We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professionalism and Personality”
Review of Rio Samba Dancer

Rio Samba Dancer
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Rio Samba Experience: Dance Class and Night Out...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Experience Brazil's dance culture and nightlife with a Samba lesson and night out in Rio. Start your evening at a Copacabana dance studio with a personal instructor to teach you some moves. Then head out to a club to meet some locals and start dancing! Get to know Rio's famous nightlife and meet some locals. Easy, Safe and Fun!!
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioSambaDancer, Proprietário at Rio Samba Dancer, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"great teacher"
in 24 reviews
"basic steps"
in 11 reviews
"dance moves"
in 7 reviews
"left feet"
in 7 reviews
"great dance"
in 7 reviews
"private class"
in 6 reviews
"dance instructor"
in 4 reviews
"fun class"
in 3 reviews
"night tour"
in 5 reviews
"lots of fun"
in 5 reviews
"small group"
in 3 reviews
"forro"
in 37 reviews
"lesson"
in 67 reviews
"lapa"
in 27 reviews
"beginners"
in 13 reviews
"classes"
in 16 reviews
"blast"
in 14 reviews
Filter

294 - 298 of 363 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioSambaDancer, Proprietário at Rio Samba Dancer, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Helio and I exchanged emails before my arrival in Rio. He was willing to work around his schedule to accomodate me. The day of our samba lesson, traffic delay had me get to his studio over half an hour late. Not only was he not annoyed, I had the most fun informative and happy lesson of my life! Because of my commitments I could not go "clubbing" as he arranges to accompany students to give them real practice, but I intend to do that for sure the next time. Helio is a young man of character, grace and kindness. An unbeatable combination.
Go take a class or two from him and have the most wonderful happy time!

Thank AnitaNewportBch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioSambaDancer, Proprietário at Rio Samba Dancer, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for participating in our "Samba Class + Samba Night Tour". Thank you for submitting your comment. I'm very glad you enjoyed our service, we try to do our best for you all to enjoy.

Helio Borges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I live in Brazil and recently took some visitors (two girls) from the US to Rio Samba Dancer (his name is Helio) for a one-hour introductary lesson in samba and forro. This guy is excellent, in all respects. He's a real pro and he has a great way with new students --- lots of humor, but serious learning, too. He charges R$60 per person (around US$30) and it's well worth it. By simply practicing the basic moves he teaches, you can do a passable job in no time at all. He's got an excellent English website (riosambadancer.com), and his English is very good, too. Highly recommended -- one of the best bargains in this town.

Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioSambaDancer, Proprietário at Rio Samba Dancer, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for participating in our "Samba Class + Samba Night Tour". Thank you for submitting your comment. I'm very glad you enjoyed our service, we try to do our best for you all to enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Samba Dancer also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Rio Samba Dancer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing