We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Casa Mosquito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Mosquito
Ranked #26 of 331 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Casa Mosquito is a stunning place to stay- Its stylish, comfortable and very clean. The rooms are spacious which everything you need. They have fantastic rain showers and you even get mini muffins as a treat in the evening on your pillow. Though it may seem when you first arrive that its not in a great area, you will be very happy with its location. It is very safe and less than a 5 min walk to Ipanema main square and less then 10 min walk to the Ipanema beach. Benjamin is a wonderful host whom also has a good knowledge of the area. The only slight frustration is the sounds of cockerels and dogs barking at night from the favelas but you do get used to it and its not all the time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mvigier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    49
    16
    9
    10
See reviews for
24
171
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Nice small design hotel, good location between Copacabana and Ipamena. Good service. Small rooms. Clean. Room with sea view is great. We received a very nice honeymoon set up. Breakfast a la carte is a bit expensive, luckily we had it included in the rate. The inner court yard where they serve breakfast is charming.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We travel extensively for work and pleasure and our stay in Casa Mosquito has got to be one of the most pleasant experiences ever. Tucked away on a hillside with a stunning view over Rio, this small boutique hotel is also only a few minutes walk from both Ipanema and Copacabana beaches and in easy walking distance, or a taxi ride, of all the 'downtown' life and fun of Rio. Each room is uniquely, simply and beautifully decorated and the living area is stylish, cool and casual, and so inviting that after a day, or night, on the town, you feel like you have come 'home' and are tempted to spend hours relaxing on the veranda or in the open-air lounge. The owner Benjamin and his team are charming and discreet, but on hand to serve wonderful caipirinhas, excellent meals if you choose to eat in, and answer questions or offer help and advice. We would never stay anywhere else when in Rio!

Room Tip: The rooms are all different, some with balconies, others tucked further away for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I've stayed in many hotels due to what I do and quite simply this is one of the best I've ever stayed in. I've also been privileged to stay in Brazil several times and this is, by far, is the best hotel in South America. It's quiet, yet friendly; close to the beach yet away from the tourist traps. The hotel is beautifully designed, modern yet homely. I forgot my travel charger however this problem was resolved when Benjamin, host and owner went out of his way to rectify and sourced a charger for me. Nothing is too much trouble, the breakfast is also delicious. The rooms are tastefully decorated and it is the best hotel bed I've ever slept in.

To conclude, if you have to choose a place to stay in Rio make it Casa Mosquito - I'm confident you will not be disappointed. Simply put, the best hotel in South America.

Room Tip: Just book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sjmcloughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed in Casa Mosquito as a solo traveller at the end of a busy trip across Argentina and Brazil, for three nights. Casa mosquito is a lovely, tranquil boutique hotel set in a renovated villa in the hills of Ipanema. When I was there, there were only 4 rooms open so it was lovely and quiet - a perfect retreat. Benjamin was extremely friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for him - there was no hair dryer in the room when I arrived, but within 10 minutes he had brought me up to room. The bed was so comfy I could hardly get out of it in the morning! Unfortunately, it rained the whole time I was in Rio however I used to the time to just rejuvenate and drank lots of lovely caprihinas on the balcony! The food was also lovely. It's not a cheap hotel, but well worth every penny in my opinion. I would definitely come back.

A word of warning - the villa is set on a steep hill, and there are quite a few steps upto the hotel. Benjamin organises someone to help you with your luggage ( even when I left in the middle of the night) but if you have any problems with mobility and walking up hills, you may wish to stay somewhere else. If you are averagely fit you will be fine. For me it was part of the charm.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayleydg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2012

It wa really a treat to stay with the folks at Casa Mosquito. Benjamin and Lydia and the staff took pride in thee service and assisted us with enthusiasm. The hotel location is a short walk from Ipanema an Copacabana beaches, perfect. The rooms are lovely and relaxing. I enjoyed the in-room massage and the pure and tasty fresh fruit cocktails as well. Can't say enough about this place-you should stay here! Thanks, Ben and Emily

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilylynnemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. Both Benjamin and Lydia were extremely helpful and the hotel location is ideal - a few minutes from both Copacabana and Ipanema. The views from the room were excellent.

During our trip we have stayed in many hotels and it was nice to stay somewhere that was a little less formal, more relaxed and friendly than the typical mainstream hotel.

The room was very clean and was in perfect condition and had loads of qwirky features. Benjamin hires local staff from the nearby favella and we ended up trying to teach one of them English which was fun. Lydia also makes a great hot chocolate - certainly recommend you have one even though she wouldn´t give away her secret ingredient to us(!)

Overall - really recommend

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#10 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
271 reviews
Ipanema
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fashion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fa...
#6 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
250 reviews
The Villa
#164 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gavea Tropical Boutique Hotel
#187 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
86 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Marques
Casa Marques
#8 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
87 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Geranio
Casa Geranio
#10 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mosquito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mosquito

Property: Casa Mosquito
Address: Rua Saint Roman 222, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22071-060, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Mosquito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Mosquito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mosquito Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing