We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alto Vidigal Hostel, Rise Above the Bull@#$t!”
Review of Casa Alto Vidigal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Alto Vidigal
Ranked #69 of 327 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Alto Vidigal Hostel, Rise Above the Bull@#$t!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

If you want to stay off the beaten tourist paths of Rio and you're looking for the best view in town, then this place is a must. As other reviews mention, it's very basic, and it's a bit of a mission into town from here, but the view is spectacular and the staff are pleasant and helpful. Jody was especially accommodating. Keep in mind you will be staying in a "pacified" favela. Vidigal was once run by violent drug gangs, but now it's very chilled out and as long as you don't treat the local residents like animals in a zoo and keep your camera out of their business they are generally kind to the "gringos". Use the chance to brush up on your Brazilian Portuguese!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexOstia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    27
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
8
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vladimir, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

If you are not intersted in luxurity and you want to get to know the real rio this is the place.
It is located on top of the favela Vidigal. The favela is not realy dangerous and you will see how these people live.
The hostel is very very basic but the view over rio is great!! From time to time they make cool partys in the hostel!!
Dont forget to take the hike up the mountain behind the favela its not very touristic and the view is great, just ask the people in the hostel about it.
And never flush the toilet paper!! :)))

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Like the name of the hostel already suggests, the place is located inside a favela (Vidigal) on the very top of the hill (hence Alto).

You meet lots of interesting people there probably because of the fact that it takes a special type of person to even want to visit a favela.

Awsome tech-house parties (sometimes funk-parties) on saturdays, with a breathtaking view of Ipanema and Leblon. The british guy (Jody) who’s managing reservations/doing “receptionist-work” is da man! With a brilliant movie collection on his hard drive he’s always there to provide you with some top-class entertainment on a rainy favela day…IF the electricity is working that is.

Expect to sacrifice some luxury for an awesome time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klaus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

A cool and vibrant hostel. I loved my stay here. Friendly and helpful staff, all the amenities needed in the kitchen. The favela is very friendly and welcoming. It is easy to get up and down the favela on the moto taxis, has a bus stop with busses to Ipanema, Copacabana, Barra Da Tijuca, Central Rio etc at the bottom of Vidigal. Very easy to get around. Beach is only a 10 minute walk from the favela. Amazing party here on the terrace outside on a Saturday night. The view is one of the best views available in Rio, and undoubtedly the best view any hotel or hostel could offer in the city. It is incredible! Highly recommend this hostel to travellers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jody K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hostel is situated in a Favela. You first find out what that is.
This is a very nice Vavela, It is vilage like, the people are friendly, small streets, with small shops for everyday life. It is nice to walk down to the entrance of the Favela, ( 20 minutes). I felt save. Next time I will go there again when I visit Rio.
In my experience the taxi drivers are fine to drive up there, ask the owner to book the taxi.
People from de Hostel are english speaking, friendly, helpfull, but not always there.
There is a mini kitchen to make your own food, so bring your own food / drinks. Specially when you arrive in the evening because there is no food available.
But when you are used to comfort, this is not the place for you. The rooms are verrrry simple and small, ( Unless you want to go beyond your comfortzone).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
3 Thank Durga108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitra, Slovakia
Level Contributor
583 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My first impression was - this is a squat. And it is. Only (but quite big) plus is the location and ability to see life in favela Vidigal. Riding mototaxi up is fun. Owner is Austrian person. Rooms are wet and dark dorms with almost no possibility of normal sleep. Balcony is great. Location is not dangerous but this place is really only suitable for hardcore male travelers. I mean - no danger for girls, but it is so uncomfortable... Hard to believe.

Room Tip: Try to find one at least with a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hmyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

When I originally looked at booking this hostel, i was alarmed at the fact it didn’t have any reviews.. But decided to go ahead as a lot cheaper than any other hostel in Rio, especially as I was looking over carnival week... WELL... there is a reason why this was so much cheaper.. (this being £35.00 per night instead of £50.00 per night hostels in Copacabana were suggestion over the carnival period)...
Me and my friend got a taxi to the hostel, which was an experience in its self.. Apparently afterwards we learnt that taxis don’t go into the favelas (which is a slum) to anyone outside of brazil... when booking the hostel i was unaware that it was in a favela (a slum) to start with.. the website suggests its situated between the 2 safest neighbourhoods...which is all very well but it’s still in a slum...
We turned up at about 9pm.. After a horrendous experience getting there.. to be greeted by the Austrian owner... who spoke perfect English.. i was kind of a relief to hear someone speak English to me... but this quickly changed.. When i realised how rude he was to my friend.. and told us we were ruining the atmosphere of his hostel and wanted us to leave (baring in my we are two white tourist in the middle of the night in a Brazilian slum...not the safest place) he then made jokes about the fact we should of done our research on where the hostel was located....Not really what we needed ... we decided to leave the hostel and go back to a safer hostel in Copacabana as we didn’t feel we were safe here or our passports...

so... before booking this hostel... Please be aware it’s a favela... which is a slum..its a very run down area.. and everyone is very poor... there are lots more nicer hostels in Copacabana. They also have parties here.. so u can’t go to sleep before 8am... and also we tried cancelling the hostel and the Austrian owner was very unreasonable and demanding the full weeks money up front... i wouldn’t go here again.. even if someone paid me too!!! Maybe naive of me not to know what a Favela was at the time.. .. but I’m putting this review so no-one makes the same mistake as I met 3 other people who had done exactly the same mistake.. One didn’t make it to the hostel as its so far out of town.. the other two did make it to the hostel but left shortly after experiencing similar rudeness and feeling unsafe as well.

Room Tip: Copacabana is a very nice area and a lot safer if you're looking for more cosmopolitan santa ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nadia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Hostel Favela Experience Vidigal
#25 of 765 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Varandas do Vidigal Hostel & Lou...
#133 of 765 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Lagoa Guest House
#35 of 327 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Alma de Santa Guest House
Alma de Santa Guest House
#41 of 327 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Hotel Mirante do Arvrao
#92 of 765 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Laje do Neguinho Hostel
#99 of 327 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Alto Vidigal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Alto Vidigal

Property: Casa Alto Vidigal
Address: Rua Armando Almeida Lima 2, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22452-030, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 327 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Alto Vidigal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Alto Vidigal Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing