We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
Ranked #17 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Let me start by saying that yes - we are Platinum members. The Service was top notch. The Lounge had great snacks and drinks - available for free to us. The beach service was super good - of course a beer would be more expensive - but we'd gladly pay for the additional friendly service. We saved some money by eating great street side food. The location is very good. The rooms are very very good. I would recommend in a heartbeat. Prices are high but definitely a top Marriott location if you have still have some points and you don't know what to do with them. Much better experience than spending them in the US or Caribbean. We are going back in April.

Room Tip: High floors of course for the view. Close to the Exec Lounge because you will be spending some time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankTibackx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_RJ, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
As a Marriott Rewards Platinum Elite member, you have earned the recognition you so richly deserve. Therefore, we are very glad to have been able to meet your needs and expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel!
Yours sincerely,
Fernanda Doria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,116 - 1,122 of 2,241 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Great location across from the beach and close to dining options and the metro... But for a JW it lacks a lot... Mispriced the room rate (but still made us pay the higher rate!!!), little to no poolside service, told the sushi restaurant was booked for the night (only to walk in to check and be seated right away)... Plus sides were the beach service and staff-great!! And the breakfast staff!!!

Thank Jesse S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JW_Marriott_RJ, Director Of Operation at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your comment as an important source of feedback so we may continuously work to improve upon ourselves. We understand that there is a wide range of hotels to choose from when it comes to Rio de Janeiro and for this reason, we appreciate your choice.
Yours sincerely,
Fernanda Doria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed five nights in a suite. Great hotel, very safe, very comfortable. Awesome sushi restaurant. Abundant breakfast. Rio is such an amazing city. JW Marriott offers you quality service and concierge will help you get around the city. not cheap, but after all, it's Rio. nothing is cheap!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfllocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_RJ, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you have taken some great memories of our beloved city back home. We are grateful to you for choosing the JW Marriott Rio de Janeiro for your visit!
Yours sincerely,
Fernanda Doria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in a beach front suite. Room was excellent, staff was very friendly, executive lounge was great, and beach attendant very helpful. Two minute walk to the hotels beach chairs couldn't be beat. Only down side is if cruise ships port while you are there. Executive lounge was on the small side and couldn't handle the gold and platinums that flooded the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dc04983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

A luxurious Hotel in the perfect location with a marvelous breakfast and the most helpful of staff you could ever want. This is not the most expensive Hotel on the Strip and yet it offers a position and a level of service that would be second to none. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Insist on Ocean View - we stayed in room 1410.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Rio de Janeiro at any time of the year is spectacular, no wonder the Cariocas call it ´cidade maravillosa´- the marvellous city. This year it was decided we spend both Christmas and New year re-visiting this exciting place and meeting with all the family. We chose the Marriott hotel.

This lovely hotel is situated on the Avenida Atlantica, Copacabana, facing the world known and popular beach. The rooms are large, airy and extremely comfortable and if you face the sea not only will you enjoy a fantastic view but also be entertained from the early hours of the morning by bathers and all physical activities at the beach, the sand kept cool for players by constant watering.

If you normally celebrate on the 25th December Christmas in Brazil is not really for you. Here the big night is Christmas Eve when Father Christmas brings the presents. At the hotel it was an informal buffet dinner celebration with extensive families and children. In fact, for us it lacked the true spirit of Christmas as only brunch was served on the 25th..

New Year´s celebration however was most spectacular. To start with the already bubbly Copacabana and surroundings were filling up with the over two million, yes, two million people expected to enjoy the shows and firework display along the beach. In fact, the hotel warned the guests that if anyone intended leaving the premises after 5p.m. unless they wore an identification bracelet issued by management they would not be allowed to re-enter the premises.

Long before midnight the beach and promenade was one huge white and silver blowing picture- for almost everyone wore white. Once the firework display started the roar of shouting ande clapping with such frenezy was heard from the hotel giving more excitement to the fabulous artistic displays bursting on the skies forming different pictures in the sizzling colours of the magnificent Brazilian gems. A disco dance until the very early hours of the morning followed the unforgettable outside show.

The service throughout our stay at the hotel was faultless. Practically all staff spoke excellent English and were most professional, helpful and pleasant. Breakfast, as far as we were concerned, was the best meal of the day with marvelous fresh fruits, cereal, cold meat cuts, hot food, cakes and breads. The buffet meals however, were nothing exceptional when they were for two such important celebrations, Christmas and new Year. The Executive lounge offered peace for reading and seeing to the correspondence, enjoying a good caipirinha. The well furbished gym as well as the swimming pool were at the rooftop. Pity the umbrellas did not give sufficient shade and after our first swim during the early morning we could only swim again after the sun was going.

All in all our stay was extremely pleasant and we would do it again. A must for the New Year celebration!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_RJ, Director of Operation at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
we are extremelly happy to know that you have such good memories from your visit to Rio! We strive to offer the very best experiences to our guests and receive comments like this is extremely gratifying for us. We trully appreciate you sharing your thoughts.
Thank you!
Fernanda Doria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We requested an ocean view room. We expected a beautiful view. This converted condo building had a smallish window that did face the water but you had to get out of bed to see the view. What a disappointment, small room with tiny closit and bathroom. Very claustrophobic. Tiny shop. The only good thing was the food, the lobster ravioli in the restaurant was to die for. All meals were great. It was on the beach but not walking distance to shops tec. Took the free shuttle to H Stern to see the store and walk around Ipanima area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harrodsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#16 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,728 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#5 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
3,335 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#1 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#18 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,381 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#24 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,597 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#23 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro

Address: Avenida Atlantica, 2600 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22041-001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#9 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $191 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The extraordinary JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro hotel offers seamless commuting to the city's best attractions, including Sugarloaf Mountain, Christ the Redeemer and a variety of nightlife, restaurants and golf courses. The world-famous Copacabana beach is just steps away from our doors, and Rio de Janeiro-Galeão International Airport is less than 10 miles away. Outdoor enthusiasts will appreciate our proximity to exciting activities like rock climbing, surfing and sailing. Guest rooms at our JW Marriott feature elegant decor, plush bedding, marble bathrooms and LCD TVs with international cable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Rio De Janeiro
Marriott Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Marriott
JW Marriott Hotel Rio De Janeiro Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing