We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aparthotel Adagio Rio de Janeiro Ipanema

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aparthotel Adagio Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Ranked #127 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Pros
Breakfast is really good with a nice variety each day (always lots of fresh fruit and pastries, hot entrees, meats and cheeses, etc)
Service - everyone was really nice and helpful
location - you can walk to ipanema beach or copacabana in less than 5 blocks
building - newer, modern building

Cons
rooms were a little small
pool is in terrible location (no view, stuck between two buildings) but who needs a pool when you have the beach

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melissa o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karinkr, General Manager at Aparthotel Adagio Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Melissa,

Thank you for your review. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will encourage our staff to improve the quality of service. I agree that the beach environment is much better!

Hope you will come back in the future.

Karin Krug
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    299
    133
    52
    26
See reviews for
256
119
37
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cabo Frio, RJ
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed in the Mercure Ipanema for a week on business. The hotel is situated about 2 blocks from the beach and within walking distance from restaurants and a good shopping area. The hotel itself is very nice for the price with a "kitchenette," complete with a two burner gas cook top, microwave, fridge, sink and coffee machine. The TV area has a small sofa and eating table with 2 chairs. There is a TV an adequate bedroom which offers a double closet. The shower has hot and cold water with plenty of pressure. Overall, it is a nice hotel in a very nice area. Seems to be safe even in the evenings and early mornings for a walk. The dinning area provides a good breakfast buffet at around $10.00 US.I found that odd as many hotels of this standard provide the breakfast FOC.
Again, the over all perception of the hotel and staff were very good. Enjoyed the stay. Photos on the website are very accurate. Business travel I normally do not bring one!

Room Tip: Check to see if they actually do offer breakfast in your deal. No clothes iron in the room so be aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karinkr, General Manager at Aparthotel Adagio Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear GS,

We very much appreciate your review about your stay at the Mercure Rio de Janeiro Ipanema. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback of our guests. Thank you for the room tip too.

Be welcome for a next stay!

Karin Krug
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I am very unsatisfied with the service of the Mercure Rio de Janeiro Ipanema hotel.
The elevators and corridors were smelling really badly, something like fresh puke.
I asked about it at the reception desk and I got no answer.
Worst than that my sunglasses Oakley disappeared, it was robbed I mean, from my room.
I presented a complain and they said that it was not possible because all the personal were very honest.
I insisted and then they said that the manager will contact me by email... After 3 weeks I did not received any mail or call... nothing.
I am still waiting.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leandrodimarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karinkr, General Manager at Aparthotel Adagio Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Leandro,

Thank you for your comment. I'm very surprised to learn about what happened. We would like to have the opportunity to resolve your case in a private way. Please contact our Front office manager by e-mail: h5217-fo@accor.com.br. Then, receive already my sincerest apologies.

Karin Krug
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Paderborn, Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

It is located very nice, in walking distance between Ipanema and Copacabana beaches, on a very circulated street. Expect some traffic noise during the day. The underground station is reachable in 5 minutes walk and a bus station is right outside the hotel.
The hotel actually offers apartments which is great for longer stays. There is a bedroom, and an open living with a small kitchen. You have a fridge and microwave and cooker. So you could reduce the costs associated with eating out every time in the many places available close by. Both the bedroom and living have LCD TVs with access to cable TV with many channels having double audio so you can switch the films and shows to their original English.
Breakfast is quite basic but it offers some fresh fruits.
Staff is friendly. I would go there again.

Room Tip: Get a room higher in the hotel to have less traffic noise and view to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Badrian23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karinkr, General Manager at Aparthotel Adagio Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Adrian,

Thank you very much for your review. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff.

Mercure RJ Ipanema Hotel will be happy to host you during your next trip in Rio.

Karin Krug
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

One could not do better on the location, when you consider that the city is Rio and the hotel is almost at the intersection between Copacabana and Ipanema beaches (within couple of minutes walk to either). There are shops, cafes, currency exchange facilities all within easy reach. And if you are lucky enough to be there on a Sunday, as we were, then you are within 5 minutes of the famous Gypsy flea market.

Although we did struggle with our communication using broken Spanish/Italian and English, there is no mistaking the helpfulness of the staff. Even the night staff, had their good humour switched on (we arrived on a very late flight). The front desk staff helped us out with directions, tour planning for the day and even negotiating with the taxis.

The rooms were decent and well equipped. Nothing spectacular. Breakfast was decent as well. Restaurant staff were happy to whip up special orders, as long as we could convey what we wanted.

It is a bit pricey for what you get, but given the city and the location and the fact that this was peak season - I think we could have done a lot worse.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiiTMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karinkr, General Manager at Aparthotel Adagio Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear MiiTMO,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Rio de Janeiro Ipanema. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Be always welcome!

Karin Krug
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

My fault as I went for the Mercure A1 Club points and didn't check TripAdvisor first. The hotel kindly organised a car to meet me at the airport. The typical taxi fare is 75 local, I was quoted 100 but the driver hassled me for 130 in the underground car park. Not a good start. See my photos. What a fiasco. What a dump. By great good fortune I rented a flat for a month round the corner and was able to regularly drop in and eventually see the manageress who authorised 4000 A1 points / $US120.00. More time and energy is spent not doing their job than doing it. This hotel relies on transients who don't follow through on complaints. If this is a franchise, I'm surprised that Mercure/Accor allow them to have the Mercure sign above the door.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 8002reverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador ...
#112 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#29 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Arpoador
Hotel Arpoador
#19 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Promenade Visconti
Promenade Visconti
#139 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Ipanema
Atlantis Copacabana
Atlantis Copacabana
#89 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#74 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Adagio Rio de Janeiro Ipanema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Adagio Rio de Janeiro Ipanema

Property: Aparthotel Adagio Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Address: Avenida Rainha Elizabeth da Belgica 440, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22081-042, Brazil (Formerly Mercure Apartments Rio De Janeiro Ipanema)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel Adagio Rio de Janeiro Ipanema 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with 63 apartments, located between the two most famous beaches in Brazil, Ipanema and Copacabana, and 8 kilometres from the centre of Rio. The hotel is only 25 kilometres from the international airport and the famous Wet and Wild fun park. The hotel features an unheated indoor swimming pool, a sauna, a business centre and a parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Priceline, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Aparthotel Adagio Rio de Janeiro Ipanema reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Apartments Rio De Janeiro Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Mercure Rio De Janeiro
Aparthotel Adagio Rio De Janeiro Ipanema Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing