We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DISAPPOINTED TRAVELER”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel
Ranked #133 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“DISAPPOINTED TRAVELER”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Traffic is horrific in this area. 1 hour to get here form Santos Dumont Airport. Hotel is dated. Best thing about it was great bed, which is most important. Unfortunately, I am a business traveler and the internet was not functioning which made the entire stay dismal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knuckles7600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleiton H, Manager at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing with us your thoughts, impressions and suggestions.
All opinions and questions are important to us and our staff to improve our services and offer quality to our guests. And that´s why I guarantee they can help us to make it better.
We wish all the best and hope to see you with us soon.
Best regards.

Mercure Botafogo Team.
Cleiton C Hermes
Manager Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    396
    175
    57
    29
See reviews for
247
148
56
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have Mercure Botafogo as a base in Rio for my co-workers from the Netherlands to stay while working in a project in Rio, and I Also lived there with my family for 1 month, I may say that price is unbeatable for the excellent service and appartment rooms with that you get.

Room Tip: Try to get appartments at Tower 1 to get a view of the Christ.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleiton H, Manager at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing with us your thoughts, impressions and suggestions.
All opinions and questions are important to us and our staff to improve our services and offer quality to our guests. And that´s why I guarantee they can help us to make it better.
We wish all the best and hope to see you with us soon.
Best regards.

Mercure Botafogo Team.
Cleiton C Hermes
Manager Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

First of all Rio is expensive, especially hotels and food. And even though I stayed only in this whole for 9 nights I get the impression that the overall quality of hotels and in general service sector is lower than what you would expect.
Secondly, it is the most fun city you will find anywhere.
Pros: you can get a room with a view of Christo. Nice big balconies. Good air-conditioning. Free internet ( it is slow). Front desk was nice.
Cons: My room was tiny but most other rooms also have a living area ( not sure what the price difference is), the blanket had large stains and strangely enough it was not covered with sheets which is probably why it looked so dirty, the carpet in the hallways is simply disgusting looking. The area is pretty central but if I did it again I would pay the difference and stay on the beach. The charm of Rio is really the beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aturkinnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleiton H, Manager at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing with us your thoughts, impressions and suggestions.
All opinions and questions are important to us and our staff to improve our services and offer quality to our guests. And that´s why I guarantee they can help us to make it better.
We wish all the best and hope to see you with us soon.
Best regards.

Mercure Botafogo Team.
Cleiton C Hermes
Manager Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Although I admittedly was not staying in luxury hotels (such as the Hilton) while in S America, I stayed at moderately prices hotels and that had been reviewed at TripAdvisor. Of all the hotels I stayed it, this was by far the best!

My room consisted of a suite, with a little kitchenette, and TVs in both the bedroom and living room. Unlike many hotels which provide no desks/tables and only 1 chair (often a wooden chair) to sit on, the living room had a lovely sofa plus a desk and a ergonomically designed desk-chair. Although I did not sample the pool or exercise room, they looked clean and inviting.

The hotel is not located terribly close to the beaches but cabs are very cheap in Rio. I had originally been staying in a rather depressing hotel near Copacabana which was much, much smaller and considerably more expensive. What a delightful change when I moved to the Mercure. I highly recommend this hotel.

[I'm not sure why this is called an apartment - other perhaps than for the fact that the rooms included a kitchenette. I thought maybe you didn't get housekeeping service but this was not the case. Every day, my room was cleaned, the bed made, etc.]

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSR_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleiton H, Manager at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing with us your thoughts, impressions and suggestions.
All opinions and questions are important to us and our staff to improve our services and offer quality to our guests. And that´s why I guarantee they can help us to make it better.
We wish all the best and hope to see you with us soon.
Best regards.

Mercure Botafogo Team.
Cleiton C Hermes
Manager Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Botafogo
Mercure Botafogo Mourisco
Mercure Botafogo Mourisco
#75 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Botafogo
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hot...
#46 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
Botafogo
Novotel RJ Botafogo
Novotel RJ Botafogo
#14 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Botafogo
Real Hotel
Real Hotel
#246 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Botafogo
Zii Hotel Rio de Janeiro
Zii Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#141 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Copacabana
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador ...
#115 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel

Property: Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel
Address: Rua Sorocaba 305, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22271-110, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Botafogo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#56 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel at home with true comfort and hospitality in a great location. You will be welcome at the Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo. The Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo hotel, between Rua Sao Clemente and Rua Voluntarios da Patria, is located in an area with many major national and international businesses, clinics and an important gastronomic hub. The hotel lies under the arms of Christ the Redeemer, within easy reach of the city center and metro. It is close to the Rio Sul and Botafogo Praia shopping centers and Unibanco cinema space. A few minutes from Copacabana beach, the Botanical Gardens, Lagoa and Santos Dumont Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Apartments Rio De Janeiro Botafogo Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Mercure Rio De Janeiro Botafogo Hotel Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing