We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best japanese meals in year”
Review of Hachiko

Hachiko
Reserve with
Hachiko is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 13,783 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centro
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best japanese meals in year”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

It has been years since the last time I had japanese food. I decided to go to Hachiko with no special spectations and got surprised by the amazing food and excellent service. We had tuna with foie grass and salmon. The atmosphere is great and we never felt uncomfortable even if that night the place was overcrowded with guests. The only thing I would remark is that it is a little difficult to find, but that doesn't affect the amazing experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Enya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    805
    173
    43
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not terrible as a restaurant, but as a japanese restaurant”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We went to this restaurant after seen it rated as best japanese in Rio. Starting that no one in the restaurant was Japanese or that the restaurant was empty and with a poor atmosphere. We had to change tables as the air conditioned was leaking all over us. There is no a la carte or sushi selection or nigiris... Is mainly a tasting menu with lots of ready prep dishes. Nothing was bad to be fare,presentation on plates was exellent but was too much food that you are not expecting to eat in a japanese. Risotto, american style pork rib, rabbit, lamb, dried meat, puddings....If you go to a japanese you are expecting to find a guy rolling the nigiris and see all the fresh fish in the bar....Not in this restaurant. Fixed price of 100 reais.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank CescCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of my best meals-ever!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Hachiko cannot be missed. They serve 12 courses that are all of the highest quality. The first course, which came immediately upon sitting down, was a very interesting array of sushi rolls (tuna with passion fruit, tuna with foie gras, salmon and gorgonzola...the list goes on). All the courses were well executed and the presentation was impressive. The only downside to the whole experience is the speed with which they serve each course. Somehow, however, you do not feel rushed. The service could not have been better. The maitre d' spoke English very well and the chef came to our table to ask about the meal. He was very sweet and even called us a taxi at the end of course #12. One of the most surprising parts of the night-the price! It was $40 USD per person (not including wine). You will never find a better deal for the quality of food so do not miss this! As mentioned in other reviews, it was a bit difficult to find-we found a local who was taking English classes and knew of it. Even workers at a local government building never heard of it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hungrygirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse NY
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

A few things to know about the restaurant
1. It's hard to find. We had the address in our iPhone and it walked us to the door - definitely recommend that b/c it looks like it's closed from the outside.
2. People made reference that this was expensive - we thought the complete opposite. If you were to get this kind of tasting menu anywhere else, you'd spend 3 - 4 times as much.
3. There is so much food. Since it was a tasting menu, I ate all my "tastes", but toward the end, I was getting so full. Just pace yourself and make sure you save room for dessert!
4. There is such a mix of food, you don't always feel like it's Japanese. Yes there is some sushi, but we had duck, ribs, lamb, etc. All of it was just awesome!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank djcook_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio De Janeiro, Rj
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent. Arrive early. ”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

It is a small japanese restaurant in the city centre near important tourist sites. The food is very good with a lot of different types of sushis, sashimis and other oriental food.
Arrive early, around 12:15, to avoid long lines.

Helpful?
Thank JozeCandido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hachiko also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Hachiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing