to ask, especially when you are paying top dollar for this hotel. We had to wait until 7 PM to leave for the airport, so having to be out by 11AM, is not what I would call good service. I am a Marriott member, and have used this late check out before. This was extremely disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_RJ, Guest Relations Supervisor at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear CaribeAzul1,
We appreciate you giving us the opportunity to host your visit to the wonderful city and for sharing with us your hotel experience. We are very happy to be perfectly located at the heart of Copacabana Beach being able to offer spectacular views. We apologize for not being able to offer you a late check-out as you may know that we fully depend on the day’s availability. Please rest assured that as a Marriott Rewards member we always due our best to prioritize your requests and our amenities are always available to you if a late check-out is not available. We hope that you provide us with a future opportunity to host your visit to the wonderful city so we can further provide you with the distinctive service that sets us apart.
Sincerely-Jhesenia Guaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The JW Marriott is a grand hotel, centrally located on Copacabana beach. We got a lovely upgrade to a suite, and had access to a well stocked Concierge lounge - although we felt it was too small for the busy periods such as breakfast time - when there would be no place to sit or stand.

The rooms are comfortable and the service was excellent. There isn't much in the way of family style activities in the hotel, but given that you are steps from the beach there was more than enough to keep the little ones busy!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roshposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_RJ, Guest Relations Supervisor at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Mr. Roshposh,
It is a pleasure to know that you and your family were able to enjoy your experience with us and our amenities. As you mentioned we are pleased to offer complimentary beach service with chairs, umbrellas and towels in the heart of Copacabana beach right in front of our beautiful hotel ensuring that our guest’s experiences are memorably special.
We hope to have another opportunity to host you and your family in our Hotel.
Sincerely-Jhesenia Guaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
140 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed here 2 nights for business. Excellent location, few steps from the beach. Good service provided by all staff members - friendly and helpful. Restaurant breakfast is very good, but the rooms are small. This hotel is not up to JW Marriott standards, it is more like an average Marriott hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emersonkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_RJ, Guest Relations Supervisor at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Mr. Emersonkz,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. As a JW Marriott Hotel we are making changes to be able to keep up with the current trends. As you may have noticed we recently renovated our lobby are to provide a more interactive work and social area allowing our guests to work and relax while enjoying a more lively atmosphere. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to analyze possible future changes
We would love to invite you to visit us once again and enjoy our great service and location.
Sincerely-Jhesenia Guaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Smack in the middle Copacabana beach and all of its glory. The 6th floor executive lounge has a sandwiches, appetizers, wine and beer for happy hour. What I liked the most however was the top floor pool and gym. The gym area is small, but the treadmills are positioned in front of large windows so you can run with a fantastic rooftop view of Rio, and the pool area is a quiet escape from city's craziness down below. I'm not sure why people are downgrading the rooms, I thought they were fine for a JW. Its not a Ritz. The bar man downstairs (he wears a fedora) was super helpful and gave us all kinds of great local tips on where to go and eat. I would recommend eating out in the many cafes nearby however, as the restaurant and eating area downstairs is overpriced and mediocre.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_RJ, Guest Relations Supervisor at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Jacqueline S,
It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed our very special location whish is aimed to provide you with memorable moments in our hotel including our pool area and gym area that is facing Copacabana Beach. Our team is always prepared and trained to better assist and make local indications for our guests to enjoy, from bars to restaurantes in order for you to feel part of the local culture.
We look forward to your next visit as we are sure that we have many more options to provide with on places to visit.
Sincerely-Jhesenia Guaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,359 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
3,213 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#14 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#20 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,853 reviews
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#15 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,306 reviews
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#38 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
Address: Avenida Atlantica, 2600 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22041-001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The extraordinary JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro hotel offers seamless commuting to the city's best attractions, including Sugarloaf Mountain, Christ the Redeemer and a variety of nightlife, restaurants and golf courses. The world-famous Copacabana beach is just steps away from our doors, and Rio de Janeiro-Galeão International Airport is less than 10 miles away. Outdoor enthusiasts will appreciate our proximity to exciting activities like rock climbing, surfing and sailing. Guest rooms at our JW Marriott feature elegant decor, plush bedding, marble bathrooms and LCD TVs with international cable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Rio De Janeiro
Marriott Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Marriott
JW Marriott Hotel Rio De Janeiro Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing