We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“could be better..and NOISY!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Caipi Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caipi Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“could be better..and NOISY!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

i was here just for one night, then i escape! the location is good, in Lapa, where the night life is.
the receptionist are helpful.
the downside are: room not so clean, shower are small! 'breakfast` is really really poor with coffee and snacks, but not croissant, no bread, nothing of nothing!
and they play absurd loud music till 2 a.m.!!! didnt care if people want to sleep or need to sleep. they just stopped music from stereo at 2a.m... not respect at all!!!
room of 12 people with even noisy bed..just move and your bed start to make noisy..
i would never come back here! there are so many other hostel in rio...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco_Gip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlineWagner, Proprietário at Caipi Hostel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
HI, Marco!
I'm really sorry you had all this trouble during your stay.
First of all, we always ask to the guests to keep quiet after 11 PM and I'm going to ask what happened the night you stayed. We always praise that we like the party but people have differents schedules and they pay for a good night of sleep.
About breakfast, we warn people that is NOT included and we just serve some coffe and biscuits all day so people can feel like home.
About the beds, this is the first complain we receive towards the noise and we'll check what is the problem.
We thank you for your comments but we would really like if you could stay here for more time and give us the chance to host you the way you deserve. Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    92
    20
    9
    8
See reviews for
2
18
97
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Caipi hostel is located in the Lapa district in Rio de Janeiro. It is known as a good place to party. Although it is not my favorite neighbourhood in Rio de Janeiro, it is an excellent place to stay during the weekend, since partying here is the most crowded and busy in all of Rio.

The hostel is by far the most clean i have seen in Rio (and i have been in 4 hostels). Bathrooms are very good. The rooms are shared with 12 people if i remember correctly. Your property is very safe in the hostel, you have entry keys to the room. As i said further, staff is very, very friendly, although i must say that most people in RIo are, but still.

The only 2 bad points of this hostel were:
- The airconditioning: it's like an airplane engine. I myself didn't have that much trouble sleeping, but i must say this was helped by some amounts of alcohol.
- The bar is not crowded. I really like hostels were there is a lot of atmosphere during the evening and night. Since this is a startup hostel, they just need to work this out a bit further.

Thanks Caipi hostel for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stijn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Hostel in Rio
#50 of 762 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Discovery Hostel
#1 of 762 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Kariok Hostel
#66 of 762 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
El Misti Rooms
El Misti Rooms
#7 of 762 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#3 of 762 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Santa Teresa
Santa Tere Hostel
Santa Tere Hostel
#2 of 762 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caipi Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caipi Hostel

Property: Caipi Hostel
Address: Avenida Gomes Freire 373 | Lapa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-030, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 762 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caipi Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Things you should know before coming here:• This is a backpacker hostel and we praise the backpacker lifestyle. So, we chose to offer awesome facilities for free and a cheap price for the stay. All rooms are the same: 6 bunk beds (12 people), with spring matress, big individual drawer and bed light, wi-fi and security cards for each room. • We have air conditioning everywhere (in the rooms from 10pm to 10am) and a great common area with a happy hour bar, tv and a lounge area for smokers. We are really serious about having fun and sleeping. This means that after 11pm, the party must go on in the streets! Guests who do not respect this, will be invited to leave.• We don't have private rooms because we want you to meet new people and make friends. We also don’t have breakfast neither kitchen facilities because of some building issues. But food around here is really cheap.• We are in Lapa: a insane place with street parties, historical buildings, loads of bars and restaurants and amazing people from around the world; but it’s not a wealthy neighbourhood and you well see the real side of Rio, not just the postcard picture!• We’re not beside the beach, which means you’ll see more locals walking in the streets during the day, not only tourists. You can get there easily by bus (25min) or subway (20min); and what you spend to go there, you’ll save when you walk to the bars at night. • Remember: we only accept CASH! And the payment must be at the check-in. There are several ATMs on our street and the Police Central is in front of us. Read our terms and conditions too.• ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Caipi Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caipi Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing