We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in a tranquil area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada
Ranked #16 of 331 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chiang Mai
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great place in a tranquil area”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

From the first contact with this hotel, every part of our experience was very professional. They organized a taxi to pick us up from the airport and even went to the pharmacy to pick up some medicine for me when I was sick one day.

The hotel can seem a little noisy as mentioned by others, but we all slept really well because the beds are SUPER comfortable!

As far as location goes, Santa Teresa does seem a bit "out of the way" if it is your first time in Rio. However, this hotel has a great reputation and the value for money makes the taxis worth while if you can handle the windy/bumpy streets. If you mention that the hotel is right next to Espiritu Santa (very well known restaurant) we found that this helps taxi drivers find it much faster. Santa Teresa itself has a lot of culture and beautiful buildings, I wish we had more time to explore a bit more.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Katalin,

We are very happy to know how much he liked yout stay at Quinta Azul.

Personalized service is very important to us and we really appreciated your kind words about it.

We also appreciate your comments on our location as well as on our staff.

Your words serve to encourage us to continue our work philosophy that is always seeking to satisfy our guests.

Thank you for your report. We hope to see you here again!

Regards,
Quinta Azul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    115
    37
    4
    3
See reviews for
42
210
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I highly recommend checking out Quinta Azul. The rooms are large and comfortable. There is a patio area surrounded by lush trees where you can read and have reakfast in the morning.
The staff is quite friendly and helpful. They speak English very well, which helped immensely.
Santa Theresa is my favorite neighborhood in Rio. There's a great, local night life scene there. I didn't run into a tourist the entire time I was there. I hope that doesn't change now that I've written this review. :)
Also, there's a bus stop right across the street that takes you down to the center of the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Patrick,

What a wonderful your review about our pousada!
These cooments says that we are doing a good job.
We appreciate your positive comments on our services and facilities during your stay as much as your view of Quinta Azul neigborhood.

Our team will look forward to continuing to delight you with our hospitality on all your future visits!

Best Regards,
Quinta Azul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada was a wonderful find - comfortable accommodations with extremely helpful staff to help with sightseeing plans, absolutely delicious breakfast buffet and all the amenities to make for a great stay. Santa Teresa was a wonderful neighborhood for galleries and restaurants, easy to catch a bus or taxi to other parts of Rio.

Room Tip: Rooms near reception desk can access free WIFI in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HSE_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your positive comments on our services and facilities during your stay and can assure you that its comments like yours that motivate us all in delivering on our service standards.

We appreciate your comments on our location as well as on our staff, which you found to be so helpfull. We will forward your comments to the team.

Regards,
Quinta Azul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is a nice hotel in a quiet area of Rio, but close to several restaurants, coffee shops, etc. We had a deluxe suite - nice room with jacuzzi but lacked some ventilation. The breakfast is really good and the atmosphere in the lounge is very relaxing. One staff member, Erica, was amazingly helpful with booking activities and making things easier for us. Unfortunately the other 2 staff ladies were the opposite, which is why I don't rate this as Excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking time in sharing your experience at Quinta Azul on Tripadvisor!
We really appreciated your comments about our breakfast, location and facilities.

We're sorry to hear your comment regarding our staff members which is unusual given the number of other guest's positive comments posted - especially relative to our team members.

We talked with the staff about your review and try to "fix" the fails we had. We are also assessing how best we can improve these issue mentioned about the room.

Be sure that we are learning everyday how to make better services and you are helping us with your review.

We nevertheless appreciate your feedback and hope you will reconsider returning to our pousada when next over.

Regards,
Quinta Azul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Edge, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Hospitality is associated with many facets regarding the reception and treatment of guests and includes welcome, kindness, friendliness and warmth. Yet these descriptions only begin to "scratch the surface" and somehow understate the wonderful experience we had on our holiday through the New Year at Quinta Azul. Right from the outset during our trip-planning stage through the very last moments of our stay at this charming pousada, we felt indeed warmly welcomed, with a friendliness and kindness that goes far beyond any expected hospitality of a typical hotel-guest relationship. The genuinely caring, cheerful and personal attention we were given by the staff - especially Erika and Gabriela - truly transcended the "hotel experience", becoming practically the reception given by a family. Our first (but definitely not last!) visit to Rio has been made exceptionally memorable thanks to our friends at Quinta Azul.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Robert,

Thank you for sharing your insights from your visit to Quinta Azul!
We are delighted with your positive review and thank you for highlighting our service.

Personalized service is very important to us and we really appreciated your kind words about our staff.

We pride ourselves in the genuine hospitality and our team endeavours to constantly deliver it.
It seems that we are doing a very good job.

We will be informing all Quinta Azul staff about your nice words, specially the ones mentioned.

Thank you very much to choose Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada for your stay in Rio.
When will we have a chance to see you back? We hope soon!

Regards,
Quinta Azul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2013

do yourself a favor to spend a few days outside of the beach area and get a local taste of rio and stay here at quinta azul. for my honeymoon ive decided to spend some time in santa teresa before settling in at copacabana, and quinta azul caught my eye right away from its funky color scheme to the jacuzzi on balcony offerings and it surely did not disappoint. from friendly staff to gourmet breakfast to wonderful location, this hotel is ideal for couples and solo adventurer.

Room Tip: spend the extra bucks and get the deluxe room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Anthony,

We were very happy to hear that your stay with us was a positive experience especially during such special occasion.
It is always a joy when we can achieve the satisfaction of our guests.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Regards from Quinta Azul!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Set in the heart of Santa Teresa, this posada is charming and quirky. The staff are friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and breakfast is lovely - lots of fresh fruits and breads, and eggs cooked to your liking. Sometimes monkeys will join you if you are lucky!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Angela,

It is always a pleasure to hear positive comments about our services and facilities.
Thank you for sharing your review.

Warm Regards,
Quinta Azul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#10 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
271 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mama Shelter Rio Santa Teresa
Mama Shelter Rio Santa Teresa
#130 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
58 reviews
Gavea Tropical Boutique Hotel
#188 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#6 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
208 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#2 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
580 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada

Property: Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada
Address: Rua Almirante Alexandrino 256 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-260, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta Azul is a Nineteenth century colonial building completely restored to original and modern day standards to provide best comforts and great value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing