We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute, but wasn't for me”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada
Ranked #18 of 331 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cute, but wasn't for me”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

The staff was excellent. Very helpful and friendly. The common area was nice for sitting outside and conversing. The location is in Santa Teresa atop a hill so going anywhere outside requires taxi service and there aren't a large selection of restaurants nearby. Our room was next to a staircase and was extremely noisy and dark. For $145, I don't think it was worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cburnsesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moviemakerlondon, Gerente geral at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank for taking the time to write about your experience with us.
We are very pleased to know your lovely comments about our staff, service, and nice common area.
Regarding the restaurant options: we can always recommend more than 15 options just 5 minutes from Quinta Azul. Also away from the village there are more restaurants. And if you prefer to go a little further, you can use the Metro in Gloria.
We hope to welcome you again at Quinta Azul.

Best wishes,

Aline Vieira.
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    114
    37
    4
    3
See reviews for
41
209
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great location - calm and fun. Great hotel, though not strictly a hotel by classical standards - eg no telephone in room. Friendly, helpful service . Well located next to many restaurants and bars, though sadly no other amenities, such as supermarket, post office. Will stay there next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moviemakerlondon, Gerente geral at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing us as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Rio and for taking the time to complete your review. We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern. We would like to inform that we offer shanpoo and soap in all the rooms.

There is a supermarket 5 minutes from Quinta Azul, and a Post office very close as well. Our concierge team will be pleased to show all directions you need during your stay.

We were delighted to have you as guest.

Best regards,

Aline Vieira
Operation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Upmarket pousada located in Santa Teresa, Rio’s equivalent to Montmartre. Nicely appointed rooms with airco, wireless and modern bathrooms, but don’t bother upgrading to the Deluxe rooms which offer a tiny deck and even tinier Jacuzzi. Many rooms (including the Deluxe rooms) have venetian blinds instead of windows, so buy yourself the best earplugs you can find if you want to sleep. Every dog in Rio seems to live within barking distance and they love to throw a tantrum at the most ungodly hours, at times complemented by a plane lining up to land at Santos Dumont. The good news is that you will largely escape the traffic noise that mars so many other hotels and pousadas in town. The staff is very friendly and helpful, you’ll feel like family after a few days.
The pousada is located on the route of the old Bonde tramway and is one block from Largo do Guimaraes, the heart of the neighborhood. Note that the Bonde has been out of service since a bad accident end of 2011 and has been replaced by far less romantic shuttle buses (lines 006 and 014 from Centro). There are plenty of little restaurants and bars within walking distance, and the neighborhood is quite safe if you stay on the main streets. The Park of Ruins, the Chacara do Ceu museum and the Selaron stairs are all within 10 minutes walk. The Gloria metro station is a very steep 15 minute walk away.

Room Tip: Deluxe room 2 is right under the main deck & breakfast room, so is extra noisy as chairs and tab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingDutchmanYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our services, it is pleasing to receive such comments as yours and to know we are caring for our guest properly.
We will be informing for all our staff of your positive observations to motivate them even further.
Regarding our deluxe rooms. It is exactly the same you see on website photos. There are big windows, and two big doors accessing the balcony with hot water jacuzzi.
All of our rooms have windows, of different sizes as each room is unique.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Rio.

Sincerely,

Aline Vieira.
Operation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

A group of 4 of us had two rooms for 3 nights. The hotel staff was very gracious and helpful. I was very impressed by the interest they took in their guests plans for the day. There was always someone available during the included breakfast to help with advice as needed. The fresh juice was delicious at breakfast as well as made to order eggs, fresh bread, cheese, jam, etc. The rooms are comfortable with AC units. The shower got nice and hot.

The Santa Teresa neighborhood is at the top of a big hill. With the streetcar currently out of commission, the options for transportation are walking, cab, or other buses etc which replace the streetcar. The group I traveled with enjoy an adventure and walking, so no problem for us. I loved the neighborhood feeling and exploring the local bars, restaurants and winding streets. We went to the famous beaches Ipenema, Leblon, Copacabana by subway/cab which was easy. The subway stop Gloria is about a 10-15min walk downhill. Also the famous Celeron(sp?) Stairs are just a short walk away. You might even get to meet the artist and visit his studio. The stairs adorned with all sorts of tiles are amazing in person even if you have already see photos.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Our room was on street level 1st from the road, so we could hear street noises. For my husband and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeganA83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Quinta Azul hotel is a nice boutique hotel in the hills of Santa Teresa. My husband and I stayed in the deluxe room for two nights during our honeymoon. The room was sparsely decorated and I expected a little bit more for the price, however it was nice and clean. Our room had a balcony which was nice but the views are of other houses in Santa Teresa as opposed to sweeping views of Rio below.

The staff at Quinta Azul are friendly and helpful.

Qunita Azul is located in the heart of Santa Teresa and within less than 2 minutes walking you'll find some tasting restaurants and bars (for seafood try Sobrenatural restaurant which is delicious!). After spending two nights by Ipanema and two nights in Santa Teresa, I personally preferred Ipanema as I felt it was more easily accessible and there is more in the surrounding area. Santa Teresa is very nice, however I would recommend just visiting for a day or afternoon as there isn't a lot to do in the area. Additionally we had a hard time getting taxis to take us up to Santa Teresa at night. I'm not quite sure why, but one multiple occasions we were denied.

Qunita Azul is a nice, clean, and comfortable boutique hotel, but I honestly expected the accommodations to be a bit more luxurious given the cost. Additionally, it's a personal preference but the location did not appeal as much as the Ipanema area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AK_kayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Overall the hotel is fine. It's clean, the staff is helpful and very friendly while going out of their way to make sure you're satisfied and there's free wi-fi. It's in a fairly trendy neighborhood and there's good cafes to hit up. However it's up on a mountain away from the rest of Rio (not necessarily a bad thing) but the way down into town looks a bit dodgy to be taken on foot. Like I said, there's nothing "wrong" with it, but I think you can get ore bang for your buck elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank utpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, UK
Level Contributor
244 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at the end of our brazil trip, having stated in ipanema the first time. The staff were very helpful and welcoming, provided many maps and information and welcome capirhinas were the best we had the whole trip! Breakfast was good with free tea and coffee readily available all day. Rooms were nice and clean. Many restaurants nearby, the espirito Santa restaurant next door was very good. We were here at the weekend and the streets of Santa Teresa were buzzing on the saturday. We felt safe and found it easy to get around by day including walking down to Lapa and downtown but we stayed nearby at night. Easy to get taxis outside.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo_Aberdeen_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#16 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#2 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#5 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa T...
#4 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Santa Teresa
Pousada Sant'Martre
Pousada Sant'Martre
#45 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#1 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada

Property: Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada
Address: Rua Almirante Alexandrino 256 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-260, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta Azul is a Nineteenth century colonial building completely restored to original and modern day standards to provide best comforts and great value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing