We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Ranked #2 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This was our first (but certainly not last!) time in Rio and the Miramar was the absolute best welcome we could've had! We chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor's reviews and were not disappointed. The location is unbeatable - right in front of Copacabana beach and really close to Ipanema and Leblon. Confirming what other reviewers have said: the hotel is luxurious, the staff super friendly, the rooms amazingly comfortable with unforgettable views, the rooftop pool incredible with breathtaking 360º views of Rio, and the breakfast is absolutely scrumptious. For me, what really makes this hotel standout (apart from all of the above) are the little touches: a champagne welcome, the yummy choccies with the turndown service, the friendliness and efficiency of the staff in getting whatever you need, the very best quality of everything served at the breakfast buffet (from Pata Negra smoked ham to the delicious detox juice), the beach service... The last one was a huge plus! Not only does the hotel offer guests umbrellas and chairs, but they also bring you cold water, fruit and refreshing towels throughout the day.

Re some Rio tips, I'd definitely recommend trying the beaches in Ipanema and Leblon (within walking distance to the hotel). They're a bit quieter than Copacabana, with more space and a slightly more upscale vibe. On the beach, make sure you get some fresh coconut water, a cup of matte ice tea and the arab pasties. (Might seem odd, but it'll definitely hit the spot during a lazy beach day!) There are quite a few nice restaurants around the hotel, including the hotel's own, a typical Brazilian one just next door (serving a wonderful moqueca de peixe), as well as the more relaxed and varied ones along the beach. You should also try Zaza's Bistro in Ipanema - a quirky little spot and not touristy at all with great food and cocktails. Another must is a typical Brazilian rodízio and there's a popular place not too far from the hotel. Finally, do NOT leave any shopping to be done at the airport, or at least not after security! The prices are a rip off and there's not much variety at all. The cheapest and widest selection of Havaianas was actually in the shopping area of Morro da Urca (the first stop in the cable car to Sugarloaf Mountain), if you can believe it...

Regardless of what hotel you choose and what you do, just make sure you have a wonderful time in the Cidade Maravilhosa!!!

Room Tip: Rooms with ocean views are an absolute must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carlas_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Mrs Carla,
Thank You very much for your wonderful speech about out hotel and our city. Certainly, your words will help another people when they would like to choose a place to come during their holidays. You are right when you say about "little touches". We really worry about this touches. We hope to see you again! Once more, Thank You to choose Miramar hotel for your stay in Rio.
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,852
    408
    69
    15
    15
See reviews for
452
1,142
111
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Just had the best 2 night accommodation ever at the Miramar Hotel by Windsor.
As other guests have said, everything from the rooms, breakfast and wonderful staff make this a 5 star hotel.
Before moving to the Miramar we stayed at another rundown establishment down the road as part of a tour. When we moved here we thought we were in heaven.
Great location, fantastic rooftop pool, spectacular view, unbelievable breakfast and 1st class staff all make this the best hotel we have ever stayed in.
Don't hesitate in booking here for a memorable stay in Rio!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Mrs Sue,
Wonderful! I don't have enough words to say .."Thank You". We are very pride of our job. It's very important for us to see how you felt during your stay with us. We hope to see you again!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Had a pleasant stay here in May 2014. The location is fabulous with a superb view of the city from the pool. The staff are extremely courteous and friendly whilst the food is of a very good quality at the restaurants. However, the hotel is extremely expensive!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazy_k_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. Your comments help us to make our services better everyday. And of course also help too many people who would like to know about hotels in Rio. We hope to see you again!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

My first stay in Rio! This hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly. The swimming pool has an amazing view and the guys of the bar (Julio, Jorge, Rodrigo), are impecable! I surely recommend this hotel for vacations in Rio.
One note to the location: Great view of copacabana and quite near of Ipanema( 15m on foot)!

Helpful?
Thank Bruno M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Mr Bruno,
Thank you to choose Miramar hotel for your first stay in Rio. Also thank you for the praises to my swimming pool staff. They were very happy reading your kindly words. We hope to see you as soon as posible!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
121 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed in a front sea view room. It is really worth it, the view is great. The service of this hotel is exceptional, really live up to the five star rating. We had a bit of noise from the first room, after our inquiry for another room, we were allocated to a even better room. The staff are all friendly and helpful. We are frequent travelers and have stayed in numerous five star hotels around the world. This hotel is one of the few best ones, which we will always remember, because of the exceptionally nice staff. Whenever we ask for information, we received helpful directions or recommendations. The pool bar on the top of the build has wonderful view. We enjoyed our lunch and afternoon drinks there. Again, the staff offered good and friendly service.
We also had excellent experiences with the hotel restaurant. Like many other reviewer said, the breakfast is excellent with good, fresh and well prepared products, many types of fresh fruit and attentive staff. The dinner (we dined there twice) were also excellent with high quality cooking and very good service. The price is only slightly higher than normal touristic restaurants outside along the Copacabana beach. However, consider the nice ambience, good quality of food and service; it is worth the cost.

Room Tip: Sea front rooms on a higher floor are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globaltrotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Mr GlobalTrotte,
Thank you very much for your review! It's very important for us to know exactly how our guests felt after stayed with us. And of course, your words will help another people who would like to come to Rio City. Don't forget us, we hope to see you again!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed four nigts at the Miramar in the beginning of April. My executive superior room was really spacious, clean and with an excellent view over Copacabana. The staff is very attentive, service minded and of course speaks excellent English - it truly feels like a luxury hotel!

The rooftop pool and bar is really nice, albeit a bit noisy due to the traffic on Avenida Atlantica - but this is a minor issue.

And then there is the breakfast....This is clearly one of the best hotel breakfasts I have ever enjoyed, with a wide selection of high-quality foods and drinks, including real Champagne!

I can warmly recommend Miramar to anyone staying in Rio for a few nights and I think one will struggle to find any place with better value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Mr Randy,
Wonderful your review! Thank you very much for your kindly words about my hotel and my Staff. They say that we are doing our best to make our guest stay delighful as you felt during your stay here. We hope to see you again!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

From being greeted with chilled champagne at check-in, to finding chocolate eggs by our beds on Easter Eve, our whole experience of this exceptional hotel was outstanding.The dining room staff were attentive without being obtrusive and the quality and variety of food at breakfast was superb.The 16th floor rooftop pool overlooking Copacabana Beach was a bonus and sipping a cocktail with a club sandwich as the sunset over the sea will long remain a highlight of our memorable stay.Congratulations to all the staff from bell hops to Dining Room manager - your attention to your customers was exemplary.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a partial sea view as the Beach is quite a sight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 556Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Mr 556KIM,
It was a great pleasure to have you during Easter Eve. Me and my Staff would like to say "Thank You" for your kindly words about our hotel, services and us. We are very pride because we are seeing that our guests are very happy with our services, and that's our aim.
We hope to see you again!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#14 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,615 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
3,213 reviews
Jacarepaguá
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
#1 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#15 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,306 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#19 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,119 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#5 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramar Hotel by Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramar Hotel by Windsor

Property: Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Address: Avenida Atlantica, 3668, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#12 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Miramar Hotel by Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miramar Hotel by WindsorA new concept in hospitality in Rio de JaneiroLocated right in front of Copacabana Beach the Miramar Hotel is surrounded by attractions and in the middle of the electrifying atmosphere of Copacabana. Fast and easy access to the main tourist spots in Rio and to airports. Ipanema beach is only a few minutes’ walk awayThe new Miramar is for demanding guests. The hotel is decorated with noble materials and fixtures, like ecological wood (ecowood), Venetian cristal and fine marbles from different countries.The Miramar Hotel – offers 200 modern, stylish, luxurious rooms and suites.All rooms are equipped with Butler Service, Trussardi bed and bath linen and Nespresso Coffee Maker.Restaurant Sa, under direction of Chef Paulo Goes, contemporary cuisine and elegant decor. Panoramic terrace with beautiful view of Copacabana and complete fitness room with state of the art equipment Infinity edge pool, heated in winter.Pet Friendly, the Miramar Hotel welcomes small pets of up to 5kg and offers special VIP Pet Guest services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Prestigia, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Miramar Hotel by Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel By Windsor Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing