We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique hotel steps away from Ipanema beach”
Review of Casa Mosquito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Mosquito
Ranked #25 of 337 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Great location at the foot of the hill behind Ipanema and Copacabana. Literally 7 minutes walking distance to the beach, 5 minutes to the closest restaurants of Ipanema and a bus and metro hub. Stylish rooms in a beautifully remodeled old villa in a nice tropical garden. Great and friendly staff. Beats the more expensive places down the hill many times.Will go there again, next time I am in Rio. This is a small place, so taxis may not know of the place. Have the exact address written on a piece of paper and marked on the map of Rio. But I walked almost all the time, except when I arrived.
Raymond, Santa Barbara

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
There are newer reviews for Casa Mosquito
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 292 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

Casa Mosquito is a stunning place to stay- Its stylish, comfortable and very clean. The rooms are spacious which everything you need. They have fantastic rain showers and you even get mini muffins as a treat in the evening on your pillow. Though it may seem when you first arrive that its not in a great area, you will be very happy with its location. It is very safe and less than a 5 min walk to Ipanema main square and less then 10 min walk to the Ipanema beach. Benjamin is a wonderful host whom also has a good knowledge of the area. The only slight frustration is the sounds of cockerels and dogs barking at night from the favelas but you do get used to it and its not all the time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mvigier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Nice small design hotel, good location between Copacabana and Ipamena. Good service. Small rooms. Clean. Room with sea view is great. We received a very nice honeymoon set up. Breakfast a la carte is a bit expensive, luckily we had it included in the rate. The inner court yard where they serve breakfast is charming.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We travel extensively for work and pleasure and our stay in Casa Mosquito has got to be one of the most pleasant experiences ever. Tucked away on a hillside with a stunning view over Rio, this small boutique hotel is also only a few minutes walk from both Ipanema and Copacabana beaches and in easy walking distance, or a taxi ride, of all the 'downtown' life and fun of Rio. Each room is uniquely, simply and beautifully decorated and the living area is stylish, cool and casual, and so inviting that after a day, or night, on the town, you feel like you have come 'home' and are tempted to spend hours relaxing on the veranda or in the open-air lounge. The owner Benjamin and his team are charming and discreet, but on hand to serve wonderful caipirinhas, excellent meals if you choose to eat in, and answer questions or offer help and advice. We would never stay anywhere else when in Rio!

Room Tip: The rooms are all different, some with balconies, others tucked further away for more privacy.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I've stayed in many hotels due to what I do and quite simply this is one of the best I've ever stayed in. I've also been privileged to stay in Brazil several times and this is, by far, is the best hotel in South America. It's quiet, yet friendly; close to the beach yet away from the tourist traps. The hotel is beautifully designed, modern yet homely. I forgot my travel charger however this problem was resolved when Benjamin, host and owner went out of his way to rectify and sourced a charger for me. Nothing is too much trouble, the breakfast is also delicious. The rooms are tastefully decorated and it is the best hotel bed I've ever slept in.

To conclude, if you have to choose a place to stay in Rio make it Casa Mosquito - I'm confident you will not be disappointed. Simply put, the best hotel in South America.

Room Tip: Just book it.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sjmcloughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed in Casa Mosquito as a solo traveller at the end of a busy trip across Argentina and Brazil, for three nights. Casa mosquito is a lovely, tranquil boutique hotel set in a renovated villa in the hills of Ipanema. When I was there, there were only 4 rooms open so it was lovely and quiet - a perfect retreat. Benjamin was extremely friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for him - there was no hair dryer in the room when I arrived, but within 10 minutes he had brought me up to room. The bed was so comfy I could hardly get out of it in the morning! Unfortunately, it rained the whole time I was in Rio however I used to the time to just rejuvenate and drank lots of lovely caprihinas on the balcony! The food was also lovely. It's not a cheap hotel, but well worth every penny in my opinion. I would definitely come back.

A word of warning - the villa is set on a steep hill, and there are quite a few steps upto the hotel. Benjamin organises someone to help you with your luggage ( even when I left in the middle of the night) but if you have any problems with mobility and walking up hills, you may wish to stay somewhere else. If you are averagely fit you will be fine. For me it was part of the charm.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Hayleydg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

It wa really a treat to stay with the folks at Casa Mosquito. Benjamin and Lydia and the staff took pride in thee service and assisted us with enthusiasm. The hotel location is a short walk from Ipanema an Copacabana beaches, perfect. The rooms are lovely and relaxing. I enjoyed the in-room massage and the pure and tasty fresh fruit cocktails as well. Can't say enough about this place-you should stay here! Thanks, Ben and Emily

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilylynnemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#8 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
303 reviews
Ipanema
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fashion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fa...
#5 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
290 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Arpoador
Hotel Arpoador
#26 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#4 of 337 in Rio de Janeiro
395 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Marques
Casa Marques
#8 of 337 in Rio de Janeiro
101 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 337 in Rio de Janeiro
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mosquito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mosquito

Address: Rua Saint Roman 222, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22071-060, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $279 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Mosquito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Mosquito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mosquito Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing