We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada
Ranked #17 of 339 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at the end of our brazil trip, having stated in ipanema the first time. The staff were very helpful and welcoming, provided many maps and information and welcome capirhinas were the best we had the whole trip! Breakfast was good with free tea and coffee readily available all day. Rooms were nice and clean. Many restaurants nearby, the espirito Santa restaurant next door was very good. We were here at the weekend and the streets of Santa Teresa were buzzing on the saturday. We felt safe and found it easy to get around by day including walking down to Lapa and downtown but we stayed nearby at night. Easy to get taxis outside.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo_Aberdeen_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
There are newer reviews for Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 372 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

I was expecting more and was disapointed to arrive at a small narrow two story house, not the restored old mansion I was expecting. The house drops down a hillside with steps and two levels of decks for general use, the bottom one with a small pool. The rooms are small but adequate, bathrooms too, but toilet paper has to go in a bin not down the toilet. There was also no hot water in the basin, although shower was ok. Luckily we chose the deluxe room which has the advantage of a large balcony. Other rooms have to use the public decks. The balcony was lovely first thing in the morning and in the evenings but no shade so very hot all afternoon. Also it was at the top of the house so exposed to traffic noise, unlike the tranquil public decks, but we were very pleased to have it. Very friendly service, adequate breakfast. Al in all a better deal than staying in centro ot the beach areas in a horrible tower block, but why are hotels so expensive here (also this one)
Santa teresa is shabby but charming and the hotel is next to the main square so lots of bars and restaurants. Note that the trams have stopped working so its bus or taxi or a steep walk down to the metro, seems to be a small vw van shuttle service to the metro. We had one problem getting a taxi, they didnt want to go to st teresa, we had to pay off meter and about double.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gaffelaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

After 4 busy days in crowded, noisy, dirty Sao Paulo in a corporate hotel, this charming little hotel was just what I needed. Peaceful, quiet and charmingly designed in funky , fashionable Santa Teresa. In past trips I have always stayed in hotels in Leblon or Ipanema but this was something much more authentic. Also Centro, where I had most of my day time appointments, was just a 10 minute taxi drive down the hill.

My last night , hanging out with the locals in beautiful old cafe listening to musicians lay it down with a cold beer in hand as the stars twinkled overhead and the city lights twinkled below was very , very cool.

The only minor gripe I had was that the shower water never got beyond lukewarm but that was not a big deal

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Quinta Azul was the last stay of our Southamerica trip, and we loved it. Alina and the other staff made us feel like at home and were so helpful suggesting things to do and arranging things for us with a big smile.

The room was modern and spacious, with lovely views of the garden. The bed was so comfy! We also loved breakfast on the terrace, with cereals, fruits and cake, although it could do with a bit more variety of pastries, or bread, but still, very nice.
Free wifi also, and very fast, which was a first for us on our trip!
The location is not ideal for a beach holiday, Santa Teresa is a quiet and bohemian neighbourhood and we loved the character. Lots of little shops and the best restaurants in Rio in my opinion. Definitely try Supernatural, which is a seafood and fish restaurant, magnificent food and not overpriced.
At weekends the local bars are packed, and people spill out onto the street.
Also go to the "bar dos descasados", in the Santa Teresa hotel nearby, it has beds and a wonderful view of Rio at night, very romantic and excellent caipirinhas!

Even though it's far from Copacabana or Ipanema, they're very easily reached by underground. It's 10 mins walk downhill to Gloria station, and then about 15 mins to Ipanema stop. On the way back is a bit more tricky because of the steep hill to Santa Teresa, so after you come out from Gloria turn right and keep walking until you see a white campervan on a layby, get in and it will take you to Santa Teresa, just tell the driver when u want to get off and it will take you right outside the Quinta Azul.

This hotel made our end of the holiday that much more personal and different for us, if u want something other than a standard high rise hotel this is the place for you, the neighbourhood is also worth a visit. Thank you do much to the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LincolnSpaniard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a difficult place to review. On one level it is fine - the staff are welcoming, very personable and helpful. There's a nice relaxed feel to the pousada especially in the communal lounge/breakfast area, and the location is spot-on in Santa Teresa, a trendy bohemian enclave set on steep hillside overlooking Rio Bay and yet only 10 minutes' walk from Gloria Metro Station with easy access to Copacabana, Ipanema and the City Centre. There are plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance and it's an interesting location to wander around on the cobblestone roads weaving between some impressive if faded colonial villas. The gradients keep you fit as well!

So far so good and if I'd arrived with no preconceptions of the hotel I could have accepted it as it is. However, we had been influenced in our choice by the Quinta Azul's own website and by a review we read in BA's High Life magazine earlier in the year. It's described as a beautifully restored colonial home - it's actually now largely a concrete building, single storey and adjoining a restaurant at street level, and tiered down a steep ravine from the road like many other nearby buildings. The "breathtaking views of the City" comprise the rear of facing buildings and properties higher on the hill opposite, amongst which are indeed some fine colonial homes. The rooms are desribed as 'boho chic with state of the art fittings'. We had the deluxe room on the top floor with balcony and outdoors jacuzzi. It was comfortable but state of the art ends with flat screen TV and air con. 'Deluxe' runs to 3 coat hangers and cold water only to the wash basin and jacuzzi. No waste bin except in the WC, no hair dryer unless you ask to borrow one. The lush green woodlands run to a few trees to one side of the property.

Quinta Azul is not going to 'rival Rio's top hotels' as stated. The website is very misleading and it is the disparity between the online description and reality which is underpinning this rather negative review. I think the hotel's (English) owner should be more honest in the marketing blurb as disappointment stemming from initial reaction compared with expectation is likely to cloud the hotel's positive attributes. Stay in Santa Teresa and if you choose Quinta Azul, do so knowing exactly what it offers.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before paying - lower floors are quiet. Top floor suffers sreet noise but has t...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

We thank you for the time spent to write your concerns regarding you stay.
Your compliments about our servisse and location, were really appreciated.

Regarding the hot water, we are now working to offer hot watter on our jacuzzi like we offer is our strong showers.
Sorry to hear about the 3 hangers but we normally have more.

We would like you to consider that we are not a hotel but a Brazilian pousada, and we don't try to offer what a big hotel offer but make up for it in many other ways.
We hope to host you again in a near future, and change your impression.

Best regards,

Aline Vieira
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Starting on a positive note, yes the staff were charming and welcoming and the communal areas were pleasant and comfortable but the room was a huge let down. We'd booked the deluxe room with jacuzzi and private terrace and had high hopes of the standard we could expect, given the very positive review in the BA Highlight magazine and the hotel's own marketing blurb, not to mention the rave reviews on TA, we came to wonder whether we were actually staying in the right hotel? The room was clean and the bed comfortable, but where was the hot water for the bathroom basin and jacuzzi? With the best will in the world it is hard to imagine luxuriating in a cold jacuzzi, even in the height of summer this would not be a pleasant experience....and my husband assures me shaving in cold water isn't much fun. The fittings were already looking a bit tired around the edges and the only nod to 'state of the art' equipment was a flat screen TV. Santa Teresa is a great location, I'd highly recommend it but to say that the hotel offers peace and tranquility is again very misleading, traffic noise can be heard clearly, and whilst that didn't overly concern me it would be a great intrusion if someone sought a haven away from the local bustle.
This hotel over promises and vastly under delivers, it is not a rival to top class hotels and for £150 a night, even given the inflated prices in Rio, it can't be said to offer value for money.
The staff are very much its saving grace, but the description the hotel provides needs to be more accurate so that guests can make an informed choice. Don't hesitate to stay in Santa Teresa, it really is an excellent location but you might want to explore the other accommodation on offer before deciding where to lay your head.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EastAnglianwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Loved Quinta Azul and Santa Teresa! Aline, the manager, is so personable and welcoming - she really made us feel at home, as did Carlos and Jorge. They were always helpful, whether it was ordering a taxi for us or recommending where to get the best pão de queijo (Brazilian cheese bread). It was wonderful to enjoy a delicious Brazilian breakfast every morning on the deck, with a nice view of Santa Teresa and the lush vegetation as a backdrop. We even had a treat a few mornings of seeing some monkeys come down from the trees for a bite of a banana. Our room was very comfortable, with a TV, mini-bar and air-conditioning - but there was no need for that, as you could open your windows and enjoy the fresh air. And Santa Teresa is very charming and relaxed (although, it does get lively on the weekends). While it doesn't have as many restaurants as Copacabana or Ipanema, there are still enough restaurants to choose from and they are within walking distance from Quinta Azul. In fact, there is a restaurant next door, Espirito Santa, where we enjoyed dinner one night. If you want a charming and quaint atmosphere with the personal touch, I highly recommend Quinta Azul!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ConnieB2341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Mama Shelter Rio Santa Teresa
Mama Shelter Rio Santa Teresa
#115 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
69 reviews
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#7 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
303 reviews
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#7 of 339 in Rio de Janeiro
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Discovery Suites Rio
Discovery Suites Rio
#11 of 339 in Rio de Janeiro
48 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 339 in Rio de Janeiro
791 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#2 of 339 in Rio de Janeiro
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada

Address: Rua Almirante Alexandrino 256 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-260, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 339 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $65 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta Azul is a Nineteenth century colonial building completely restored to original and modern day standards to provide best comforts and great value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing