We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bossa in Rio Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2012

This hostel is in a great location in Santa Teresa - its effectively lapa without the danger and quiet when you get back from going out. It is a bit of a climb but you get used to it and they always have a jug of water waiting for you! The breakfast is nice - usual thing for brazil: toast, cheese, ham, fruit etc plus toastie machine. The rooms are spacious and clean (white sheets and towels show how clean it is!) the staff were very helpful and told us loads of things to do, booked cabs, organised tours, airport transfers. All in all we really enjoyed our stay (we were there for 5 nights so really got a feel for it) and would highly recommend it especially for ease of going out in lapa. Also buses are near + tube is 15 min walk at most. They don't have a kitchen for guests but there are plenty of cheap places to eat in the area which usually have some form of live music

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 411 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2012

Okay, you have to carry your suitcases up that hill (or find someone to carry them for you), but then... The most beautiful reward is waiting for you. Bossa in Rio is the best hostel I ever stayed in although I'm not sure if I should really call it a hostel. It has dorms, of course, but also some private rooms for a bit more luxury. The owners are well-travelled people and created a place that's (in my opinion) perfect for those who somehow grew out of sleeping in dorms but are not ready for a real hotel yet. There's always someone with a guitar on the terrace, and it's up to you if you sing along or muse quietly over your caipirinha. That's the thing that makes this place so special.
We stayed in a 4-bed-dorm the first night and then treated ourselves to the Master Suite for three nights - great! King size bed and extra bed, lovely bathroom, private balcony with great view, there's nothing more you could wish for.
The staff are so very helpful and friendly, it's difficult to put it in words. Already the E-Mail-communication with them before we finally got there was supernice. We had the feeling we were expected - which we were because the people of Bossa in Rio arranged airport transportation for us as well.
Needless to say that the hostel was more than just clean, the breakfast good (sandwich maker, toaster, ham, cheese, fresh fruit, juice, coffee) but what I enjoyed the most were the details like the coffee table books about Rio and Brazil in the common room and the bossa nova record sheets in the frames on the wall. Because everything is so nicely done the guests also take care for the place.
Santa Teresa is a lovely neighbourhood, and to Lapa it's only a 10 minutes walk. Take a taxi back, that feels safer. You'll always meet people who could be your friends at home to chat with or explore the City. Great experience, thanks a lot!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RegineaufReisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

This is my first review of a hostel, so my opinions might be a bit biased due to the fact I am not really into hostelling culture. As a general rule, though, I endorse previous reviews, this is a great place to stay. it is clean, located in an interesting neighborhood, fun, has a good breakfast and a friendly staff.

Its' location is in the elegant Santa Teresa hills, which are calm and relatively isolated but pretty central, near Santos Dumont airport and the bohemian Lapa neighborhood. That said, it is interesting to highlight the fact that Santa Teresa is scarcely served by public transport - during my stay, I had to go down the hills to Riachuelo St., in Lapa, to catch buses to other important parts of the city, such as the lofty Southern neighborhoods; taxis, for their part, are non-existent in Santa Teresa streets (some actually refuse to take you up there, as happened to a fellow guest), you have to ask for the reception to call for one.
If you would rather walk, no worries, but bear in mind the steepness of the hill might be a bit demanding for your knees. By the way, since the hostel itself is a massive house built in the hills, and therefore has lots of stairs between the front gates and the rooms, I do not recommend it to the elderly or the disabled, in spite of the ramps the hostel has built - it is just too steep.

Rooms are clean and comfortable, with air conditioning and good lockers available. Mine had a slightly bad odor, though, which seemed to be caused by low air circulation. However, this did not really hindered sleep quality, which was excellent for me. I did not really like the showers, they do not offer sufficient space to hang out towels or clean clothes - most guests had to go to their rooms to get changed, and, since rooms cannot be locked, this could cause embarrassing situations. But it is a hostel, after all, so I guess this is part of the deal.

Social areas are great. I highlight the pleasant environment in external areas - especially the ones in the first and in the top floors - and the pool table. These contexts are quite conducive to socializing with other guests, as happens in most - but not all - hostels. Staff makes a nightlife calendar and I could easily find a companion to go to samba parties in Lapa, down the hill.

Service and staff were very good, too. Members were friendly and courteous, and willing to help me and other tourists without pushing for expensive tours. Finally, the hostel offered a good breakfast, an efficient wi-fi network and computers (which are only two, though - in peak season, there will be waiting lines, probably).

All in all, Bossa in Rio is an excellent hostel with great value for money.

Room Tip: top floor rooms are close to social areas. if you have trouble sleeping, you'd rather avoid them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pedblan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed in Rio de Janeiro in this beautifull hostel we stayed in a dorm and as well in a double room with a perfect view and balcony over Rio. Everything is beautifull taken care off and has nice touches. The staff is perfect, very warm welcome and service. Breakfast is okay, Lapa is a ten minute walk away.The atmosphere is good, people will cary your suitcase up the stairs. I would recommend this hostel to everyone I know.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josetravel41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

This place is incredible! I have nothing bad to say about it. The owners and staff are very friendly, they even have a refreshing glass of cold water ready for you after the hike up the hill. We were in a dorm for Carnaval, which was very clean, had lockers for everyone, a light and a socket by each bed. When we returned we had a private room which could have been a boutique hotel room. The facilities are good too. They have a patio lounge area, good computers, a bar (with good alcohol) and a pool table. You will not regret staying here!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

The staff here are fantastic - so friendly and always ready to help with whatever query you have. A big "Bom Dia" in the morning was a nice start to the day as well. They all spoke perfect English and always made sure everything in our room was ok and we were enjoying our stay.

The rooms were spacious and clean with lovely QUIET air-conditioner. The beds and pillows are new and very comfy. The wifi works fine in the room. The only complaint I would have about the room is there is a big window at the top of the door which lets in the very bright hallway light whenever someone walks past.

Breakfast was good - toasted sandwich maker for ham & cheese sandwiches, fresh juice and fruit, tea, coffee, cereal and milk.

The location is just "ok" it's up a big hill in the back streets of Lapa/Santa Teresa. However being so far away from everything means it's quiet. There aren't any restaurants close, however the staff are very happy to call up for some take-out for you.

There is a common area with tables and chairs, a small pool table and most importantly a bar that is open from 4pm-10pm. They staff make great Caperinhas! Don't be put off if you are looking for a quiet hostel - the bar is civilised and they the music on low volume. Just a nice place to chill out and meet other people.

If we ever came back to Rio - we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid the room on the bottom floor next to reception, it's quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelli131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

My girlfriend stayed here having struggled to find a double room anywhere in Rio and what a surprise. This hostel was the best of our trip so far, amazingly clean, huge light filled rooms with beautiful finishes it was more like a B&B. We ended up staying longer than we had planned because it was such good value and so close to funky Lapa and tasty restaurants in
Santa Teresa.

The staff are incredibly helpful and have info on what's happening around Rio and they serve breakfast on the beautiful patio looking out over the other historic mansions of Santa Teresa.

Room Tip: The double rooms are well worth the extra Rias!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Rio Forest Hostel
Rio Forest Hostel
#12 of 835 in Rio de Janeiro
285 reviews
Santa Teresa
Santa Tere Hostel
Santa Tere Hostel
#6 of 835 in Rio de Janeiro
322 reviews
Santa Teresa
Beers Five Hostel House
Beers Five Hostel House
#17 of 835 in Rio de Janeiro
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Discovery Hostel
#1 of 835 in Rio de Janeiro
498 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
WOLO Hostel
WOLO Hostel
#5 of 835 in Rio de Janeiro
91 reviews
Laranjeiras
Villa 25 Hostel & Suites
Villa 25 Hostel & Suites
#7 of 835 in Rio de Janeiro
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bossa in Rio Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bossa in Rio Hostel

Address: Rua Joaquim Murtinho, 531, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-320, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 835 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $18 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bossa in Rio Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bossa in Rio Hostel! Created by a couple of brazilian backpackers who have a passion for travel, Bossa in Rio has been carefully crafted to provide you with a comfortable, safe and unforgettable stay.We are a boutique hostel strategically located in Santa Teresa, the city's most charming neighborhood, offering all the facilities you might want. The Bossa in Rio Hostel is the ideal place for enjoying some comfort, making friends and enjoying the city. Be prepared for a short walk up and a very pleasant stay!Please have in mind Santa Teresa is located on a hill and that there are stairs and ramps to access the rooms. We are waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bossa in Rio Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bossa In Rio Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing