We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute bohemian boutique”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada
Ranked #18 of 338 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2012

My partner and I stayed in this boutique hotel for 3 nights over carnival and enjoyed a great stay. The recently designed property looks and feels delightful with some very modern touches that really impress. The service delivered was personal, proactive and very attentive without becoming too much. Despite staying during Carnival and a local street party starting one morning at 7 we always enjoyed restless sleep. A first visit to the Quinta and Rio but not the last.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moviemakerlondon, Manager at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are really proud to see you had a great time with us on carnival.

We will be informing all the staff about your comments on our service. That is our first challenge! It is great to hear that we reached your expectations.

We wait for you again soon!

Kind regards,

Aline Vieira.
Operation manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
There are newer reviews for Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 371 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed at Quinta Azul for 3 nights the week before Carnival. Upon the very friendly and professional check-in we were offered an upgrade to the deluxe room but declined. After a phone call and 5min later we got the upgrade offered at no extra charge! The rooms were clean, nicely designed, breakfast was healthy and just what we needed and the common areas inviting. Ask Jorge to make a Caipirinha for you! After having had a few all over those very simply outstanding.

If you are looking for a place to stay in St Teresa close to the action in Lapa, Quinta azul is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Literallyafloat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moviemakerlondon, Manager at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

There is no greater pleasure to read such nice comments about your excellent stay with us!

Jorge is very please to know that you really liked the brazilian caipirinhas.

We hope we can host you again very soon!

Kind Regards from all Quinta Azul team.

Aline Vieira
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

As a tropical girl from Costa Rica I like the calm and relaxing feeling from nature and I love when I travelled and I feel at home, That is what I simply felt in Quinta Azul with all the green trees around, it makes you forget you are in a city. The staff was very nice and friendly, charming place with a lovely common area and wooden deck to enjoy reading a book. We had an incredible and comfortable stay we loved every minute. Accessible public transport and excellent location too. It was my first time in Rio but it won’t be the last neither in Quinta Azul.
PS; It truly was a charming place. We had a unique fabulous time…

Room Tip: Stay in the room on the top is amazing
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ines A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Quinta Azual is the cutest place + very clean and nicely done both in the room and the patio/common area.
2. Extremely good customer service, the crew there are very friendly and the will make your stay personal. (they absolutely made us feel at home) Both morning we were 2 hours late for breakfast and they still offered us breakfast and second day they put cut fruits aside for us!

3. I liked Santa tereza a lot, I thought it was beautiful and very good crowd with cute restaurants. the only problem we encounter was the Tram is not working for the past 6 months and since Santa Tereza is up on the mountain with not easy road to get to, if we went to hang out somewhere Taxi drivers always gave us hard time to get us back to our hotel. some gave us bad attitude for even asking them to get paid to get us back to our hotel and some just over charged us. Other than this It was a true Amazing stay for us :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nejla8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed at the Quinta Azul for 2 nts at the end of an 18 day trip to Brazil. Santa Teresa is a quaint little village with a great ambience on a Saturday and Sunday afternoon the Quinta Azul is very well located to experience this. Aline and Jorge were fantastic spoke excellent English and made the BEST Capriniha's we'd had all holiday n we were welcomed with a complimentary one. We stayed in the deluxe room which has a lovely balcony with a jacuzzi n great view over Santa Teresa. Overall Great Value for money and if you're considering stayin in Santa Teresa this is the place to stay

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lise077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Very pleasant, relaxing pousada in the heart of the fashionable Santa Teresa district. Friendly and informal service and fabulous breakfasts. Pretty good value compared to what you get in copacabana and ipanema. Shower facilities a little basic and Instructions on how to use the tv would have been good. And perhaps a little less partying by the neighbours. But, all in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

From the arrival until the check out, we could feel being at home with a very nice atmosphere and fantasctic weather.
Our room was very modern and very well-cleaned, with ar conditioning, minibar and hot water shower.
A specious mention goes to Alina, who gave us all the information we needed. She recommended us a very nice tour by Jeep. We went to the Cristo, Tujuca Forest, Botanical gardens and she gave us precious advices and great restaurant suggestions.
Thank you Quinta Azul for the wonderful stay!

We will definitely recommend you to our friends.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nagel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Mama Shelter Rio Santa Teresa
Mama Shelter Rio Santa Teresa
#115 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
69 reviews
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#8 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
302 reviews
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#7 of 338 in Rio de Janeiro
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Discovery Suites Rio
Discovery Suites Rio
#11 of 338 in Rio de Janeiro
48 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 338 in Rio de Janeiro
791 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#2 of 338 in Rio de Janeiro
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada

Address: Rua Almirante Alexandrino 256 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-260, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $65 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta Azul is a Nineteenth century colonial building completely restored to original and modern day standards to provide best comforts and great value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing