We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lisetonga Hostel
Nearby Hotels
$217
$194
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
$561
$545
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$40
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Orla Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$87
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Windsor Barra(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$113
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rio Othon Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Copacabana Rio Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Atlantis Copacabana(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$59
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Brisa Barra Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$92
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)
$213
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveler rating
394
92
21
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
394
92
21
4
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 511 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I really liked this hostel, people were so friendly and we did not have any problem. Great price, cozy interior and very close to the beach. The owner treated us in a way that was way beyond our expectations - we went for lunch, had a great talk while drinking beer and helped us with pointing out good places for going out and sightseeing. I would and will definitely recommend this hostel for anyone heading to Rio.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Vandita33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I had never stayed in a hostel before but needed somewhere for a couple of weeks and it was initially quite daunting moving into a place alone with 7 other people in your dormitory. But the staff are all excellent and really go out of their way to help you and make you feel at home. I made some really good friends there and had a fantastic couple of weeks and was sad to go!

I enjoyed my stay there so much the following weekend I went back to say hello to the staff have a couple of beers and a bite to eat (the food I had at the local restaurant is the best I've had in 6 weeks in Rio) and ended up staying the night!

Location is excellent besides the great food close by the beach is very close, and the hostel is cleaned everyday throughly.

Thanks to Rick, Elba, Bruno and all the other staff for a great stay... and see you soon!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Great location, friendly staff, good breakfast, really informative. All round a great hostel to stay at. If you are concerned about being slightly out of Copacabana or being away from Ipanema then my advice is don't be... Leme is really close to the best transport links to get basically everywhere you want to go. Anyway it's a fun walk along the beach to Copacabana or even Ipanema if you don't mind a bit of a trek... It's worth it for the people watching alone!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingfoodie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Great place to stay and feel at home. I extended my stay 3 times :) Make friends and enjoy a great breakfast in relaxed atmosphere in the courtyard of the hostel.
It is a short walk up a small hill, Leme beach is at the foot of the hill. The bus station going to the main attractions is about 15 mins walk from the hostel, the nearest metro station is 20 mins away. A supermarket, bakery and other shops are in walking distance as well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuliaReist2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

First of all a big thank you to the owner and the staff and to Ester ( the parrot) of the hostel!
We have spent 4 nights in the hostel Lisetonga. We were really impressed by the atmosphere and the great stuff. Besides you can observe the daily life of the "cariocas" because they are your neighbors :-)

Lets share some details:

Location: the hostel is actually very close to the beach Copacabana - part Leme! Its very convenient when you like to enjoy the beach. The Bus and even Metro station is in walking distance! We recommend to print a map before going to the hostel for the first time... Its not easy to find. When you have luggage ... Its better to take a cab because you have to climb a hill ! You can also enjoy the ride by a mototaxi.. Which is cheap and the guys are friendly.

Staff and service: they are really great! Ready to serve and to help you with anything. In the morning you are starting with a nice and rich breakfast! We recommend to try their home made caipirinhas in the bar in the evening :-) the prices are very reasonable! The bar is very cozy and a good option when you don't like to go out in the evening ...or when its raining.

If you like to read... There are plenty interesting books also for exchange! :-)

Security: they have got lockers in the rooms, 24 hrs reception. The neighborhood is controlled by police and it seems safe and locals are friendly. Once in Latin America, one has to be conscious all the time.

During our stay we felt like at home :-) like in an oases. Its a place you will enjoy!

Dovidenia!

Room Tip: The room next to the bar can be noisy :-(
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RamonR013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews