We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tasty italian ice-cream” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vero - MOVED

Vero
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Ipanema
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“tasty italian ice-cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Located just of the Ipanema beach in the center of Rio de Janeiro. The staff is helpful and will always offer a taste of the flavour before you fill the cup of choice. Best home-made sorvete in Rio, try the softcheese/goiaba flavor - absolutely delicious!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank annamika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    69
    19
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty, pricy, (too) small portions ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Good icecream, but the portions are very small - fitting exactly the cup, nothing sticks out of it :-( so, cost/benefit ratio is only so-so. The icecream tastes good, but they miss on the experience aspect: no wafer cones and lab-measured portions.

Helpful?
Thank Ira H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Best tiramisu Ice cream I have ever tasted anywhere (including Italy). They also have amazing choices of chocolate ice creams, but I would stay away from white acai, or at least ask for a taste before buying

Helpful?
Thank Miranda K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
367 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“best icecream shop in ipanema”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Yummy Italian gelatos with amazing flavors ! We almost went every night. Very friendly, english spoken young staff ...Highly recommended !!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TrWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An Ice Cream Addicts Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I would eat ice cream every day if I could, and I only like the good stuff. Don't give me chemical flavors, fake colors or a sugar rush! In Brazil, where desserts tend to run on the sickly sweet side, I'm always skeptical of every ice cream spot. But Vero knows what they are doing.

They have sophisticated flavors with a local twist. My favorite was the 70% chocolate with Brazilian cachaca/rum. The coconut sets new standards. Even a traditionalist can't argue with the stracciatella.

At something like 9BRL a scoop and 12 for a double ($4.50-6USD) I wouldn't necessarily take every kid in the neighborhood. If you're just looking for "Ice cream" they squirt the stuff out of machines on nearly every corner for about 6BRL ($3)

One other thing to know, they make all of their ice cream right in the shop. There's a monitor to prove it. Sometimes when I arrived a bit early (10:30 in the morning!) for my first ice cream fix, the very helpful moca (waitress, sales clerk, etc.) would disappear through a door and I'd see her reappear on the screen, talking with the woman mixing up all the ingredients. Sometimes the moca would come back and tell me that the flavor I wanted would be ready in about an hour. And it was always worth the wait.

Unfortunately there aren't any tables for lingering over your treat. You'll have to make do with a few benches. Their website, in Portuguese, says they're open Monday-Saturday from 10:30-10:30 and on Sundays from 11:30-10:30.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vero also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing