We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neither good nor bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sesc Copacabana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rio de Janeiro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Sesc Copacabana
Save
You added Hotel Sesc Copacabana to your Saves list
Ranked #12 of 274 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Neither good nor bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

After a disastrous experience at Rondovia, our travel agent (who was fortunately travelling with us) managed a saving move to SESC for our two remaining nights in Rio. Location is good, in a pretty quiet street near Copacabana beach and various nice bars and restaurants. My room was ok, nothing special to highlight, but at least no issue. Like most places I stayed in Brazil, breakfast buffet was just fine. While wifi was not working well, the big issue in his hotel is about elevators. Only two lifts for such a high-rise building made me wait sometimes up to ten minutes !

I can’t really understand how the place is so highly rated among all Rio’s hotels (well, it basically shows how average is the accommodation offer around...) but it’s all in all not a bad place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AuldCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    330
    49
    4
    0
See reviews for
268
174
29
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Great location near Copacabana, but unfriendly staff, wifi and elevator (waiting time sometimes more than 10 minutes, guests walk in the staircase because they have enough) do not work properly, mold in the shower, totally overpriced

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetoWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We recently had a family reunion in Rio de Janeiro. There were 8 of us and we stayed at the SESC and it was just perfect! It is right in the heart of this famous area of Rio, just a block from the beach and surrounded by restaurants, shops, coffee shops, supermarket close by, etc. Staff were friendly, informative and helpful. The hotel is not new, but impeccably clean and well maintained. Breakfast is included and they offer a varied buffet of fresh fruit, juices, eggs and sausage, coffee, tea, cereals and the obligatory (and delicious!) Brazilian cakes and breads. Rio is expensive in terms of accommodation, but this was very affordable and could not have been better located. Completely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I loved this location hotel. Is very near from the beach and from the bus stop which takes you to the main touristic attractions. The apartments are comfortable and has a fair price if you are comparing to the most hotels in this city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ligyabsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

This hotel is deemed to be a three star hotel in Brazil, but would be the equivalent of a two star hotel in North America. The best thing related to the hotel is its location. It is in an excellent location. Right in the middle of Copacabana, but in a quiet street. Steps from the beach and the busy N.S. de Copabana Street, where you can get buses going everywhere in Rio and where taxis abound. The subway station is also not very far, just a few blocks away.

The breakfast is acceptable, but they serve the same things every morning (scrambled eggs, pork sausages in tomato sauce, biscuits, papaya, banana, melon, cold cuts, cheese, bread, cake and juices.

The front desk is inflexible as to the check-in time: nobody, but absolutely nobody can check-in before 2:00 p.m. Also there is not much room behind the desk to leave your luggage and come back to check-in later. When they run out of run behind the desk, they will not even store your luggage. So, people linger around, sometimes for hours waiting for 2:00 p.m. Since there are only 2 people checking people in and payment must be upfront at checking-in, the process can take quite a while. A good number of people (some with the luggage they could not store) are lined up up to one hour until they get to be checked in. Since I arrived earlier in the morning I was lucky enough to be able to store my suitcase behind the desk and then go out. Even though I waited to check in 45 minutes after 2:00 p.m., I still had to line up to do so.
By the way, the check out can also take time as if you check out early in the morning, there will be only one person at the desk.

As for the rooms, they are a nice good size with large bathrooms. There are also two internet stations available free to the guests on the third floor where the breakfast is served.

Be warned that sometimes you will have to wait for the elevators, even though there are two of them, as the building also has facilities for members of the SESC organisation and general public making the elevators very busy.

Would I stay there again? Well, since there are discounts for seniors, the price is right, if you are a senior as you would pay the same as the members of the SESC organisation, otherwise, if I were paying the price for the general public, I might do some more research and try to find somewhere else to stay. So, are you a senior citizen? Then, you could not beat the price for the location and value you will get in Rio for similar accommodation!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Capisce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
#48 of 274 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 1,841 reviews
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
#26 of 274 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 274 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Nossa Senhora da Boa Viage...
#174 of 274 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#14 of 274 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,828 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#4 of 274 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 2,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sesc Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sesc Copacabana

Property: Hotel Sesc Copacabana
Address: Rua Domingos Ferreira 160, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22050-012, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#12 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Rio de Janeiro's most famous beach, the Sesc Copacabana Hotel has 120 rooms (standard and suite), all modernized, with LCD TV, air-conditioning, minibar and safe. It's a great choice for your trip for vacation or business. The hotel in Copacabana also has rooms equipped for events, accommodating up to 60 people. The guest can also enjoy their stay at the hotel to attend theatrical performances, dance and film at Espaco Sesc or participate in tours of the main sights of Rio organized by the Tour Team of the Sesc Rio, at attractive prices. Comfort and safety a few yards from the beach, at a price you can afford. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Sesc Copacabana Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing