We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ipanema's Xanadu”
Review of Casa Mosquito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Mosquito
Ranked #25 of 327 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ipanema's Xanadu”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hidden away boutique hotel is warm and friendly and just a turn up the hill from the Ipanema and Copacabana beaches. While one might, from a distance, imagine she'd like to be on the beach, in fact -- once you come to Rio -- you will see it's better to be a couple footsteps away. Close to the best restaurant -- Brazilinho (get the full meal, with whatever meat and the collard greens) -- and the fruit market. David at the front desk is a gem, as is the director Benjamin. This is definitely the place for younger, hipper Ipanema travelers, however it is warm and friendly and welcoming for all. I just wished I had someone to invite over for drinks on the patio. They have a small table with green pillows I really wished I could show off. Eat dinner at the long table inside, it's the prettiest.

Room Tip: If you like to bathe, let them know when you book. Some rooms have a shower and some a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmieMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjamin C, Propriétaire at Casa Mosquito, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Amie,

Thank you for your nice review, i will share it with David and the team.

Looking forward to seeing you again at casa MOSQUITO.

Warmest Regards,
Benjamin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    49
    16
    9
    10
See reviews for
23
170
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Beautiful view, nice and very clean rooms, perfect bathroom with great products
A cosy and design place to stay in Rio '
Dont miss the breakfast it Is delicious!!
Perfect and safe location in Ipanema, 10min walk from the beach

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JERRAFLORE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjamin C, Propriétaire at Casa Mosquito, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Leila,

I would like to thank you very much for choosing casa MOSQUITO for your recent visit in Rio and for taking the time to give us your impressions.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

I sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to casa MOSQUITO

Warmest Regards,
Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very special little hotel! I returned to Rio months later after having stayed there a week and rented an apartment but enjoyed breakfast most mornings at Casa Mosquito in its beautiful and tranquil garden. Best place in the city to relax, enjoy sun or beat a hangover. Spent many warm evenings on the front patio throwing back MANY caipirinhas as well! Either to stay or just lounge with friends Casa Mosquito is my favorite place!

Room Tip: I slept in the "chocolate" room! has a super sexy chocolate shower and the best view ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susetten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjamin C, Proprietário at Casa Mosquito, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Susette,

You are our very client, and probably one of our best client. Once again thank you for loving us, thank you for coming, thank you for your support.

It is always a hudge pleasure for my team and me to have you at casa MOSQUITO.

Thank you !

See you in near future.

Kind regards,
Benjamin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Had a wonderful five night stay during Carnival in this charming hotel. The owners and staff were all wonderful and so attentive. I had a wonderful room with a covered terrace with views of Sugar Loaf, the bay and favela - including from my shower. It was hard to leave this place as it feels very much like staying at a fabulous friend's house in a real neighborhood with the charm of the real Rio. Ladies beware high heels should be left at home as the walk up the hill is on a cobbled road - anyway Havaianas and flat sandals are the go in Rio. Everything is a close walk - beach, cafes, shops, metro, etc. Have the hotel set you up with Marco for some of the best private tour guiding in Rio. Cannot wait to come back soon.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for the rooms with a view to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eask003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjamin C, Propriétaire at Casa Mosquito, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear guest,

It is very gratifying to our team to receive such wonderful compliments from guests
and clients; we truly appreciate you taking the time to do so. It is through such
thoughtful support and feedback like yours that our staff continues to be inspired
to provide impeccable service each day.
We were delighted to read that you had such a great experience at casa MOSQUITO.
Hoping to welcome you again very soon.

All the best,
Benjamin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have to say we had high hopes of Casa Mosquito before we set off on our travels and our expectations were exceeded! We searched for ages for hotels in Rio, but when we saw C.M. it ticked all the boxes on paper and was something different to the standard chain hotels which were on offer mainly in Copacobana.

The day before arrival, we were emailed by the hotel to confirm when we would be arriving in Rio and whether we needed a transfer, so they could start preparations for getting our room ready. We were informed that our room may not be ready till after 12, which was fine although we were arriving in Rio at 6am so we needed to think of something to do to the kill the time.

However, on arrival, they managed to turn the room around and get it ready for us, so we pretty much checked straight in at around 8am which was fantastic!

The room was brilliant, and had a balcony looking over towards Copacabana beach, sugarloaf mountain and also a local Favela which were told is Police Certified and perfectly safe to walk past (as it proved to be).

The staff at the hotel were fantastic and extremely helpful, most notably Benjamin the manager and Rafael the barman (who made fantastic Caipirinha!!).

I highly recommend anyone visiting Rio to stay here and take advantage of the convenient location so close to Ipanema and Copacabana.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjamin C, Propriétaire at Casa Mosquito, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear James,

We were very touched by your kind comments. We very much thank you for taking time to share your experiences at our Hotel.

It was a pleasure to read your impressions regarding our property and its location. Your satisfaction regarding the staffs’ service’s affability is most important for us, and I will be happy to share your comments with all of them.

We look very much forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to casa MOSQUITO in the hopefully not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,
Benjamin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The pros:
-Beautiful design/boutique hotel with a very homely common area.
- fabulous Lanai on terrace
-Small only 4 cosy rooms,
- quaint check in desk
-Excellent bathroom amenities, with douche, fresh soft towels, and robes.
- the interior design is really good, just how I would live in Rio.It's like staying with at a friends house.

The Cons:
-No ceiling fan, so had to use AC
-Can't sleep with doors/window open, to many Mosquitos (fan would keep them off).
- no shower screen and hand held shower head, water goes everywhere.
-A lot of uphill walking from the Main Street, then more stairs to get through to entrance from the gate, hard work and I'm quite fit.
- pacified Favella about 100 yards up the road, felt dangerous, although plenty of police around.
- charge for bringing food/drink to Room.
- service was a little too formal, almost cold. For a 4 room hotel you would expect the inn keepers to be a whole lot more friendly!
- a drinks night would be useful to engage with other guests, whom we never met or saw.
- all views mentioned are strictly limited

Summary:
A little more warmth, friendlyness and hospitality in the style of service is required to enhance the experiance at ths gorgeous property, you must be Fit and able to climb slopes/stairs. Don't turn left when leaving the hotel at night unless you have street sense.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Irishtraveller1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjamin C, Propriétaire at Casa Mosquito, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing casa MOSQUITO for your last visit in Rio de Janeiro and for taking the time to give us a feedback on your experience.

I feel sorry to learn that your experience did not live up to your expectations.
I would like to assure you that we constantly strive to achieve the highest level of service and I truly regret we fell short of our goal with you.

I remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might need and assure you in advance of our best care and attention.

Sincerely,
Benjamin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at Casa Mosquito over New Year and have very mixed views ... The location is ideal as it is just a five minute walk to either Copacabana beach or Ipanema beach. The hotel is well presented and has many high quality features. I liked the layout, especially the large balcony at reception overlooking the local area and the decor in our room. The hotel was very expensive over the New Year as expected, but unfortunately the hotel did nothing extra for the over-hyped price.
Our main criticisms are as follows:
1. Breakfast should be included for the price we paid
2. The shower head could not be fixed at head height making it really awkward to shower.
3. The 'terrace view' was marred by a huge ugly wall across the back of the property.
4. The tiling in the bathroom was poorly finished and window frame paint was rotten.
5. They have a grotesque policy of charging corkage for anything consumed in your room which was not provided by the hotel. If I pay £400 for a room, I expect to use it as I please. This made us determined not to spend anything extra at the hotel. Having travelled for six months across South America I have never seen or heard of this policy before.
6. We asked for a simple voucher to be printed but the staff could not use the printer. We were promised a call to our room when it was printed but no-one called. I then found the document myself in public view in reception. The hotel tried to charge us £1.40 for that service even though no charge was mentioned at the time.
7. The hotel is not as described on their website, It is not a 'beachside' resort - it is a good five minute walk up a steep backstreet. It does not have views of the beach as implied, you can only see the rooftops of Copacabana and nothing of Ipanema.

Overall I did enjoy our stay, but it could have been so much better if the hotel had more welcoming and fair policies.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjamin C, Propriétaire at Casa Mosquito, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Lisa,

Thank you for choosing casa MOSQUITO for your recent stay in Rio de Janeiro, it was a real pleasure to have you staying with us.

Thank you also for your review , we are always eager to hear what you liked and how might improve.

I am very sorry to learn your experience in the hotel were not according to your expectations, which I highly regret.

First i would like to say that Rio is one of the most expensive cities in the world to visit, an our hotel is in the average price for the NYE period.

Over that i would like to offer you some answers regarding your main criticisms :

1/ Breakfast is never included in our rates, because we assume that having choice for the client to take it or not is a better option. And 80% of the hotels in Brazil are working like us. Let me remind you that we offer a really nice tropical breakfast for 45 reias/pers with nespresso, fresh fruits, homemade cake, homemade jelly, fresh bread, delicatessen etc... and you also have a lot of option à la carte if the menu is too big for a client.

2&4/ Regarding the bathroom. casa MOSQUITO is a traditional colonial house from 1942. We did 14 month of renovation, respecting the original aspect of the house, like the window of the bathroom. That is why the hotel as such a good looking. The room you had is the only one with a bath tube, with a large view on ipanema, and a really nice red artisanal tiling. Every single glass pellets is handmade which may have given you the feeling of bad finishes, while it is a craft extremely thorough and expensive.

5/ Corkage fee, we are not using this rule to make it rude for guest. But i am sure you will understand that it is quite difficult, when we offer to our clients all the benefits of a 5 stars hotel : a well-stocked minibar, room service from 7am to 23h, and the presence of a talented chef to prepare lunch and dinner, so we ask our customers kindly avoid bringing outside food and drinks to our place. And basically we do not charge guest for an extra drink coming from outside, but the truth is that in your case you came twice with entires bag of food and drink like if you were in an apartment or an hostel. And i did kindly advise you of that. And if you are totally honest we did not charged you. I am absolutely sure that you understand that the hotel can't support this cost.

6/ I am sorry if the printer did not work but as far as i see your voucher as been printed, and like every other service, it as a cost (ink, paper etc...) and we charged you not 1.40 but 0.60 pounds or 2 R$. But here again you refuse to pay it and we did not charge it...

7/ The location of casa MOSQUITO (5 min walk from copacabana or ipanema beach) is one of the reasons why we are a singular hotel in town, besides design and exclusiveness, and also part of the success of the hotel.

Once again, my apologies for all inconveniences you may have during your stay in the hotel.
We remain at your entire disposal for any further assistance.

Sincerely,
Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
The Villa
#158 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#9 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Gavea Tropical Boutique Hotel
#187 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Hotel Arpoador
Hotel Arpoador
#23 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#12 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#6 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mosquito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mosquito

Property: Casa Mosquito
Address: Rua Saint Roman 222, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22071-060, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 327 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Mosquito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Mosquito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mosquito Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing