We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice for italian cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Luigi's

Luigi's
Ranked #492 of 13,629 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good choice for italian cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Nice italian cuisine with a brazilian(ish) atmosphere. Fair service, great food. Worth a visit if you're in Laranjeiras.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank rgonnelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    115
    36
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
361 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“A well-kept secret in Rio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Laranjeiras neighborhood is not part of Rio's touristic circuit (except as a way to the Corcovado), so few people remember that you can find good food there. Luigi's is a small italian restaurant with simple but delicious dishes. Located in a side street away from the traffic, most of the tables in a patio, the restaurant has a unique atmosphere. It is one of the places I take visitors to, and it always delivers both on taste and value. Great place to go with friends or for a romantic date.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R_TheReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
209 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Italian menu, brazilian atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Being a resident of the Laranjeiras district in Rio de Janeiro, this is my favorite restaurant in the zone. Luigi's menu is simple yet full of delicious surprises, the most remarkable being the featured recipes from the Veneto. I specially recommend the Spaghetti alla Serena (with shrimp and ginger) and the Filetto di Pargo in Cartoccio. The Risotto d'Anitra (duck risotto) is fantastic too, and the pizzas are done in the classic italian tradition (mozzarella di buffala, farina doc) - I recommend the Pizza ai Funghi Porcini. For a low-callories dish, try the Ravioli di Magro (thin man's ravioli). It's light on the calories, but heavy on the flavor! My preferred desserts are the local Cheesecake and the Tiramisù, but their Créme Broulé is very popular too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank migliaribasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
118 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Italian gem in Rio (in Laranjeiras, close to Largo do Machado)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This a really good Italian restaurant in Rio: just testified by our international group of 6 - among them one Italian ;)
We really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, nice service, outdoor sitting, and foremost the excellent food. Especially the pizza from the wood oven is a highly recommended choice! Pizza and pasta dishes cost around BRL 40 each. Great value for money ;)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irene_Philipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best duck risotto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We often go there on weekends, it's a italian restaurant, so you find wonderful pastas, risottos, pizza.
Each month they have specials.
I like the wines, specially Prosecco in summer

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hmoitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luigi's also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Luigi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing