We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great taste of Mexico!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Azteka Bistro Rio

Azteka Bistro Rio
Ranked #453 of 13,629 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $24
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Ipanema
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great taste of Mexico!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Azteka is a fantastic pit stop for dinner. Authentic Mexican food at a great price. Service is friendly and attentive.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thebluenothing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    80
    28
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Mexican, amazing service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late at night looking for a drink and a small bite to eat. This joint makes a killer Caipirinha, the best we've tasted so far in Rio. Apparently that's down to their expensive and high quality cachaca.Their black bean starter is absolutely delicious and the nachos are light crispy and salty. We decided to go back the next night for dinner and sampled their pork tacos (we tried both) and organic chicken quesadilla - we were surprised at how fast we ate! The staff are friendly and very helpful, offering to bring out a new table and chairs to squeeze us in on a busy night. Food arrived efficiently and the owner in particular was attentive to our needs, i.e. ordering more food. Would recommend to others.

Helpful?
Thank Bridget J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“So good, I smuggled some onto my flight home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

The Rango Burrito is just amazing, and Azteka is a fantastic spot for a quick lunch or take-away! My friend and I visited Azteka Bistro 4 times in our 1 week visit and we bought in doubles ever time so we could eat another burrito again later. A small shop (seating est.14 people) but such an unexpected find!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LifeisBeautiful24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Almost all organic, tasty Northern Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Ate here for a late lunch and had a torta, drinks, chips and guacamole, and a burrito. We enjoyed the food and the service. The food is not all organic, but most is - i ate pork and that was not, but the limes, lettuce, chicken, beef, corn, and other ingredients are. The prices are slightly high and it is not a place for a fancy meal,just lunch. The staff explained everything in English and were quite pleasant. For two cost was 89 reals, or about 18€\person

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ellemindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved the food and the feel!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We visited this place on our last day! Staff speaks english and is very friendly and knows the area well. They greeted us straight away and for me who is a vegeterain and a good luck with choice, they were able to make everything without pineapple. I was never a abig fan of MeXICXAN food, this place changes your mind, Loved the tortilla,to the buritos or the drinks they offered!!! They offered us complimentry internet and the place has a vibe with open door ......loved it !!! Very relaxing!!! and the staff knew a lot from tourism point of view!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roshni7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azteka Bistro Rio also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Azteka Bistro Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing