We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Let down”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Lisetonga Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lisetonga Hostel
Rio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Let down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Agreeing with the previous reviews of it being a fun hostel in a great location, our stay began great. But in the end We felt really let down by the staff during our stay (apart from Arnya, who was amazing to deal with), but the male staff were rude and made us feel really unwelcome. There were also stringent rules around breakfast- which begins only at 8.30 meaning we often missed it being out sightseeing. There were also no keys to the separate dorms and stuff of ours went missing from our room, just little things like headphones etc but still frustrating. We were also charged a different rate for each night we stayed, and no one could tell us why. We'd also booked on hostel bookers and that special rate was void for some reason. The beds are also covered in plastic so every time you move you wake up the whole room. Regardless, the hostel is good if you want something basic in a good place, we just feel quite let down by the service for the price we paid.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellingjourno2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisetonga Hoste... R, Director General at Lisetonga Hostel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello and thank you for staying with us. Our staff and owners are pretty friendly crowd so we are surprised with your statement. As it is obvious from hundreds of other reviews, most guests do not have such issue and we truly wonder where we went wrong in your case.
We have few rules that we believe are very useful for well-being of all guests, such as limit noise after 11pm, or everyone washing his/her dishes, or breakfast start and finish time. You always have coffee and bread available free of charge if you need to leave early. Note, that as you will travel more you will find places where coffee bread and butter is the only thing you get. In Lisetonga we serve full breakfast and it is ready every morning at 8.30 with fresh bread and often freshly baked cakes.

When you share dorms it makes really no sense to have key to the room, because other people will also have key to that room. Most people use lockers, and ours are very big, to keep away their valuable items. It is frustrating that you blame us for you not keeping your stuff in the locker.
The prices for the worldcup were the same as during Carnival period. Our boss is very easy to talk to and she would gladly explain you everything if you have actually asked.
The beds are covered in plastic in order to avoid bedbugs. Have you ever tried to sleep in bed with bedbugs? Some travelers did and they appreciate the fact that our beds are easy to clean with no bugs.
Safe travels,
Lisetonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    92
    21
    4
    0
See reviews for
16
67
173
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Listonga was the best part of my brazil trip. The hostel is owned by a lovely couple who actually work there and interact with their guests. The staff was warm, accommodating, helpful, and fun. The facilities were very clean, and same goes for the rooms. The breakfast was fair and it is located in a cool neighborhood with lots of good little food places. The hostel is up a bit of a steep hill, but don't be discouraged, the hike is worth it.

Thanks Lisetonga, from the Canadian boys.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaylabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

The location is great! The people are great, honesty I can't say one bad thing about this place! We stayed here for a week and then went to a b&b and wished we didn't leave so we rebooked for another week. If you want a place that's close to the beach and has really friendly staff then definitely stay here! Thanks from the Canadian boys!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

An ambition of mine was to attend a World Cup abroad and the prospect of Brazil 2014 was something I couldn’t turn down.

Coupled with the prospect of meeting two of my best friends who have been travelling around South America for the last year, it was the perfect scenario.

After securing flights the next step was to book accommodation. I debated whether to book a hotel but opted for a hostel to provide the opportunity of meeting new people and to sample the international “banter”.

Lisetonga Hostel was my chosen location after noticing good reviews on Trip Advisor.
The Hostel is 5minutes walk from Copacabana beach and a taxi ride to Lapa where I experienced the famous street parties is cheap at 25R$ (equiv £6.50) and takes 20minutes from the hostel.

The staff were very helpful, engaging and great fun. I enjoyed many a drink when taking advantage of the hostel bar that has happy hour from 7pm with 2 for 1 on Caipirinha’s at 7R$ (£1.85).

The hostel bar was so cheap it felt like we were bamboozling their alcohol supplies 

During my two week stay I met a lot of good people who I shared many a beer with.

If you are looking for a safe, clean, vibrant hostel which is 5minutes from Copacabana and looking to have lots of banter with a variety of different characters, Lisetonga Hostel would be a perfect choice.

Had the best 2 weeks of partying in Rio and have met a few people at this hostel that I will be meeting in future for a “beer reunion”!!!

Thanks for the Memories!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IronMan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

I'll preface this by saying it's not a bad hostel. The service is good, the rooms decent, the atmosphere upbeat...if you're looking for a fun hostel this could definitely be your holy grail.

But this is also definitely a place that caters to the party goers, and does little (read: nothing) to ensure or enforce any sort of quiet time rules.

As I speak it's 3:23 am and people are rummaging about like it's 3:23 pm. There's music blaring from somewhere, at least 3 loud distinct conversations going on, TV from the common area...and because the hostel doesn't trust people with keys, the front door (which is a thin wall away from the dorms) buzzes and dings whenever a new person comes home as they wait for someone to buzz them in.

Maybe I'm too old to appreciate this at 28, but I want my hostels to be a fun environment from noon to 10pm, and let's people sleep in peace thereafter. Not a place that helps keep the party going throughout the night - there's plenty of places in Rio to provide that, the hostel need not be one of them.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

I came with a group of friends and we had a great time here.
Very nice building and good location close to the beach of Copacabana, where you are able to see typical Rio day to day lifestyle.
Excellent place to meet people, so you'll always find someone to hang out or just to have a couple of drinks.
Super friendly staff, specially Anya and Tahir, would love them to visit us in our home country.
So if you're coming to Rio no doubt in coming to Lisetonga Hostel, you'll definetely enjoy it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Hussein D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saarbrucken, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had a perfect stay at this wonderful place. The staff is VERY helpful and friendly. The hostel is very clean and well organised. The beds are comfortable. Nice common area to socialise. Don't worry because of the favela. People there is friendly and not agressive at all. The little hill you will have to "climb" is neither a problem - and there are mototaxis if you need one.
Highly recommended and a special thank to Karina (alias Bianca ;) )
Special tip: rent one of their scooters. You will have a great day in Rio !!!!
'll Defenately come back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saarphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Le House Hostel
#35 of 761 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Babilonia Rio Hostel
#4 of 761 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Santa Teresa
Sante Hostel
Sante Hostel
#31 of 761 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vidigalhouse Hostel
#32 of 761 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Leblon
Lemon Spirit Hostel
Lemon Spirit Hostel
#20 of 761 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Manga Hostel
#30 of 761 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisetonga Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisetonga Hostel

Property: Lisetonga Hostel
Address: Ladeira Ari Barroso, 15, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22010-060, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Leme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 761 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated, chalet-style house, just three blocks from the beach. We have spacious dorms and private rooms and four beautiful social areas. Come and join us for breakfast on the terrace or chill out in a hammock in the tower lounge with a spectacular view of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Lisetonga Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisetonga Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing