We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience!”
Review of Favela Adventures

Favela Adventures
Ranked #96 of 471 Tours in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great experience!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have been living in Rio for almost 10 years and all this time had been very sceptical about going on a 'favelatour'. Last week I joined friends visiting on a tour with local guide Zezinho and have only good things to report: from the start it was clear that Zezinho's approach is different then the many commercial 'favela tour operators'. Instead of being picked up with a tour vehicle (or even worse, a jeep), we took the local bus from ipanema straight up the hill to the Gavea district, where we started our walking tour on top of the favela all the way down, crossing main streets and small 'beco's...Zezinho was showing us around as if he was showing his neighbourhood to friends, he gave us lots of inside info about the daily life, the history of the favela, plans for the future...We felt safe all the time and talked to several happy people that had been living their entire life in Rocinha and would not change this place for any other place in Rio...This tour was an eye opener for me and a true experience to see the "other side" of Rio. Thanks again Zezinho, you are doing a great job for Rocinha!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PetraRiodeJaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    17
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A must-do in Rio”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We booked a 6 hour 'tour', Zezinho met us at our hotel in Copcacabana and we got a 'van' to Rochina. He walked around and the best thing was we didn't feel like we were on a 'tour' as such - it was so insightful and i think any tourist visiting Rio should do this. Its very safe and i never felt woried or on eedge the whole time and i took loads of pics!

At the end of the day, favelas make up the majority of the population of Rio (Rochina has 300,000 in itself) and i think you wouldnt get the full picture of what the city is all about. It never felt rushed and we could spend as much time as we wanted - very informal and its great that someone is so passionte about where they live. One of the best things i did in Rio!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sazzlem88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent insight into one of Rio's Favelas”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The 4 of us met Zezinho, our guide and the company owner in Ipanema and headed to Rocinho on one the local shuttles - we were to do the 4 hour walking tour which was by far the best way to get the most out of the favela visit. We saw around half a dozen fully loaded jeeps go through with tourists gawking at the locals as though they were in a zoo, certainly not how favelas should be viewed! Zezinho was great from start to finish and provided us a lot of information on favela life and the history of Rocinho in particular. We had a great buffet lunch during our visit at a very reasonable price. The trip overall was great value for money and gave us a new view on the lifestyle of the people who live in the favelas.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoGoGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Best day in Rio”
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Rocinha with Zezinho. The favela is a vibrant and friendly community, and we loved learning more about favela life, and dispelling some long-held myths about safety and society in the favelas.

Not once did we feel unsafe, there were lots of friendly smiles from the residents, and the lunch was also great and the cheapest food we've eaten in Rio (churrasco BBQ and salad buffet).

Zezinho is a character, with residents calling out 'Rocinha!' as he walked past. Zezinho is so proud of his birthplace he is literally covered in it from head to toe.

Very well-priced, great value for money, and small group of four meant we felt like we were visiting and not 'on a tour'.

Helpful?
2 Thank AngeleneFay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well worth the experience”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Me and my friend did this tour without an idea of what to expect. Someone from the tour met us a few blocks from our hotel and took us on the local bus which we appreciated as it felt like the "normal" way to get to Rocinha instead of a tourist shuttle. Upon getting there we got a bit of a talk about the favela and saw great views from up top in the favela after which we were walked through with Zezinho and his colleague. Everyone in the favela was friendly, smiling and pleasant and every 5 minutes someone was saying hello to Zezinho. The experience of walking down through the favela is unique to this tour I believe which I valued over driving through with a tour bus any day of the week. Experience the narrow streets, the different neighborhoods with history and seeing how people live their lives here was fascinating and I walked away with amazing pictures and an amazing experience. I would highly recommend this to anybody who was coming to Brazil, and by the way safety was never an issue.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank darkmansaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Favela Adventures also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Favela Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing