We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful picture-perfect beach”
Review of Prainha Beach

Prainha Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$120.00*
and up
Private Tour: Grumari and Prainha Beach Photography Tour
More Info
$67.98*
and up
Surf Adventure Tour in Rio de Janeiro
More Info
$100.00*
and up
Private Half-Day Barra da Tijuca, Prainha, and Joátinga Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Prainha Beach is a secluded half-moon-shaped beach, bordered on each side by rocks and high cliffs. It is one of the best surfing spots in Rio, and may be reached by car or by the orange "surf bus" that passes through Copacabana and Ipanema.
Bellingham, MA
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“beautiful picture-perfect beach”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This beach was so beautiful and met all our expectations. It is about and hour from Rio and well worth the drive. We were one of three people at the beach. There are 360 degrees of spectacular views. The kids loved this beach and named it their favorite in Brazil. There is a lovely cafe overlooking the beach that serves nice lunch and sucos. Don't miss it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,991 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,912
    931
    128
    18
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rideau Ferry
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Relaxing and not too busy”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Having been to this beach and Ipanema, this is the one I would go to for a quieter time. We were able to rent an Umbrella and Chairs and they put them up for you and find you a great spot on the beach. Word of advice, do not buy anything form the vendors walking around. We were a group of 8 and one of us bought a cover up and after that we were hounded by every other vendor on the beach. We learned our lesson and made sure we waved the first vendor away so we would be left alone.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey7231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect, but far”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Really nice beach Beautiful and nature friendly. Good waves to surf. really far from the south zone, if you have a car, go there.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank bob g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittard, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice to relax”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Contrary to the most visited beaches in rio, this one is less crowded, making it a better option for weekends.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BeatrizSASousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice little beach”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Great spot for kids to have fun. Waves not too bad. Wish we could have spent a little bit more time here.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BusPersTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prainha Beach also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Prainha Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing