We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weird mix of good and terrible” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel
Ranked #126 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Weird mix of good and terrible”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

My room in this hotel was good - clean, with a really comfortable bed.

Botafogo is a great neighbourhood with fantastic food and quite safe to walk.

But I'm not sure what the point of having an apartment is if there is no cooking equipment. And tea bags with no kettle!

The internet is appallingly bad. I was here for work for a week and had to spend much of my time in the lobby as the signal only reached my room one night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleiton H, Manager at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing with us your thoughts, impressions and suggestions.
All opinions and questions are important to us and our staff to improve our services and offer quality to our guests. And that´s why I guarantee they can help us to make it better.
We wish all the best and hope to see you with us soon.
Best regards.

Mercure Botafogo Team.
Cleiton C Hermes
Manager Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    394
    175
    56
    29
See reviews for
246
148
56
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The quality of internet connection in that hotel is really terrible, awful, very slow. I was appointed for a video conference and I had to go outside the hotel and look for a cyber cafe to be able to connect and use Skype.

What is the point of having a good cooker, a microwave oven and a sink in the kitchen if there no way of using it, as there is no pans, spoons, forks, knives, etc?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleiton H, Manager at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing with us your thoughts, impressions and suggestions.
All opinions and questions are important to us and our staff to improve our services and offer quality to our guests. And that´s why I guarantee they can help us to make it better.
We wish all the best and hope to see you with us soon.
Best regards.

Mercure Botafogo Team.
Cleiton C Hermes
Manager Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Traffic is horrific in this area. 1 hour to get here form Santos Dumont Airport. Hotel is dated. Best thing about it was great bed, which is most important. Unfortunately, I am a business traveler and the internet was not functioning which made the entire stay dismal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Knuckles7600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleiton H, Manager at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing with us your thoughts, impressions and suggestions.
All opinions and questions are important to us and our staff to improve our services and offer quality to our guests. And that´s why I guarantee they can help us to make it better.
We wish all the best and hope to see you with us soon.
Best regards.

Mercure Botafogo Team.
Cleiton C Hermes
Manager Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have Mercure Botafogo as a base in Rio for my co-workers from the Netherlands to stay while working in a project in Rio, and I Also lived there with my family for 1 month, I may say that price is unbeatable for the excellent service and appartment rooms with that you get.

Room Tip: Try to get appartments at Tower 1 to get a view of the Christ.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleiton H, Manager at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing with us your thoughts, impressions and suggestions.
All opinions and questions are important to us and our staff to improve our services and offer quality to our guests. And that´s why I guarantee they can help us to make it better.
We wish all the best and hope to see you with us soon.
Best regards.

Mercure Botafogo Team.
Cleiton C Hermes
Manager Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Botafogo
Mercure Botafogo Mourisco
Mercure Botafogo Mourisco
#73 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Botafogo
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo
#44 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Botafogo
Novotel RJ Botafogo
Novotel RJ Botafogo
#13 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Botafogo
Real Hotel
Real Hotel
#247 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Botafogo
Zii Hotel Rio de Janeiro
Zii Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#150 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Botafogo
YOO2 Rio de Janeiro
YOO2 Rio de Janeiro
#25 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel

Property: Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel
Address: Rua Sorocaba 305, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22271-110, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Botafogo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#56 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel at home with true comfort and hospitality in a great location. You will be welcome at the Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo. The Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo hotel, between Rua Sao Clemente and Rua Voluntarios da Patria, is located in an area with many major national and international businesses, clinics and an important gastronomic hub. The hotel lies under the arms of Christ the Redeemer, within easy reach of the city center and metro. It is close to the Rio Sul and Botafogo Praia shopping centers and Unibanco cinema space. A few minutes from Copacabana beach, the Botanical Gardens, Lagoa and Santos Dumont Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Apartments Rio De Janeiro Botafogo Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Mercure Rio De Janeiro Botafogo Hotel Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing