We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada
Nearby Hotels
$200
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$206
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
$154
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ipanema Inn(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$110
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$230
$184
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
$324
$313
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rio Othon Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Arena Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$119
$85
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$500
$442
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveler rating
213
115
37
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
213
115
37
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssanta teresabarking dogsbars and restaurantshot waterneighborhoodgloriariolapabohemianmetrotaxiscarnivalcentro
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 372 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed in Quinta Azul a few days over Christmas 2012. We landed in Rio rather early morning and were picked up by a friendly and cheerful driver called Joel. As a treat we booked a deluxe room with the terrace and views over the hills of Santa Teresa (unfortunately we didn't get a chance to use the jacuzzi). The room was very spacious, airy and light, with large windows leading on to the terrace. It was clean but the only negative comment would be that there was no waste bin so we had to keep putting rubbish in plastic bags. Location worked for us - little bit out of the centre, up on the hill in a bohemian area with lots of character. Many bars and restarants around, nice atmosphere, we felt safe walking around. Good exercise with all the stairs and walking up and down the hill but it was all part of the experience. The staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble, special mention to Clarissa, Gordon and Carlos and the lady who made lovely cakes in the mornings! Lovely, homely feel & friendly atmosphere, nice breakfasts. We really enjoyed our stay in Rio and Christmas picnic on our terrace.

Room Tip: Try some homemade cakes from the lady next door! Lovely! Deluxe room upstairs with the terrace are worth the extra.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xenie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your amazing review and the time you took on the feedback.

We pleased to know that you had a great time with us. Too bad you could not enjoy the jaccuzi.

We already provided waste bin in the room.

And will be informing all Quinta Azul staff about your nice words in appreciation of all. Specially the ones mentioned.

We sincerely hope to you stay with us in another opportunity.

Best regards,

Quinta Azul Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very nice place, in the cool barrio of Santa Teresa, in the middle on the vegetation, clean rooms , good breakfast and very nice and gentle employees.
Service was excellent and reliable.
Could be cheaper but very difficult in Rio...

definitely coming back!
Alessandro

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

It is great of you to point out the positive points of your experience.

Thank you for the review. Your feedback is very important for us.

We will informe all Quinta Azul staff about your nice words in appreciation of them all.

Best Regards,

Quinta Azul Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Cute B&B in Santa Theresa.
Beautiful location but a bit out of the way.
Friendly staff, pretty decent breakfast and sweet rooms. Overall it's worth a visit if you go with the idea that's its a cute B&B. It's NOT luxurious however and is the same price as number of four star hotels in Copacabana. However it has a lot more character than the majority of those 70's concrete blocks.
Could have been a little cleaner and the stairs are an absolute nightmare... Almost a vertical drop! Definitely only for the younger clientele.Mind you, if you arrive within daytime hours then someone will take care of your luggage. (unfortunately they can't carry the guests up and down them!)


  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Staff very nice & helpful. Location very convenient in Santa Teresa. Our room (# 8) was rather small and dark but nicely decorated. Very nice small breakfast in the woods amidst the city, including some monkeys that were attracted with bananas.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoliSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you took for the review.

We already provided the lights improvement in the room mentioned.

It is great of you to point out the positive points of your experience.

We sincerely hope you stay with us in a next oportunity!

Warm regards,

Quinta Azul Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at Quinta Azul for the first few days of our honeymoon so we could see Rio before heading north to the beaches. We were beyond pleased with the level of service and hospitality here.

Our flight landed in the wee hours of the morning, and thank goodness we accepted the hotel's offer to provide a driver. They sent someone who was fantastic, and clearly a trusted friend, because they gave him keys to the property and he was able to let us in. There was a note from the staff, who let us go right into our room at 5am and sleep for a few hours even though check-in wasn't officially until later in the day - it was like getting an additional half day free.

When we went downstairs to have breakfast and check in, we met Carlos, who was so warm and wonderful. He told us about all the wonderful things in Santa Teresa and recommended local restaurants. After sightseeing for the day, we returned to Quinta Azul and met a woman who was working in the evening (I'm sorry I don't remember her name!) - she made the most amazing welcome caipirinhas for us while we checked email, etc. outside under the stars.

On our second night we ate at the restaurant next door - Espirito Santa - this was one of the best meals we've ever had. It was just fantastic, I cannot recommend eating here enough. The guidebook info we had said it would be closed that evening but we were lucky and it was open.

On our last morning at Quinta Azul, we had an early flight to catch from GIG to Fortaleza (and on to Jericoacoara). Carlos had prepared sandwiches and fruit and left them in Ziploc bags for us in the fridge, to take on our journey, which was incredibly thoughtful! We then had the same driver as before, who again was great.

Our experience at Quinta Azul just felt really personal, the staff took every step to accommodate us and ensure that we had a great time in Rio.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dailyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this wonderful detailed feedback. We are very proud to read about your experience at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada.
We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to try to exceed expectations.

We would like to thank you again for your lovely words about every detail.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you once again.

Warm regards from Santa Teresa.
Quinta Azul Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews