We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable holidays in Rio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa
Ranked #4 of 331 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
“Unforgettable holidays in Rio”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I was very happy to stay for 5 unforgettable days in Casalegre together with my friends. Most of all i love the staff, these guys are really friendly and they speak english very well. We got all information we needed to explore the points of interest in Rio: when and where to go, where better not to go, what to see, what to eat and drink, how much to pay etc. They help to plan your day give you the map, show the routes and explain everything thoroughly. The place is very clean and cozy, rooms are designed in a very stylish and traditional manner. Breakfast is light, the coffee was very good. But especially i loved traditional delicious cheese breads - pao de queijo - they baked in the mornings. They also gave me a recipe and i already baked some of pao de quejio at home, may be not so good as in Casalegre. The villa is located in artistic area of Santa Teresa which is safe and quiet at night. There are some good traditional restaurants in 5 minutes walk and 15 minutes walk to Lapa district where you will find a lot of restaurants and night clubs to hear and dance some samba. I would definitely recommend this pace to anyone who is going to visit Rio.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0lik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Manager at Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi Tolik,

paldies!!! :)

we also have been enjoying your company and we are happy that you felt quite like at home here! It's very interesting how this "happy house" attract "happy" people...so please if you have to send friends here, remind just the good ones eheh

ps. we will send you more Brazilian recipes !!

Casalegre Art Vila Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    43
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
114
47
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, CANADA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casalegre in Dec. 23-27. Comfort, charming place decorated with arts, excellent location, great breakfast and hospitality are attributes for this B&B or place. Staff are very helpful and friendly, ensuring that you enjoy your visit of Rio and discover the charm and nice restaurants of Santa Theresa district of Rio. Staff speak good english which is rather rare in Brazil (if you do know portugese). On our second day, we took 2 of their bikes and biked down and all over Rio on their fantastic dedicated bike lanes along parks and beaches. Definitely a great lodging place that we would recommend highly to our friends who wish to visit Rio.

Room Tip: All rooms at Casalegre are good, depending of how many persons in a room, have place for family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canucks55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Manager at Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Val & Andre,
thanks so much for the lovely words!
Good english and good french as well (not Marco though eheh, but Raphael did)!
Happy that you have been enjoying so much the place and also the bike!
ps. looking forward to receiving your maple syrup, new guests will be thankful!
all the best
Casalegre Art Vila Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Very cozy, charming and tranquil pousada in the heart of the artistic hilltop district of Santa Teresa overlooking the vibrant city of Rio de Janeiro.
Great managment, very sincere staff and they speak good English which is very very rare in Brasil! Everyone took time in assisting us during our stay in Rio with advice, trip routes, recommendations,etc.
Very clean and relatively spacious rooms; some with in-suite bathroom (such as room 205 "Dada Olivera") and some with very spacious and very clean shared bathrooms. Each room has a unique interior designed by different artists and styles. Spacious foyer with modern artwoork of local artists and photographers. Nice patio to relax and enjoy the serenity and bohemian lifestyle of Santa Teresa. Breakfast is served in the inner courtyard; fresh fruits and juices, aromatic coffee and great pao de queijo.
Santa Teresa "wakes up" in the late afternoon. All the bars and restaurants in Santa Teresa can be reached within a couple of minutes by foot; just follow the tram tracks.
Casalegre and Santa Teresa is great starting point to explore Rio de Janeiro. Lapa district, Carioca disctrict and the historic Center can be reached easily by foot walking downhill; alternatively you can take the small busses which run almost every 10-15min during daytime. The Christ statue, Sugarloaf and famous beaches of Copacabana, Ipanema and Leblon require a 20-30 min taxi ride (prices range somewhat between 40-60R$ depending on the length of the trip).
We had a wonderful stay in Rio de Janeiro and felt secure all the time.
"Muito obrigado" Casalegre-Team!

Room Tip: 205 with side entrance on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phatty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Manager at Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
hallo Mehmet und Esra,

thanks a lot for your nice words, we are so happy you like the "happy house" and that our advise were helpful.
And as agreed please if you have to send here some friends just send us lovely people like you!!

um abraço
Casalegre Art Vila Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I stayed at Casalegre for the third time this year and I was really sad that I only had two nights there this time.

The house and team is amazing. The rooms are decorated by up and coming artists and all have their own, individual, energy and vibe. Breakfast and service are wonderful and I do feel like visiting friends rather than staying in a hotel whenever I am there. The atmosphere makes me feel at home away from home.

The team are very helpful with their tips on what to do in Rio and even Ilha Grande. They have contacts to great guides and always a special tip on what to do, where to go and where to eat in Rio. They have helped me/ us with booking a good and socially responsible tour of the favelas, a trip to a Samba school and hiring bikes to take advantage of free avenues for cyclists on weekends.

Casalegre is beautifully located in Santa Teresa, only steps away from lively bars and excellent restaurants. Especially at night, Santa Teresa and Casalegre have an almost magical quality - at least for me. I recommend it wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: Each room has its own charm so it is difficult to praise one above the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_B_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Manager at Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hi Heike (and Steve),

thanks so much for your review and lovely comment....we are glad that our happy vibe arrive to you and other guests, but we do believe that this place attracts good people that help to create this atmosphere at Casalegre!
Come back soon...

um abraço
Casalegre Art Vila Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in November/December for 14nights, after a wash out in Ilha Grande, we needed an energy plan b and thank the rain for Casalegre!

The team are more than helpful and know more about the 'real' Rio than the tourist board and any website or forum you will find.

The collection of adorning the walls in of the most highest and creative quality.

The breakfast is the best we have tasted in 5 years of visiting Rio with fresh fruits, homemade cakes and treats, eggs, bread - healthy and delicious!

Santa Teresa is diamond and nothing reflects this better than the team at Casalegre.

My husband and I will be back year after year.

Quite simply the best hotel in Rio.

Room Tip: The room overlooking the courtyard is perfect - big windows, breezy, light and quiet too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsabelOConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Manager at Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Hi Isabel,
Thanks so much for the compliments and we are waiting for your return then, year after year hopefully... We enjoyed so much to have met you and Danny and we are looking forward to see you again soon... Maybe next year at the beaches by your backyard... ;)
Grande beijo e tudo de bom,
Daniel

PS: for the curious, the room she mentioned is the 206 - Bárbara Sotério...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed here the first 5 nights in Rio. It is the perfect place to start your trip and discover RIO. Rooms are big with normal and good beds. The breakfast is very good & varied and with fresh juices, fruit and nice bread. The staff is friendly and very helpfull. Marco the owner really gives you the feeling like your home. Bars and restaurants are within 5 minutes walk!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 175mauritss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Manager at Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Hey Maurits!!!

i thought you never write....ahaha :)
thanks again for the nice "dutch" vibe you bring to Casalegre,
and all the explosion of Nienke!!
hope to see you back here someday

um abraço
Casalegre art Vila staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Koog, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed in Casalegre for two weeks and as the title of our review is saying: it was a warm and very friendly welcome, being for the first time in Rio. Although our visit was partly family business, Daniel and his staff were so very helpful in everything: advice where to go for sightseeing, where to have a good meal and much more... Our room was excellent, every morning a wonderful breakfast with fresh juices and fruits (we liked the little cheese breads so much!), free WI-FI....do we need to say more? Maybe this: next year we will be back in Rio and definitely will book a room in Casalegre, Santa Teresa!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maarten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Manager at Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
goedendag Maarten,

thanks for the nice words, it was a pleasure to host you!
Hope to see you then next year...are you coming to see your son or just to support the Netherlands for the world cup???? :)

groeten
Casalegre Art Vila Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Slaviero Lifestyle Rio de Janeir...
#10 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
284 reviews
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#9 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
271 reviews
Catete
Hotel 1900
Hotel 1900
#39 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
772 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#2 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
580 reviews
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#6 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa

Property: Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa
Address: Rua Monte Alegre 316, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-193, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casalegre Art Vila is your best accommodation in Rio de Janeiro's cultural heart, Santa Teresa. In a centenary house, recently refurbished, we offer private rooms for short and mid-term stays. Home of artists of all kinds and kingdoms, this famous hilly neighborhood will take your breath away with its views, architecture, museums, parks, bars, restaurants and the people. If you appreciate independence, the 'home sweet home' feeling and a personalized service, this is the perfect place for your stay in Rio. A house that combines lodging, art and wellness. The rooms are decorated with artwork from different local artists and the gallery periodically receives art exhibitions and vernissages. Guests can enjoy activities related to health and wellness and the staff are the most friendly, knowledgeable and supporting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing