We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taiping

Taiping
Ranked #1,341 of 13,575 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Botafogo
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Good place to eat before heading bck to your apparent or hotel. Our waiter Alex was very fluent in English and very helpful. The food is very good although the desserts section wasn't as full as I thought it could have been at the time of our visit (after 8pm)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    52
    32
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very tasty buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Im not really into chinese food but the buffet from Taiping tasted very good. Hope to come back any time. Highly recommended.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luiz Henrique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Asian food in shopping mall”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

To be in a shopping mall this food was very good, we shared a big yakisoba and it was good for two person, no doubt! I would go here again when in Rio Sul after a long day there!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
100 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good with the wife, but with the kids...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

This is a mall Chinese / Japanese restaurant buffet were food and price are Ok, but not great. We went there last night, as we were waiting for our kids(4 and 6) in a birthday party in the mall, as we waited we decided for the all you can eat buffet. We had sushi, noodles, spring rolls, pork and misso soup. The waiter do not help you very much, there are items included in the all you can eat, that are not in the buffet and you have to order them separately, but they won't tell you that, assuming you already know it? Well, we ordered hot Philadelphia rolls, shrimp on a stick and beef steak. The steak was the best part of the meal. It was a little steak, but I had to pick up the kids at the party and decided to eat it when I come back. When I returned, my kids ate it, liked it and where still hungry, wanted more. I asked the waiter if I ordered another steak for the kids, if it would be part of the all you can eat or if would be charged a part. He went to talk to the manager, who decided to charge by the kilo, which was Ok, and then, it came a big steak that they could not finish! So, next time we are looking for a place to go with the kids, we'll be going to somewhere else.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mistereletronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
201 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Chinese fast-food-buffet!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

Taiping is located in the newest part of Rio Sul shopping on the ground floor. We were there in daytime on a weekday and it was very quiet there, but so was the other new restaurants closeby. Service was ok and the food was ok also. They have kilo or buffet-options and buffet also include dessert. For lunch I recommend kilo-price unless you eat a lot. The barbecue-ribs was good and also beef and onion in a brown sauce of some kind. Off course they have noodles, springrolls and also the fried banana for dessert. No problem to find something to like. Price was also ok.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KarlXII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taiping also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Taiping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing