We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveler rating
251
44
7
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
251
44
7
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 304 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2016

We loved our 4 night stay at Caslegre Art during the Olympics. The hosts Daniel and Rennie and Mario are so friendly and make you feel special. They are very caring and laid back and really want you to enjoy your time in Santa Teresa. The rooms are all decorated by local artists which makes you feel like you are part of an art exhibition in this fantastic area of Rio. The staff are very caring and make the most fantastic breakfasts catering for gluten free and vegan. Casalegre is only a short 15 minute walk from Gloria metro station and felt safe while we were there. I would highly recommend Casalegre and would definitely stay here if I ever return to Rio. Thanks you were Fab

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cafejohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Manager at Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2016

Thank you so much for your beautiful review and compliments!
We are grateful that you enjoyed everything about your stay here and had such a great time in Santa and Rio. We look forward to see you again sometime. You are always welcome at Casalegre...
Kind regards,
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2016

It's true you feel like you are visiting friends or family, the staff is incredible and each day they make sure to look after you and chat with you about your plans for the day and help you with recommendations or reservations. You will also meet interesting international visitors staying at Casaalegre. The rooms are lovely, with views, comfortable beds and plenty of common spaces to sit. The breakfast is super tasty; fresh tropical fruits and juices, breads, coffee etc. The neighborhoods is fantastic to explore, plenty of neighborhood bars, samba, friendly people...and we always felt safe. The beaches are short metro rides away and when you have had enough of the crowds and noise go back to your lovely room at Casa Alegre :)

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lucy30196
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Manager at Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2016

Thank you so much for your lovely review and compliments.
It was a real pleasure to meet you and share some wonders of Rio with you.
I'm glad you felt at home at Casalegre and we are looking forward to see you again sometime!
You are always welcome to stay here.
Best wishes!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2016

Have you ever heard the saying "friends and family make a house a home'? That's the best way I can describe Casalegre.

The property itself is very artsy, has beautiful decor made by local artists adorning the walls, and nicely furnished rooms (we stayed in one of the rooms (Jade Room) with a hammock, double bed, living area and kitchenette complete with oven and fridge). The only issue was that at night it was a bit loud (the doors on the patio facing the street have no glass), so if you're a light sleeper it may be an issue. One small tip for this room - if you have issues in the Jade room turning the water on from hot to cold in the shower, the knob is not in the wall, but is a small knob just under the showerhead itself to adjust the temperature.

The room was comfortable, the main area (outside in the backyard with a canopy overtop) was colourful, and there were even lounging areas near the front to play games or read.

All these things make the grounds of Casalegre a great comfortable and clean place to stay for a week or two. However, that's not what makes this bed and breakfast unique and amazing.

It's the staff. Mario and Daniel both went above and beyond the call of duty in taking care of us since we got there. Infact, we booked our trip based on seeing all the reviews raving about how great the experiences were at Casalegre - and we were not disappointed.

The moment you walk in, the staff not only helps you by giving you advice on where to go (and where not to go!), but also helping you plan you day trips, making reservations, etc.. all things that you would expect from most concierges at most hotels. However, what makes Casalegre different is that they would always help you, and made you feel like you were the only guest at the resort, bending over backwards to assist you with any problem or research to give you good advice about the city.

Every time we got up, we went downstairs for one of the most amazing breakfasts ever (check the other reviews on tripadvisor - the breakfast does not disappoint - fresh bread, cheese, fruits, yogurt, coffee - it was one of the best meals in Rio, on a daily basis). Mario would greet us and ask about our day, and what we planned to do. Every night we came back, he would ask about our day, and we would have a lengthy conversation with him. It's things like this - consistently mind you - that makes Casalegre great and one of the best hotels or B&B's we have ever been to.

In short - Casalegre is a colorful and bright B&B located in the heart of Santa Theresa. Perfectly safe (when you get there they map out the area that is safe 24-7 and is guarded) and bustling with lively bars that are just a 2 minute walk from them, Casalegre has a great location - nearby bars that are full of life at night, as well as close to the Gloria subway station (a great way to get to the rest of the city!), comfortable accommodations, and most importantly, staff that bends over backwards and makes you feel like a friend rather than a guest.

I would highly recommend staying at Casalegre, and if we go to Rio again, my wife and I will certainly stay there.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JourneyDawn715
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Manager at Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2016

Thank you my dear friend for one of the most remarkable reviews that we ever had.
It precisely describes us and our services and efforts to make people feel at home to better discover Rio and its marvelous attractions...
We all appreciate your compliments and look forward to see you again!
You are always welcome here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2016

i have stayed at Casa alegre many times and now it is the only place I will stay in Rio. It is truly a home like atmosphere with an aura of comfort and cool without trying too hard. The staff are great - truly helpful and considerate. Great breakfast - can even get american style Ouvos meshido! (scrambled eggs). It is like staying in an art gallery - with all sorts of works adorning the walls of the office/common room and individualized settings in each room. All real cool - muito legal! Thank you Stefano!

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianwillson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Manager at Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2016

Thank you dear Brian for your warm review and compliments.
It's always a pleasure to have you staying at our home and enjoy great talks with you.
We are looking forward to see you here soon!
Grande abraço e tudo e bom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2016

The location is great. The villa is beautiful with all the art collection. And the hosts are amazing. They made sure everything was in place even before I arrived in Rio. Since I was travelling solo, I had a number of questions before deciding on an accommodation and Daniel always replied instantly to all my queries. Highly recommended!!!

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Violina29
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Manager at Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2016

Thank you so much for your review Violina!
It was really a great pleasure to meet you and have you staying in our lovely home...
You are always welcome here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews