We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overcrowded”
Review of Hercus Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hercus Hostel
Reviewed September 17, 2013

There are far too many beds put in the one room - serious overcrowding issues. Simply nowhere to put your bag - I had to sleep with my bag on the bed with me. Very hot rooms because they are so full. Breakfast was ok, until I saw the girl preparing it and then refused to eat it again after that. Avoid this hostel if you can.

Room Tip: Simply don't stay here unless you have no other choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Worldtravelholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 103 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

Rooms were hot and overcrowded, there is no hot water. the doors could not be closed. Wifi was shocking, the swimming pool was dirty and no one had the courage to stay in there. The hostel is overcrowded on hollidays and you may also sleep on the floor,because there is no space for so many beds.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hugh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay in Hercus Hostel because the staff starting from Leila was more than wonderful !!
The hostel is located in a very good place. 20 minute walk from Copacabana beach and about 10-15minute walk to metro station Siqueira Campos. From the RIO International Airport, taxi will take about 50-60R$ and 45 minutes.
Ipanema beach is 30 minute walk away across Avenida Atlantica and all the other hostels are really close too. All the pubs and restaurants are near-by. A really good supermarket is on the same side of the street only 8 minute walk away.

The breakfast contains of 1 fruit and sandwich + coffee/cocoa + biscuits.
But good value and location.

There is always something going on in this hostel because it's very big - 3 floors !
There are different party posters on the walls, so you know every day what is going on in the evening. For example - Monday-Rio Boat Party; Tuesday-Hostel Party in Lapa, Thursday-Latin Party under Copa Hostel, Friday - ''Shake your Body '' in a club in Avenida Atlantica.
Through the hostel you can also book city tour and transfer to Ilha Grande from door to door.

The staff is very helpful, if you need to get the city map or information about what's going on tonight, just ask !

Room Tip: If you are not staying in this hostel at the peak time, try to choose 22 bed dorm or 10 bed dorm. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terje A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

The guy at the counter of this hostel with black hair from Europe is arrogant. No respect at all. Told us to find the room for ourselves and gave us directions. He was too busy on the phone to his friends. He told us the big boss would be coming in and we need to hurry up and go up so it looks under control. This guy is too busy worrying about what his boss thinks and not about his customers. Rooms were hot and over crowded. Wifi was shocking. We met the owner on the last day and he was a lot better. Very friendly person who actually had respect for us. I think this hostel would be ok but the receptionist lets it down.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pilmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Hi guys
I would like to thank you for the wonderful time I had with you guys
A special thanks to Jeh, Rai, Romina and the cleaning laid I don´t remember your name 
I know you guys are working hard to get the hostel to be back in shape and you are doing a excelente job
Great transfer options, information about the City tours not metion the buena onda

Obrigado por tudo!

Much love guys

Peter P. Noone

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peterpnoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

First, keep in mind you're going to a hostel and not to a hotel. This was my first experience with such a place. The reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We got a 4 beds room with lockers to keep our stuff. Yes the rooms are cramped and smell of mould which you get used after a while! The communal areas were very clean and the cleaning lady is there all the time tidying up, she also prepares the breakfast which was very nice. The bathrooms were extremely clean considering the amount of people during the Carnaval! The bed sheets were clean and ironed and theres a huge air con going on unstoppable. The doors have no lockers which at the start we were a bit reluctant but we did not have any problems during our stay regarding security. They have 3 good computers with free decent wifi and a good tv always in English going on 24/7. For a hostel the place is good, would be better if they got rid of the smell of mould and got some lockers on the doors. The location is brilliant! Near the subway station, full of chemists, supermarkets, snack bars, restaurants and a nice street grocery market going on Sundays. The beach is just a couple of blocks down the road!!!

Room Tip: get the rooms at the end of the corridor near the air con. get a key for the locker in your bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaynaraSegurado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We had to stay at this crappy place because everything was fully booked due to the Carnaval. It was awful! Rooms cramped with beds, people everywhere, doors couldn't be closed, lockers broken, only a couple of bathrooms for all these people... To be fair, the receptionist lady was nice and friendly, the beds and the sheets were clean and they had 3 computers and free WiFi. Would never ever go back though!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nico76Lund_Sverige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#77 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,209 reviews
Copacabana
CabanaCopa Hostel
CabanaCopa Hostel
#77 of 834 in Rio de Janeiro
493 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
3,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#16 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,789 reviews
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#90 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,590 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#24 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hercus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hercus Hostel

Address: Rua Siqueira Campos 250 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22031-072, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #479 of 834 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hercus Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hercus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hercus Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing