We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice for Rio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Ranked #3 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
160 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good Choice for Rio”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Location is just set back from the fort-end of Copacabana Beach. Very close to the action, but set back enough not to be noisy. The area is very safe these days - there are many police on patrol, and a temporary police station at the end of the road. The public areas are on the small side, though the ground floor reception and bar were not often crowded. The top floor terrace does get busy though, with fabulous views but only a small swimming pool. The bedroom was of a good size. The décor is neat but nothing special. What is special though is the attentive and friendly service from all members of staff - really the best we struck in Brazil. The same comment also applies to the restaurant breakfast, which was excellent with a wide choice of hot and cold dishes. We also had a very pleasant dinner there one evening, and this was of a rather better quality than most of the restaurant options nearby. The hotel has recently been refurbished, and is unlikely to disappoint, even if one feels that the TripAdvisor '#1 in Rio' rating may flatter it a little. WiFi is free and actually works. One small irritation was that when we tried to check out late on our last evening (we were due to leave early the next morning), we could only do so if we left a further credit card imprint - presumably in case we emptied the minibar overnight! That aside, warmly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Mr Barmag,

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest. Thanks for your kindly words about our hotel and services. Everyday our staff try to make something new for our guests. Most of all this new things come from the suggestions and critiques like yours. Now we are discussing how to make "check out" service better. Thanks again!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,839
    404
    69
    15
    15
See reviews for
450
1,134
108
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

I was very pleased with my stay at the Miramar Hotel, which is right across the street from Posto 5 in the middle of Copacabana Beach. The rooms are well-appointed and clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The rooftop swimming pool and bar is great, although it was quite crowded at times. Internet is complimentary (which was great), but you can only have one active device hooked to it and it was rather slow. Breakfast was lovely, although a bit crowded. My only real complaint was that the walls are a bit thin, so I can hear noise when the neighbors or housekeeping would move the furniture. I was a bit hesitant about Rio from a safety standpoint. The hotel felt very safe and convenient. It was walking distance to Ipanema and there was a couple of grocery stores nearby at Av. Nossa Senhora de Copacabana a block away. I would stay here again based on value for money.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank albertwchoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Albertwchoi,

Thank you very much for your reports regarding your recent stay at Miramar Hotel by Windsor!
We are glad that you have enjoyed the various aspects of our hotel, such as the varied breakfast, rooms, location and services.
Please, apologize us for the inconvenients noises caused by our Housekeeping. We assure you that we will take the necessary corrections and improvements.
We do appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back in Rio soon.

Sincerely,

José Luís Pilar
General Manager in Charge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Following a few days in Sao Paulo my son and I stayed the Miramar Hotel, Rio de Janeiro to relax after the hustle of the city. We couldn't have chosen a better hotel; its located on the Western end of Copacabana beech and was an excellent base to visit the usual sites. It's roof top bar gives great views along the beech to Sugar Loaf mountain and roof top views to the favella's that sit behind the modern city.
The service was excellent from everyone in the recently refurbished hotel, from the glass of champagne that greets you at check in to the doorman finding a taxi in the rain for the trip back to the airport.
We didn't eat in the restaurant but the buffet breakfast was excellent, again with excellent service.
The fear that Rio is a dangerous place was never felt but both being over 6 feet tall we don't tend to feel too threatened anyway but our taxi driver stressed that the crime rate has dropped dramatically over the last 4 years and the beech is safe, even late at night and there is a strong police presence about the whole city.
We'd both happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Inner roomss have no view other than into a small light well which can overlook other rooms. Not a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry-HXO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Jerry-HXO,

Thank you so much for choosing Miramar Hotel by Windsor as your hotel in Rio de Janeiro!Thank you also for your wonderful review about your recent stay with us!!
In fact, our location helps us a lot in our proposal to carry out the wishes of our guests. As we are situated very close to the majors tourist's attractions of our city and facing Copacabana Beach, everything becomes much easier...
Looking forward to welcoming you soon back at Miramar Hotel by Windsor.


Best regards,

José Luís Pilar
General Manager in Charge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

This is an old hotel newly renovated at Copacabana beach. There is a swimming pool and a bar at the rooftop. The view is amazing! We stayed at room 1509: large, with a very comfy kingsize bed, a Nespresso coffee maker and L'Occitane amenities. The food at the hotel restaurant is delicious. The kitchen is ran by Paulo Góes, a young but very talented chef. Don't miss the tangerine tiramisu ! I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cia2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear cia2travel,

We would like to thank you for choosing and recommending our hotel and also for registering your excellent impressions about our accommodations and services.
Our Chef, Paulo Goes, was greatly honored by your compliments.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon back at Miramar Hotel by Windsor!

Best regards,

José Luís Pilar
General Manager in Charge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Great property, great rooms, great service. Pool area a bit on the small side but fantastic view. Toiletries from L'Occitane. Restaurant high class, expensive but excellent. Best breakfast buffet I ever tasted.

We left Sheraton Barra early after a terrible experience, and were desperate to go somewhere in Rio were people were actually nice. After a quick decision based on trip advisor, we booked in Miramar by Windsor. Half the price of Sheraton Barra but from the moment we stepped in the lobby the difference was obvious. We got welcoming smiles, welcoming champagne, and were made to feel valued and special. This feeling lasted throughout our stay, and also when we came back a week later to pick up some bags which they were helpful enough to hold for us whilst travelling to Isla Grande. Smiles and caring attitude is in this place DNA.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Ms. Rebecka K,

We are very honoured by your review!
Thank you so much for the compliments to our staff and for recommending our services to other travellers. It is a great pleasure for all our staff to be reviewed with such beautiful words.
We are very pleased to see how much you have enjoyed our breakfast, with its speciality dishes prepared with such care, our rooms, toiletries and roof top pool, as much as you have enjoyed our services.
We hope to welcome you back soon, to enjoy a little more of our prime location and services.


Sincerely,

José Luís Pilar
General Manager in Charge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Only stayed one night but wish it could have been longer. Hotel is either new or newly refurbished. Facilities maintenance and cleanliness is very good. Lobby area is very nice - with complimentary champagne offered upon arrival. Buffet breakfast was very good with lots of choice. Room was very nice - very comfortable and good amenities. Bathroom was a little smaller than expected - some extra counter space, or at least a shelf under the vanity would have been helpful. The in-room internet was very reliable and very fast - thank you Miramar IT Department!!!

On the whole, all the staff were friendly and helpful, in particularly the bellmen - they were really great :) However, one of the Front Desk agents gave us some information which was either incorrect or misleading. Firstly it was to do with the shower facilities by the rooftop pool. As I had a very late flight out of Rio, but had to check out at midday, I was intending to spend the afternoon by the pool before leaving for the airport. So I asked about showering and changing facilities by the pool. He said there was a shower and restrooms up there, so yes, I would be able to do that. Well yes, there is a shower ..... but it isn't a private cubicle, there is no door and the glass around it is clear. As it's right by the exercise room and sauna, you would have no privacy whatsoever. I ended up having to get cleaned up and change in the restroom (one room) which was probably inconvenient for anyone else wanting to use the facilities during that time. Secondly, my friend asked about taxi fare to the local airport (SDU). We said SDU twice, but he kept telling us about a special deal from the international airport. Kept telling us that we had to go to the counter in the airport to buy the ticket first to get the special deal. Evidently he wasn't listening as we repeated, not the international airport, we mean SDU. And even so, why waste our time telling us about a special deal from GIG to the hotel when we were already in the hotel. Once he understood we were talking about SDU, he then worried her by telling her that her flight to Sao Paulo would land at a different terminal and she would need to take a shuttle to the international terminal in SP. Which turned out not to be the case - all she had to go was go up one level and walk 5 mins to the check in desk.

My only other observation is that all hotels I've been to in South America seem to combine the Front Desk with Concierge Desk, which can make for a very long wait to talk to someone if all the staff are tied up with Concierge questions.

But on the whole, this is a great hotel and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pink_Passport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Pink_Passport,

We would like to thank you for choosing and recommending the Miramar Hotel by Windsor.
We are really glad to know that our service, room, breakfast and free wifi internet connection were up to your expectations!
Please, apologize us for the inconvenience we caused with the informations at the Front Desk - I will talk to our staff in order to this kind of things do not happen again.
I wish you can come here once more and stay much longer next time. It will be a pleasure to see you soon!

Sincerely,

José Luís Pilar
General Manager in Charge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My son and I stayed here for four nights and really enjoyed it. This hotel absolutely deserves it's #1 rating since it has all excellent qualities. The staff is fantastic and so attentive to your needs right from check-in and all thru your stay. i want to say a very special thank you to Concierge - David Dassatti - who went out of his way to help us plan a visit to Corcovado when all arranged tours were booked. Thanks to him we were able to travel around Rio safely and confidently.

The breakfast is magnificent with an enormous selection of items - pretty much anything you might wish for and they will even cook your eggs to order. The restaurant staff is also so professional.

The roof top pool has a beautiful view of the entire Copacabana beach and the water temperature of the pool is just perfect for a relaxing swim.

The location is also very convenient since it's more towards the southern end of Copacabana, we were able to easily walk to Ipanema beach as well.

Many street vendors open stalls in the middle island of Av. Atlantica just opposite the hotel and you can find some bargains here each evening.

Room Tip: Get a room on as high a floor as possible and towards the beach end of the hotel for the best views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Mr. Kevin M,

We are very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel!
Your compliments were transmitted to David - Concierge/Front Desk - and he was very excited about it! We will also be informing all the Miramar team about your positive observations to motivate them even further.
We are still glad that you were pleased with the pool on the roof top, the breakfast and, of course, our attentive staff.
We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your son again very soon!

Warm regards from Rio,

José Luís Pilar
General Manager in Charge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#13 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,590 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#4 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,191 reviews
Jacarepaguá
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
#1 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fashion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fa...
#5 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#6 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Copacabana
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hote...
#15 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramar Hotel by Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramar Hotel by Windsor

Property: Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Address: Avenida Atlantica, 3668, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#9 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Miramar Hotel by Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miramar Hotel by WindsorA new concept in hospitality in Rio de JaneiroLocated right in front of Copacabana Beach the Miramar Hotel is surrounded by attractions and in the middle of the electrifying atmosphere of Copacabana. Fast and easy access to the main tourist spots in Rio and to airports. Ipanema beach is only a few minutes’ walk awayThe new Miramar is for demanding guests. The hotel is decorated with noble materials and fixtures, like ecological wood (ecowood), Venetian cristal and fine marbles from different countries.The Miramar Hotel – offers 200 modern, stylish, luxurious rooms and suites.All rooms are equipped with Butler Service, Trussardi bed and bath linen and Nespresso Coffee Maker.Restaurant Sa, under direction of Chef Paulo Goes, contemporary cuisine and elegant decor. Panoramic terrace with beautiful view of Copacabana and complete fitness room with state of the art equipment Infinity edge pool, heated in winter.Pet Friendly, the Miramar Hotel welcomes small pets of up to 5kg and offers special VIP Pet Guest services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Miramar Hotel by Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel By Windsor Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing