We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mindblowing”
Review of Restaurante Ki

Restaurante Ki
Ranked #235 of 13,710 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Modern Japanese restaurant, with traditional roots Restaurant Ki, specialized in Japanese cuisine, offers a remarkable gastronomic proposal in Rio de Janeiro. Experienced Chef Omura is behind the sushi bar and responsible for the menu that offers a variety of traditional and distinct oriental dishes based on beef; fish; seafood; vegetarian; exotic delicacies as well as contemporary recipes enjoyed either at the bar or at a table. With fresh and seasonal ingredients Ki wants to indulge clients seeking an exquisite gastronomic experience, with elaborate freshly made recipes. Improvisation is one of the most remarkable traits of Japanese cuisine and this is characteristic of Omura. At Ki you will be able to experience a fusion of tradition and modern variants, in a revitalized menu, never neglecting the essence of Nipponese cuisine. Ki serves the dishes on lovely exclusive handmade ceramics. Do look at the sake list with premium labels. Some are artisanal, with a wide range of types of rice, different polishing ratios and some award winning labels. Ki is located on charming Fonte da Saudade Street with its gorgeous trees and parallel to the Rodrigo de Freitas Lagoon. For 4 years, the comfortable 2 floor corner house allows clients to choose a table on one of the three balconies or one of the 5 tatami tables, 2 of them private and can sit 90 people. Ki has been shortlisted twice by the Comer & Beber guide of Veja Rio Magazine and in 2013 and 2014 received the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence.
Zürich, Zürich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mindblowing”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We almost didn't find this lovely place when we came here the first time during our stay in Rio for the Worldcup. But after we tried ourselves through this amazing variety of perfectly fresh sushi, we never forgot where to find this restaurant. If you are looking for very fresh and amazingly tasty sushi for a reasonable price, you shouldn't miss Ki! Very much worth a try is the strawberry sakerinha and the tempura!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank André S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestauranteKi, Owner at Restaurante Ki, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
André thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that you liked Ki as well as the strawberry sakerinha and the tempura. Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    71
    23
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food, nice place”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

It was a very pleasant experience. The food was delicious and the service excellent. I have recommended Ki to all my friends in Rio!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Regina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestauranteKi, Owner at Restaurante Ki, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Regina Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed Ki and that you liked it so much that you felt like recommending Ki to your friends. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“amazing foood!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

After reading reviews we travelled here with 4 people who were vegetarian. They were very accomodating and had items on the menu specific for vegetarians. Everything was delicious and my mom usually never likes sushi! We were very happy we chose to come here. A little nicer than casual, so it made for a good night out. Not much to walk around here, so you will need to cab it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pooja2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestauranteKi, Owner at Restaurante Ki, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. At Ki we strive to cater to all tastes. We are pleased to know that your diverse group was able to enjoy the visit. Thank you for your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The best Japanese food, the freshest fish, the tastiest mushrooms and great service. Being from The Netherlands, I can only say: Forget Okura in Amsterdam, come straight to Rio!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SybellvH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestauranteKi, Owner at Restaurante Ki, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed Ki and hope you come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Caipi-Mosquito and overpriced a very basic sushi - Not worthwhile”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

As we always do we asked for a litchi Caipirinha with Sake. Well, they say they do it with "a special sake" to take you more money. The drink came watery and the waiter asked me if I tasted before Capirinha with sake.

On the second try it came... with a dead mosquito on it! Gladly they cancelled the drink from the bill without being asked.

The main dish, a combo, took ages to be ready. If you want it only with tuna and salmon, they stab you in the back, so to choose fresh white fish (nauseating) or unwanted smoked white fish is mandatory.

The combo came with a lot of skin and california, the most basic and cheap sushis. Products chosen are fresh and of high quality, but do not waste your money paying for basic things where you can use it in a really tasty Japanese restaurant.

Wood benches are extremely uncomfortable as the backrest is also made of wood, but it's not flat. At the top, at the very end, it's good a protuberance that hurts your back.

This is always the problem with Rio... you pay more or equivalent to a restaurant in Sao Paulo, but all you have is lower quality, making restaurants there (with some exceptions) not worth your sweat money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Schegerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestauranteKi, Owner at Restaurante Ki, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Schegerin thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not like your visit to Ki. Our combos are made up of a variety of fishes and most of out clients like the variety. When a client wishes to only have tuna and salmon we need to charge an additional amount as those are the most expensive fish on the platter and thus we can't make it for the same price, but we give you the option if you want it. We hope you can come back and change your impression of Ki. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Ki also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Restaurante Ki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing