We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Nearby Hotels
$217
$194
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$43
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Windsor Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$109
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Windsor Barra(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$113
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Orla Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$87
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rio Othon Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Copacabana Rio Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Atlantis Copacabana(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$59
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
$565
$546
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Brisa Barra Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$92
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,643)
Filter reviews
2,643 results
Traveler rating
2,079
456
75
17
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,079
456
75
17
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglass of champagnerooftop poolcopacabana beachomelette stationbreakfast buffetbeach serviceturn down servicechairs and umbrellasexcellent hotelsugarloaf mountainwould highly recommend this hotelbreakfast was amazingupon checkocean viewearly checkour honeymoonhotel guests
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,131 - 1,136 of 2,643 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel was a very pleasant surprise not so much for the quality of the accomodation, which was of the expected standard for its 4 star rating, but for the quality of the customer service. Staff were polite and helpful at all times.
We arrived in Rio on a very early flight and got to the hotel at 7 am expecting to drop our luggage off. We were given a room almost immediately and allowed a late (2pm) check out on the day we left.
The hotel's ocean front location is a bonus as is the rooftop swimming pool with stunning views over Copacabana beach. We watched the sunset over drinks up there.
The buffet breakfast was good. I'd definitely recommend this hotel and would happily return there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R, Gerente at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Mrs Danexa,

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest. Always when its possible we use to give early check in or late check out for our guests. Why do our guests have to wait If we have rooms available? Of course we can not do it all the time, but If we can... . Thanls a lot for your comments, they help us in many ways.
We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely Yours,

William F. Rodrigues
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Miramar is a pleasant surprise, brand new, great location, newly remodeled, but...they only forgot to have enough hot water for all rooms.
I stayed in a luxury room the 8/17-18 weekend and couldn't have a hot shower on Saturday. What annoyed me most was that I didn't even get a "we're sorry" after a few complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luciano p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R, Gerente at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Mr Luciano P,

I read your comments here in the Trip Advisor and also in our "Guest Comments" that you sent to us and I really answered you since last monday. The trouble with the hot water happened in one of our equipaments. Not the whole building had this situation, It happened in the lowest floors. The problem was not "enought water", but in the way we distribute inside the building. We had already fixed it. We do have about 18.000 l of hotwater. But the major problem was not that. The biggest problem was the way you said our staff take care with this situation. I had already talk to them about what happened with you. And I would like to say "sorry" for this inconvenience and I'm sure that if you give us a chance to repair this situation staying once more with us you will be happy with our services.
Anyway, Thanks for your comments. They always help to develop our services.

Sincerely Yours,

William F. Rodrigues
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I had a great time in Rio with my boyfriend staying at this hotel for a weekend.Outstanding service, good breakfast, nice, clean, new, comfortable, breathtaking views from the swimming pool roof terrace.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JakelineN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R, Gerente at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Mrs Jakeline N,

Thanks for your comments! It was a great pleasure to have you in our hotel. Your comments will help us to develop our services. We hope to see you soon.
Sincerely Yours,

William F. Rodrigues
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Guys keep trying to have a better service... New hotel, okay, but come on, number 1 in Tripadvisor?? Food was bellow average, small rooms and service was really basic. From good morning to good evening, this is the maximum staff can say in english. Poor for someone expecting a little bit more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leugim33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R, Gerente at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013
Google Translation

Prezado Sr Leugim

Agradecemos seus comentários a respeito do nosso hotel, os quais sempre nos auxiliam a melhorar nossos serviços e, eventualmente, corrigir nossas falhas. Tentei localizar o apartamento que o Sr ficou hospedado no Miramar, todavia, com os nomes acima, foi em vão. Um dos diferenciais deste hotel é justamente o amplo tamanho dos quartos. Quanto a comida esta é coordenada pelo Chef Paulo Góes que está recebendo a cópia desse seu comentário para sua avaliação. O que mais nos estranhou foi o fato dos idiomas, pois, na Recepção todos os recepcionistas falam, pelo menos, 3 idiomas e o inglês é um dos mais fluentes. Além disso, maitres, Supervisores de Governança entre outros profissionais também são qualificados em inglês. Iremos buscar onde podemos ter falhado nesse ítem de referência.
Uma vez mais, agradeço por sua opinião, pois, essa assim como todas as outras registradas aqui no Trip Advisor nos motivam a buscar sempre melhorar nossos serviços.
Atenciosamente,

William F. Rodrigues
Gerente Geral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I had a problem choosing from the Copacabana Palace, Porto Bay, JW Marriot and Cezar Park by Sofitel in Ipanema among many other options in Rio. Hotels here are expensive but do not have the quality we know in other countries.

I have been unhappy lately with hotels in Rio.

Copacabana Palace Hotel although is great but as an old hotel, it constantly has noisy repairs going on ( this week at the swimming pools where I was having lunch ) or due to its location it very often has gigantic structures set up for events in front of the hotel from international music shows to Parades.

Hotel Portobay's corner room has a great view but the bathroom is very very aged and small.

Cezar Park in Ipanema turned me off since the third attempt to book by phone - very rude and rigid people and my bad memories of Rio Sofitel and Cezar park came back to me......I forgot how the French Sofitel group never teach their staff how to treat the guests well in Brazil. ( could be no limit of authority/).

I took a risk with Windsor Miramar I never heard of ... It turned out to be a spectacular hotel!

I am VERY happy with the hotel. I had an Executive Ocean View on the 11th floor but got an upgraded to a larger room on the 9th Floor with 2 windows - one large one from the Floor to the Ceiling to take the advantage of the Ocean view.

It is a small hotel with small lobby unlike its big brother at Windsor Atlantica which I like.
I do not like to be pushed into breakfast room with crowed.

The lobby is small but elegant . The staff all were taught to find solutions and help the guests.

The service is 5 stars...and I am very fussy person.... I even purposely pushed them asking for absurd things such as asking them to serve their restaurant meal on the fabulous rooftop pool and they did and the service was very fast.

The staff are great and helpful at all time.

The hotel is only 2 months old so all the towels, bedsheets are absolutely fluffy and new.

All rooms had slippers, bathrobe and L'Occitane amenity and full collections of shaving sets, dental kits without having to ask housekeepers for them. For once. I did forget the dental kit!
The bathroom is very roomy with plenty of lights and has a large jacuzzi tub larger than most hotels.

There are very good lightings and full length mirror for dressing in the room.

The LOCATION is great and safe. Especially if you like to do Standup Paddle, the sea is more protected.

As I normally stayed at the other side of the beach at the Copacabana Palace, Porto Bay, this side captured the spectacular views of sunrise on The Sugar Loaf, the whole Copacabana beach, as well as the view of the Ipanema's Two Brothers Rocks and the Pedra de Gavea from the Pool roof top.

I highly recommend to try to have lunch or a happy hour on the roof top even if you are on a business trip and no time for a pool.

BREAKFAST QUALITY is wonderful - high quality products, fresh,not mess up buffet, plenty and very tasty with great waiters to serve you.

RESTAURANT meal is superb ! Of course, their Chef is a chef from already well known restaurants in Brazil. Something you do not get in most hotel restaurant in Brazil. People do not normally like to have dinner in hotels. But for this hotel the food is very good.

If you are a frequent visitor to Rio, I will highly recommend Miramar by Windsor.

In my opinion, it is the best hotel and I will certainly return again next month.

Room Tip: Try to have lunch on the roof top pool bar. They do serve from the menu. Also all rooms has large floor to ceiling window but some rooms has 2 windows ( more lights). If you can, get a larger room, executive room as the simple rooms are not very large. The bathrooms are very large , new and comfortable.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TWWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R, Gerente at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013
Google Translation

Prezado Sr TWWS,

Realmente, ficamos sem palavras para lhe dizer o quanto estamos gratos pelos seus comentários. É extremamente gratificante saber o quanto o Sr ficou satisfeito com nossos produtos e serviços. Tenha a certeza que nós continuaremos nos empenhando a cada dia para manter essa credibilidade com todos os nossos clientes.
Aguardamos com ansiedade a sua volta.
Atenciosamente,
William F. Rodrigues
Gerente Geral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews