We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Rio Short Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa
Ranked #4 of 331 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
“Perfect Rio Short Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed for only one night but had an incredible experience at Casalegre. The owners were BEYOND helpful and spent so much time explaining to us how to get around, enjoy the area and many other useful tips. We met great people just hanging around in the courtyard and fell in love with Santa Teresa. I would recommend this charming arty B&B to anyone looking to see a more funky side of Rio. Comfortable, affordable, warm and charming. Top Notch choice!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Manager at Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Hi Emily,

thanks for your review!
we love to share our time and give all the possible good advise(even if it is for short period of time) with nice pepole like you, it is always a pleasure to treat curious and smiling travellers as old friends....really hope to see you again in the future!!

Casalegre Art Vila Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    43
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
112
47
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Perfect location in a safe neighborhood. Nice and spacious rooms, very clean and well kept. The breakfast was excellent and the entire staff really took great care of us (Marco is simply wonderful)! Feel-at-home-ambiance... we just loved it and hope to come back one day!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Manager at Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Franziska and Benjamin,

thanks a lot for your nice words...we are glad to share our "happiness" and to set up the house with a real and full brazilian breakfast!
Really hope to see you back here for a Capirinha together :-)

Casalegre Art Vila Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Casa Alegre - the name says it all:
a place to feel at home in bustling Rio. You'll find peace and quiet, and at the same time a vivid, joy- and colourful environment created by humorous and caring people!
I love how every room has its own vibe and if it wasn't for the great breakfast - fresh fruit, cereals, tasty bread and cheese, homemade pao de queijo or cake ... - would have hardly left my room ... :)
But not only breakfast was waiting; before all the guests head out to explore Rio the reception and the courtyard, where breakfast is served, seem to turn into a tourist information office. The staff is super helpful when it comes to planning your day in or outside Rio!
The only thing I didn't like about Casa Alegre was leaving it... but I solved this problem by returning a second time...
Obrigadão!!
Yvonne

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvipopivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Manager at Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Hallo Schlafmütze! :-)

thanks so much for the lovely comments...we really like to be helpful and sometimes we are able to be super helpful eheheh!
ps. when are you coming back again????

Obrigado a vocé!!
Casalegre Art Vila Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

a Rio-based collegue recommended Casalegre to us, we booked the biggest room (rather a suite) at an amazing rate, had even to prolong our stay before arriving, which was easily done by email. Before leaving home we got another email offering us airport transfer, and when we arrived at Casalegre, we felt most heartely wolcome like coming to some close friends.
So we stayed in Santa Teresa for 4 nights just the time before Christmas - and were very happy. We didn't need AC as we felt safe enough to let the window open during the night, we enjoyed the breakfast in the patio, meeting the staff and other guests and getting their infos about what to do and where to eat in Rio.
The only (little) difficulty was to tell a taxi driver - lets say in the Copacabana area - where to go, because he would not know Casalegre. And telling "Rua Monte Alegre" brought us to a hotel called "Monte Alegre", which is at the very beginning of the street and quite a detour. After the 3. time I had the idea to ask the taxidriver to bring us to "Bar do Gomez", which is an very nice, lively place just next corner from Casalegre. And that worked perfectly!

Room Tip: If you need space: Room 201 - Jade Mascarenhas
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RReiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Manager at Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
hallo Wolfgang und Doris!

danke für Ihren Kommentar...our mission is exactly to let our guests feel at home, like close friends!
You mentioned a good and delicate point, taxi driver :-)
Anyhow we are giving as well good "tips" to everybody in order to be back here at Casalegre.
um grande abraço
Casalegre Art Vila staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

I was very happy to stay for 5 unforgettable days in Casalegre together with my friends. Most of all i love the staff, these guys are really friendly and they speak english very well. We got all information we needed to explore the points of interest in Rio: when and where to go, where better not to go, what to see, what to eat and drink, how much to pay etc. They help to plan your day give you the map, show the routes and explain everything thoroughly. The place is very clean and cozy, rooms are designed in a very stylish and traditional manner. Breakfast is light, the coffee was very good. But especially i loved traditional delicious cheese breads - pao de queijo - they baked in the mornings. They also gave me a recipe and i already baked some of pao de quejio at home, may be not so good as in Casalegre. The villa is located in artistic area of Santa Teresa which is safe and quiet at night. There are some good traditional restaurants in 5 minutes walk and 15 minutes walk to Lapa district where you will find a lot of restaurants and night clubs to hear and dance some samba. I would definitely recommend this pace to anyone who is going to visit Rio.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0lik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Manager at Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi Tolik,

paldies!!! :)

we also have been enjoying your company and we are happy that you felt quite like at home here! It's very interesting how this "happy house" attract "happy" people...so please if you have to send friends here, remind just the good ones eheh

ps. we will send you more Brazilian recipes !!

Casalegre Art Vila Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, CANADA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casalegre in Dec. 23-27. Comfort, charming place decorated with arts, excellent location, great breakfast and hospitality are attributes for this B&B or place. Staff are very helpful and friendly, ensuring that you enjoy your visit of Rio and discover the charm and nice restaurants of Santa Theresa district of Rio. Staff speak good english which is rather rare in Brazil (if you do know portugese). On our second day, we took 2 of their bikes and biked down and all over Rio on their fantastic dedicated bike lanes along parks and beaches. Definitely a great lodging place that we would recommend highly to our friends who wish to visit Rio.

Room Tip: All rooms at Casalegre are good, depending of how many persons in a room, have place for family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canucks55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Manager at Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Val & Andre,
thanks so much for the lovely words!
Good english and good french as well (not Marco though eheh, but Raphael did)!
Happy that you have been enjoying so much the place and also the bike!
ps. looking forward to receiving your maple syrup, new guests will be thankful!
all the best
Casalegre Art Vila Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Very cozy, charming and tranquil pousada in the heart of the artistic hilltop district of Santa Teresa overlooking the vibrant city of Rio de Janeiro.
Great managment, very sincere staff and they speak good English which is very very rare in Brasil! Everyone took time in assisting us during our stay in Rio with advice, trip routes, recommendations,etc.
Very clean and relatively spacious rooms; some with in-suite bathroom (such as room 205 "Dada Olivera") and some with very spacious and very clean shared bathrooms. Each room has a unique interior designed by different artists and styles. Spacious foyer with modern artwoork of local artists and photographers. Nice patio to relax and enjoy the serenity and bohemian lifestyle of Santa Teresa. Breakfast is served in the inner courtyard; fresh fruits and juices, aromatic coffee and great pao de queijo.
Santa Teresa "wakes up" in the late afternoon. All the bars and restaurants in Santa Teresa can be reached within a couple of minutes by foot; just follow the tram tracks.
Casalegre and Santa Teresa is great starting point to explore Rio de Janeiro. Lapa district, Carioca disctrict and the historic Center can be reached easily by foot walking downhill; alternatively you can take the small busses which run almost every 10-15min during daytime. The Christ statue, Sugarloaf and famous beaches of Copacabana, Ipanema and Leblon require a 20-30 min taxi ride (prices range somewhat between 40-60R$ depending on the length of the trip).
We had a wonderful stay in Rio de Janeiro and felt secure all the time.
"Muito obrigado" Casalegre-Team!

Room Tip: 205 with side entrance on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phatty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Manager at Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
hallo Mehmet und Esra,

thanks a lot for your nice words, we are so happy you like the "happy house" and that our advise were helpful.
And as agreed please if you have to send here some friends just send us lovely people like you!!

um abraço
Casalegre Art Vila Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Slaviero Lifestyle Rio de Janeir...
#7 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#2 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#1 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#5 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#3 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
#8 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa

Property: Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa
Address: Rua Monte Alegre 316, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-193, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casalegre Art Vila is your best accommodation in Rio de Janeiro's cultural heart, Santa Teresa. In a centenary house, recently refurbished, we offer private rooms for short and mid-term stays. Home of artists of all kinds and kingdoms, this famous hilly neighborhood will take your breath away with its views, architecture, museums, parks, bars, restaurants and the people. If you appreciate independence, the 'home sweet home' feeling and a personalized service, this is the perfect place for your stay in Rio. A house that combines lodging, art and wellness. The rooms are decorated with artwork from different local artists and the gallery periodically receives art exhibitions and vernissages. Guests can enjoy activities related to health and wellness and the staff are the most friendly, knowledgeable and supporting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing