We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem I called home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa
Ranked #5 of 338 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Rooms - Clean, wonderfully decorated and cute. Every room is named after local artists in the Santa Teresa and wonderfully decorated with that artists work. I stayed in C Pacini and had a huge mural on the wall. Furnished with an elevated loft bed and they even gave us an extra bed for my friends making our stay comfortable.
Food - Amazing fresh fruit and juices freshly made each day with a touch of love! Fully stocked fridge with affordable refreshments.
Location - Santa Teresa is quaint, artistic and full of history. Easy to get around with bus, bike and taxis or even better walking... I walked most of the time and it was safe.
Amenities - Aiprot pickup/drop off, offer personal recommendations with travel and exploring the city for free with a local touch.

Personal Note:
I'd rate this as my best experience staying in a communal property. I had my own room and bathroom but also had the choice of sharing breakfast and daily drinks in an open welcoming common area wonderfully decorated and landscaped. I loved this place! I met some really interesting people and made friends from Brazil and around the globe. Reana, Daniel, Rafeal, Ana, Pedro, Stephano and the rest of the family we're the most amazing people I met in Rio and am forever grateful for their hospitality and genuine love. Thank you, I cannot wait to come back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phineas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Manager at Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Phineas my friend,
Again, thanks so much for your review and all the compliments. It was a pleasure to share the biggest party in the world with you and also for having you and the girls staying here with us...
We are also looking forward to see you again.
All the best and keep in touch,
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
There are newer reviews for Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 298 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

! We spent more then a week in Casalegre and was fantastic!!! The location is perfect in the heart of Santa Teresa nearby restaurants bar cinema and more in carnaval you are in the middle of blocos and parties, the breakfast was top, staff super helpful and really kind,our room was quiet and clean. We really feel ourself at home. To enjoy a stay in rio de janeiro We totally suggest Casalegre .thanks guys for all
Pedro and family

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Manager at Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Hey Pedro, thanks so much for the compliments and this review. It was a pleasure to have been part of your trip to Rio. Know that our doors are always open for you and your family and we hope to see you soon again sometime.
Grande abraço e tudo de bom,
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The staff is very welcoming and friendly. The rooms are nice ( I had the biggest one with kitchen) without AirCon though. The place has a nice atmosphere and is located in the heart of santa teresa. I can only recommend this place.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
Thank Aline58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Manager at Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you for the compliments and for staying with us. It was a pleasure to share our house with you and know that you are always welcome here.
Casalegre is well ventilated and the high ceiling keeps it fresh, even in the summer and without aircon...
We hope you can visit us again sometime soon.
All the best,
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Our group spent a very good time in this very pleasent Pousada in Santa Teresa. The staff was really nice and helpfull all the time with us. Good quality and beautiful decoration of the rooms. Great breakfast!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krpegoretti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Manager at Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thanks you for the review and compliments. I'm glad to know that you had a good time here and we are looking forward to see you again sometime.
Best regards,
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Was recommended this place by another B&B in the neighborhood that was booked up while I was in the midst of planning a last minute trip to Rio--and feel lucky to have been referred to Casalegre! Everyone who works there is friendly, sending out good vibes and making us feel right at home from the start.

Not the place for you if you're looking for the amenities of a traditional hotel--no AC, but yes ceiling fan, which was perfect for me (FYI the average Brazilian does not have an AC in the house), and luckily I love taking cold showers in the summer, because the hot water is not consistent there... nor was it consistent anywhere I stayed in Brazil, compared to what I'm used to in the States.

All that being said, definitely the place for you if you appreciate getting to know amazing hosts and staff, surrounding yourself with local art, eating a delicious breakfast (toast, fruit, avocado, pao de quiejo, and fresh juice), and practicing your Portuguese with the forgiving (and english-speaking) folks that run place. Everyone who works there is clearly excited to be a part of Casalegre, which always bodes well! I wish them all luck, and hope to stay there again over future Rio visits!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kat m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Manager at Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Hey Kat, thanks for the compliments and the review.
We are all looking forward to see you again here sometime... And I'm glad to tell you that we are always improving our services and now our showers are more reliable. What happens sometimes is that the hot water takes a couple of minutes to come out.
All the best and keep smiling,
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Nice rooms, Good (english speaking) service, location great, save neighborhood, great breakfast.
You can join de Yoga if you want, restaurants nearby. We stayed here two days with our two year old child. Santa Theresa is a nice part of Rio, with the famous stairs, old houses, nice bars, nice people. It's on the top of the hill so you've got great views.
We liked our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enisoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Manager at Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thanks so much for the review and for staying with us. It was a pleasure to share Santa Teresa with your family and we are looking forward to see you all here again sometime...
Our doors are always open for you.
Best regards from Brazil,
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Gorgeous property in lovely Santa Terasa. We had a beautifully appointed room. Daniel and his team were great. There are many perks for the weary traveller: fridge with drinks that runs on the honour system, and a kitchen and washer dryer that guests can use. Only downside: no AC but I was told that they were planning to put some in.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raindr0p82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Manager at Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

So many thanks for the compliments... It is great to share the house with such great people...
We are looking forward to receive your visit here sometime again.
Best regards,
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#8 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
302 reviews
Slaviero Lifestyle Rio de Janeir...
#10 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
333 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 338 in Rio de Janeiro
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#2 of 338 in Rio de Janeiro
586 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa 48
Casa 48
#3 of 338 in Rio de Janeiro
100 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
#6 of 338 in Rio de Janeiro
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa

Address: Rua Monte Alegre 316, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-193, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $36 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casalegre Art Vila is your best accommodation in Rio de Janeiro's cultural heart, Santa Teresa. In a centenary house, recently refurbished, we offer private rooms for short and mid-term stays. Home of artists of all kinds and kingdoms, this famous hilly neighborhood will take your breath away with its views, architecture, museums, parks, bars, restaurants and the people. If you appreciate independence, the 'home sweet home' feeling and a personalized service, this is the perfect place for your stay in Rio. A house that combines lodging, art and wellness. The rooms are decorated with artwork from different local artists and the gallery periodically receives art exhibitions and vernissages. Guests can enjoy activities related to health and wellness and the staff are the most friendly, knowledgeable and supporting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing