We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great off-beat experience!”

Brazil Expedition - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.00*
and up
Rio de Janeiro Main Landmarks Tour Including Christ the Redeemer and Selaron...
More Info
$36.00*
and up
Favela Walking Tour in Rio de Janeiro
More Info
$37.00*
and up
Rio Urban Art Walking Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This 6-hour tour of Rio de Janeiro is a fantastic opportunity to see many sides of the city. The trip starts with a visit to the hang gliding landing area at Sao Conrado beach where the hang gliders land after take off from Pedra Bonita with its amazing views of the mountains on the coast. From there you drive through the Tijuca National Park and get a glimpse of the tropical rainforest close up before arriving at the CHRIST THE REEDEMER STATUE (ticket included)After your visit you will stop for lunch (optional but not included) in Santa Teresa, one of the traditional old neighbourhoods of Rio, which still retains much of its original architecture and character.Lastly you will see The Great Madness or secret Lapa steps where Snoop Dogg shot his famous video for Beautiful. To finish your day why not take the option to be dropped off at the Sugarloaf Mountain (ticket not included) in time for sunset or you can simply be dropped off at your hotel/hostel.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Great off-beat experience!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great tour experience of Lapa steps, Christ Redeemer, Tijuca National Park and hang gliding landing area at Sao Conrado beach where the hang gliders land after they take off from Pedra Bonita.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    30
    7
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth it!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very nice day tour of good parts of Rio. We were an over-spill group of only 4 tourists plus one guide (Vanessa - excellent!) -- so, it really felt special being such a small group. Really liked the places we visited and the restaurant where we had a late lunch. Safe, interesting, educational.
They also made it feel absolutely fine to sign as a solo, female traveler (middle-aged at that!).

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank NLM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"For transport to Soccer Match: Okay. "”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I went with Big Dude Tour to a soccer match (02/09/13) and was disappointed with the organization of the pick-up and the overall sense of the "tour". I was scheduled for pick-up at 3pm and my intuition told me not to wait the usual 15 minutes but to call right away since I didn't receive an email for confirmation the day before as with other tours I scheduled in Rio. When I did call at 3:01pm the tour guide had my address wrong and seemed to be in a rush to get off the phone. Luckily, I was picked up but felt that the tour guide was not really friendly. He seemed to be harried with a fake smile. There were 45 people attending the game but instead of asking individuals to meet at a central location and being picked up by a large bus, 3 vans were used instead which caused confusion at the end of the game (also a HUGE waste of time). Nothing was mentioned about who was playing or not even a cultural discussion for the soccer illiterate. Nothing. We were like cattle being transported. In addition, upon arriving at the stadium, the tour guide should have stationed himself near the entrance and should have been the last one to enter. He even gave one of the attendees the wrong ticket and had I not intervened and made a fuss in my "portonol" , the poor guy would have gone on a longer line. Not cool man. And I got the impression the other guides were somewhat surly and impatient. However, the soccer match itself was great. It's no exaggeration that brasilieros are completely insane about soccer. So if you just want transport to a soccer game it's okay but if you're looking for a "cultural experience", don't even waste your time or money.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tata708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brazilexpedition, Manager at Brazil Expedition - Day Tours, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hello

I think there is something wrong with this review. The tour we offer is the city tour in Rio de Janeiro which includes: Sao Conrado Beach + Tijuca Forest + Christ Statue + Santa Teresa + Lapa Stairs with the optional drop off at Sugar Loaf.
The review you have written is about the soccer match activitie.
I hope the Trip Advisor will take this review out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Eduardo is a great tour guide!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This tour was great you get to see a lot for a very fair price. Eduardo is a great tour guide and the tour lasts all day taking you to several sites. I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Rio.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank incumeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
“Fantastic way to se Rio”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

With a few days to spend in Rio, it was a great tour in the city. You get a great feel of the city and get to see the most important places while in Rio. Besides just seeing the sights you also get the local knowledge from the guide - who can tell you small things you would never learn on your own!

All in all a really great trip!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brazil Expedition - Day Tours also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Brazil Expedition - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing